What Lies Beneath

What Lies Beneath (2000)

He was the perfect husband until his one mistake followed them home.

  • Genre: Drama, Horror, Mystery, Thriller
  • Release Date: 2000-07-21
  • User Rating: 6.4/10 from 947 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 10min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: ImageMovers
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 6.4/10
From 947 Ratings


When Claire Spencer starts hearing ghostly voices and seeing spooky images, she wonders if an otherworldly spirit is trying to contact her. All the while, her husband tries to reassure her by telling her it's all in her head. But as Claire investigates, she discovers that the man she loves might know more than he's letting on.

What Lies Beneath Trailer

What Lies Beneath Photos

  • Harrison Ford

    as Dr. Norman Spencer
  • Michelle Pfeiffer

    as Claire Spencer
  • Diana Scarwid

    as Jody
  • James Remar

    as Warren Feur
  • Miranda Otto

    as Mary Feur
  • Ray Baker

    as Dr. Stan Powell
  • Wendy Crewson

    as Elena
  • Amber Valletta

    as Madison Elizabeth Frank
  • Katharine Towne

    as Caitlin Spencer
  • Victoria Bidewell

    as Beatrice
  • Joe Morton

    as Dr. Drayton
  • Micole Mercurio

    as Mrs. Frank
  • Sloane Shelton

    as Mrs. Templeton
  • Rachel Singer

    as PhD Student #3
  • Daniel Zelman

    as PhD Student #4
Directing Robert Zemeckis Director
Writing Clark Gregg Screenplay
Production Robert Zemeckis Producer
Sound Alan Silvestri Original Music Composer
Camera Don Burgess Director of Photography
Editing Arthur Schmidt Editor
Production Marcia DeBonis Casting
Production Ellen Lewis Casting
Art Rick Carter Production Design
Art William James Teegarden Production Design
Art Stefan Dechant Art Direction
Art Tony Fanning Art Direction
Art Elizabeth Lapp Art Direction
Art Karen O'Hara Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Susie DeSanto Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Elinor Bardach Costume Supervisor
Writing Sarah Kernochan Story
Production Steven J. Boyd Associate Producer
Production Joan Bradshaw Executive Producer
Production Mark Johnson Executive Producer
Production Cherylanne Martin Associate Producer
Production Jack Rapke Producer
Production Steve Starkey Producer
Art Chris Cummings Art Department Coordinator
Art Andrew Menzies Assistant Art Director
Art John Villarino Construction Coordinator
Art Chris Chichotka Construction Foreman
Art Carlo Basail Greensman
Art David C. Potter Leadman
Art Seth Blackman Location Scout
Art Richie Kawamoto Set Decoration
Art Beverli Eagan Set Designer
Art Tony Leonardi Standby Painter
Camera Robert Presley Camera Operator
Camera Joe A. Ponticelle First Assistant Camera
Camera Richard Mall Key Grip
Camera Robert Presley Steadicam Operator
Camera François Duhamel Still Photographer
Camera Carla Corwin Underwater Camera
Costume & Make-Up Bernie Pollack Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Alan D'Angerio Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Janice Alexander Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Michael Laudati Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Caroline Errington Seamstress
Costume & Make-Up Dennis McCarthy Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up William Acedo Set Dressing Artist
Crew Udi Harpaz Additional Music
Crew Cameron Matheson Carpenter
Crew John Wright Jr. Craft Service
Crew Richard Kidd Digital Effects Supervisor
Crew Rodney Lee Bennett Driver
Crew Kent Sparling Mix Technician
Crew John 'J.P.' Pratt Picture Car Coordinator
Crew Kevin Du Toit Post Production Assistant
Crew Patrick Esposito Post-Production Manager
Crew Jim Turner Production Controller
Crew Eliot Yaffe Projection
Crew Randy L. Childs Propmaker
Art Michael Gastaldo Property Master
Crew Ralph Contrado Scenic Artist
Crew Judy Malinoski Set Medic
Crew Anna E. Hayward Set Production Assistant
Crew Chris Allen Software Engineer
Crew Charles Belardinelli Special Effects Coordinator
Crew Randy Crowder Stand In
Crew Tim A. Davison Stunt Coordinator
