The Soloist

The Soloist (2009)

Life has a mind of its own

  • Genre: Drama, Music
  • Release Date: 2009-04-24
  • User Rating: 6.7/10 from 466 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 49min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Working Title Films
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 6.7/10
From 466 Ratings


A Los Angeles journalist befriends a homeless Juilliard-trained musician, while looking for a new article for the paper.

The Soloist Trailer

The Soloist Photos

  • Robert Downey Jr.

    as Steve Lopez
  • Jamie Foxx

    as Nathaniel Ayers
  • Catherine Keener

    as Mary Weston
  • Tom Hollander

    as Graham Claydon
  • Nelsan Ellis

    as David Carter
  • Michael Bunin

    as Adam Crane
  • LisaGay Hamilton

    as Jennifer Ayers
  • Rachael Harris

    as Leslie Bloom
  • Stephen Root

    as Curt Reynolds
  • Lorraine Toussaint

    as Flo Ayers
  • Jena Malone

    as Cheery Lab Tech
  • Octavia Spencer

    as Troubled Woman
  • Justin Martin

    as Young Nathaniel
  • Kokayi Ampah

    as Bernie Carpenter
  • Patrick Tatten

    as Paul Jr.
  • Susane Lee

    as Marisa
  • Marcos De Silvas

    as Mayor Villaigosa
  • Ilia Volok

    as Harry Barnoff
  • Mike Nowak

    as Julliard Conductor
  • David Jean Thomas

    as Angry Homeless Man
  • Lemon Andersen

    as Uncle Tommy
  • Kevin Michael Key

    as Homeless Transvestite
  • Moya Brady

    as Barely Dressed Woman
  • Orlando Ashley

    as LAMP Homeless Guy
  • Artel Great

    as Leon
  • J.J. Boone

    as Shouting Woman
  • Annie McKnight

    as LAMP Advocate
  • Bernadette Speakes

    as Homeless Lady
  • Anna Levin

    as Leeann
  • Steve Foster

    as Steve
  • Vivian George

    as Teresa
  • Kevin Cohen

    as KK
  • Courtney Andre

    as Courtney
  • Teri Hughes

    as Detroit
  • Linda Harris

    as Linda
  • Albert Olson

    as Bam Bam
  • Melissa Black

    as Melissa
  • Valarie Hudspeth

    as Mama Grouch
  • Darryl Black St.

    as Darryl
  • Kiana Parker

    as Kiana
  • Hazard Banner

    as Hazard
  • Russell Brown

    as Russell
  • Kenneth Henry

    as Simone
  • Jacqueline Sue West

    as Jackie
  • Joyre Manuel

    as Ashley
  • Lorinda Hawkins

    as Singing Woman
  • Annette Valley

    as Annette
  • Patrick Kelly

    as Patrick
  • Quiana Farrow

    as Quiana
  • Tony Genaro

    as Globe Lobby Guard
  • Charlie Weirauch

    as Atheist
  • Wayne Lopez

    as Cop with Tents
  • Joe Hernandez-Kolski

    as EMT #1
  • Noel Gugliemi

    as Winston Street Cop
  • Paul Cruz

    as EMT #2
  • Wil Garret

    as Homeless Man
  • Halbert Hernandez

    as EMT #3
  • Alejandro Patiño

    as Construction Worker
  • Karole Selmon

    as Homeless Woman #1
  • Rob Nagle

    as Neil
  • Patricia Place

    as Cello Donor
  • Ralph Cole Jr.

    as Enraged Homeless Man
  • Gladys Khan

    as Reception Nurse
  • Palma Lawrence Reed

    as ER Nurse
  • Isabel Hubmann

    as Laid-off Employee
  • Bonita Jefferson

    as Homeless Woman #2
  • Eshana O'Neal

    as Winston Street Prostitute
  • Myia Hubbard

    as Young Jennifer Ayers
  • Iyanna Newborn

    as Miss Little John
  • Bronwyn Hardy

    as Beauty Shop Girl
  • Troy Blendell

    as News Editor
  • Nick Nervies

    as Jennifer's Son
  • Paul Norwood

    as Editor
Production Francine Maisler Casting
Camera Seamus McGarvey Director of Photography
Writing Susannah Grant Screenplay
Production Patricia Whitcher Executive Producer
Production Patricia Whitcher Unit Production Manager
Sound Dario Marianelli Original Music Composer
Production Gary Foster Producer
Directing Joe Wright Director
Editing Paul Tothill Editor
Costume & Make-Up Jacqueline Durran Costume Design
Art Sarah Greenwood Production Design
Writing Steve Lopez Author
Production Russ Krasnoff Producer
Costume & Make-Up Ve Neill Makeup Department Head
Art Greg Berry Art Direction
Camera François Duhamel Still Photographer
Art Julie Smith Set Decoration
Directing Kerry Lyn McKissick Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Gloria Pasqua Casny Hair Department Head
Sound Dominick Certo Music Editor
Production Robert Mazaraki Production Coordinator