Velvet Goldmine

Velvet Goldmine (1998)

Style matters. Even when it comes to murder.

  • Genre: Drama, Music
  • Release Date: 1998-10-23
  • User Rating: 7/10 from 266 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 58min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Zenith Entertainment
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Director:
star 7/10
From 266 Ratings


Almost a decade has elapsed since Bowiesque glam-rock superstar Brian Slade escaped the spotlight of the London scene. Now, investigative journalist Arthur Stuart is on assignment to uncover the truth behind the enigmatic Slade. Stuart, himself forged by the music of the 1970s, explores the larger-than-life stars who were once his idols and what has become of them since the turn of the new decade.

Velvet Goldmine Trailer

Velvet Goldmine Photos

  • Ewan McGregor

    as Curt Wild
  • Jonathan Rhys Meyers

    as Brian Slade
  • Christian Bale

    as Arthur Stuart
  • Janet McTeer

    as Female narrator (voice)
  • Toni Collette

    as Mandy Slade
  • Eddie Izzard

    as Jerry Devine
  • Emily Woof

    as Shannon
  • Michael Feast

    as Cecil
  • Micko Westmoreland

    as Jack Fairy
  • Alastair Cumming

    as Tommy Stone
  • Joseph Beattie

    as Cooper
  • Lindsay Kemp

    as Pantomime Dame
  • Ganiat Kasumu

    as Mary
  • David Hoyle

    as Freddi
  • Don Fellows

    as Lou
Sound Carter Burwell Original Music Composer
Production Susie Figgis Casting
Production Bob Weinstein Executive Producer
Production Harvey Weinstein Executive Producer
Production Christine Vachon Producer
Sound Dan Korintus Dialogue Editor
Production Sandy Stern Executive Producer
Production Michael Stipe Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Sandy Powell Costume Design
Writing Todd Haynes Screenplay
Directing Todd Haynes Director
Writing Todd Haynes Story
Editing James Lyons Editor
Writing James Lyons Story
Sound Todd Kasow Music Editor
Camera Maryse Alberti Director of Photography
Sound Randall Poster Music Supervisor
Production Christopher Ball Co-Executive Producer
Production William Tyrer Co-Executive Producer
Production Olivia Stewart Co-Producer
Art Christopher Hobbs Production Design
Production Scott Meek Executive Producer
Art Andrew Munro Art Direction
Sound Annette Kudrak Music Editor
Directing June McDonald Script Supervisor