Crew Jack Carpenter Stunts
Crew Richard Bugge Systems Administrators & Support
Crew Randy Cantor Transportation Captain
Crew Joel Marrow Transportation Coordinator
Production Cherylanne Martin Unit Production Manager
Crew Jane E. Russell Unit Publicist
Crew Leigh Hennessy Utility Stunts
Crew David Deever Video Assist Operator
Crew Guy T. Wiedmann Visual Effects Editor
Directing Carla Corwin First Assistant Director
Directing Luca Kouimelis Script Supervisor
Editing Jeff Smithwick Color Timer
Editing Ewa Sztompke Dialogue Editor
Editing Peter Ciardelli Editorial Production Assistant
Editing Jeremiah O'Driscoll First Assistant Editor
Lighting Edward J. Cox Best Boy Electric
Lighting Ken Berkhout Electrician
Lighting Steven C. McGee Gaffer
Lighting Brad Emmons Rigging Gaffer
Lighting Michael Maloney Rigging Grip
Production Amanda Koblin Casting Associate
Production Gregory Alpert Location Manager
Production Ken Ryan Production Accountant
Production Matthew J. Birch Production Coordinator
Production Peter M. Tobyansen Production Supervisor
Production Jason Corgan Brown Researcher
Sound Marilyn McCoppen ADR Supervisor
Sound Earl Sampson Boom Operator
Sound Colin O'Neill Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Kenneth Karman Music Editor
Sound William B. Kaplan Production Sound Mixer
Sound Randy Thom Sound Designer
Sound Andrea Gard Sound Effects Editor
Sound Dennis Leonard Supervising Sound Editor
Visual Effects Colin Drobnis Digital Compositors
Visual Effects Thomas L. Bellissimo Special Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Ruth Greenberg Visual Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Robert Legato Visual Effects Supervisor
Writing P.K. MacCarthy Storyboard
Crew Beau Borders Sound Design Assistant
Writing Steven Spielberg Idea
Camera David Boyd Additional Photography
Costume & Make-Up Sabrina Rosen Costume Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Shawna Trpcic Costume Illustrator
Costume & Make-Up Parrish Kennington Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Timothy Alberts Dresser
Costume & Make-Up Deborah Hall Key Costumer
Directing Paula Case Second Second Assistant Director
Directing Steve Starkey Second Unit Director
Art Steve Brennan Assistant Property Master
Art Neil D'Monte Concept Artist
Art Andrew Leman Graphic Designer
Art Ronald Carreiro Swing
Sound Phil Hadaway ADR Engineer
Sound Charleen Richards ADR Mixer
Sound David Lucarelli ADR Recordist
Sound Dennie Thorpe Foley Artist
Sound Tony Eckert Foley Mixer
Sound Frank 'Pepe' Merel Foley Recordist
Crew Malia Thompson Special Effects Technician
Visual Effects Timothy Michael Cairns Visual Effects Production Assistant
Visual Effects Lauren A. Littleton Visual Effects Production Manager
Crew Jon H. Epstein Stunt Double
Camera Kristopher Van Over Additional First Assistant Camera
Camera Greg Wimer Assistant Camera
Camera Thomas Crawford Best Boy Grip
Camera Rob Rubin Camera Loader
Camera Jeff 'Moose' Howery Dolly Grip
Camera Micah Y. Bisagni Second Assistant Camera
Production Judith Bouley Additional Casting
Production Jennifer Euston Casting Assistant
Editing Katie Hedrich Assistant Editor
Editing R. Orlando Duenas Associate Editor
Editing Ron Orenstein Colorist
Editing John Nicolard Digital Color Timer
Editing Gary Burritt Negative Cutter
Production Jan Ellen Goldstein Assistant Location Manager
Sound Alan Silvestri Conductor
Sound Joel Sill Music Consultant
Production Stacy Layne Kramer Accountant
Production Chris Johnson Art Department Production Assistant
Production Kami Calevro Assistant Accountant
Production Dhana Gilbert Assistant Production Coordinator
Production Mayda Renizzi-Holt First Assistant Accountant
Lighting Andrew Taylor Key Rigging Grip
Production Jesse Yoshimura Key Set Production Assistant
Production Lori Ikeda Payroll Accountant
Production Libuse Binder Production Assistant
Production Steven R. Molen Production Executive
Production Peter Vogel Production Secretary
Visual Effects Loree Perrett Rotoscoping Artist
Production Angie Ryan Second Assistant Accountant
Production Colleen Gibbons Travel Coordinator