The Secret of Convict Lake

The Secret of Convict Lake (1951)

  • Genre: Western
  • Release Date: 1951-08-03
  • User Rating: 5.9/10 from 7 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 23min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: 20th Century Fox
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 5.9/10
From 7 Ratings


After a group of convicts escapes from prison, they take refuge in the wilderness. While most of the crew are ruthless sociopaths, Jim Canfield is an innocent man who was jailed under false pretenses. When Canfield and his fellow fugitives reach an isolated farming settlement where the men are all away, it creates tension with the local women. Things get more dire when rumors of hidden money arise, and Canfield discovers that the man who framed him is part of the community.

The Secret of Convict Lake Trailer

The Secret of Convict Lake Photos

  • Glenn Ford

    as Jim Canfield
  • Gene Tierney

    as Marcia Stoddard
  • Ethel Barrymore

    as Granny
  • Zachary Scott

    as Johnny Greer
  • Ann Dvorak

    as Rachel Schaeffer
  • Barbara Bates

    as Barbara Purcell
  • Cyril Cusack

    as Edward "Limey" Cockerell
  • Richard Hylton

    as Clyde Maxwell
  • Helen Westcott

    as Susan Haggerty
  • Jeanette Nolan

    as Harriet Purcell
  • Ruth Donnelly

    as Mary Fancher
  • Harry Carter

    as Rudy Schaeffer
  • Mary Carroll

    as Millie Gower
  • Charles Flynn

    as Steve Gower
  • Raymond Greenleaf

    as Tom Fancher
  • Jack Lambert

    as Matt Anderson
  • William F. Leicester

    as Luke Haggerty
  • Tom London

    as Jerry
  • Dale Robertson

    as Narrator (Voice)
  • Houseley Stevenson

    as Pawnee Sam
  • Bernard Szold

    as Bartender
  • Ray Teal

    as Sheriff Cromwell
  • Max Wagner

    as Jack Purcell
Costume & Make-Up Edward Stevenson Costume Design
Art Lyle R. Wheeler Art Direction
Writing Ben Hecht Writer
Art Thomas Little Set Decoration
Writing Oscar Saul Adaptation
Sound Lionel Newman Music Director
Camera Leo Tover Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Charles Le Maire Wardrobe Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Ben Nye Makeup Artist
Sound Harry M. Leonard Sound
Sound Sol Kaplan Original Music Composer
Sound George Parrish Orchestrator
Editing James B. Clark Editor
Writing Jack Pollexfen Story
Sound Earle Hagen Orchestrator
Writing Victor Trivas Adaptation
Directing Michael Gordon Director
Production Frank P. Rosenberg Producer
Crew Fred Sersen Special Effects
Sound Edward B. Powell Orchestrator
Sound Arthur von Kirbach Sound
Writing Anna Hunger Story
Art Richard Irvine Art Direction
Art Fred J. Rode Set Decoration
Sound Herbert W. Spencer Orchestrator
Production R.L. Hough Assistant Production Manager
Sound Bernard Mayers Orchestrator
Production Abe Steinberg Unit Manager
Directing Ben Chapman Assistant Director
Art M. Duke Abrahams Props
Art William Beattie Greensman
Directing Howard B. Chapman Assistant Director