The Purge

The Purge (2013)

One night a year, all crime is legal.

  • Genre: Science Fiction, Horror, Thriller
  • Release Date: 2013-05-31
  • User Rating: 6.2/10 from 5746 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 26min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: France, United States of America
  • Director:
star 6.2/10
From 5,746 Ratings


Given the country's overcrowded prisons, the U.S. government begins to allow 12-hour periods of time in which all illegal activity is legal. During one of these free-for-alls, a family must protect themselves from a home invasion.

The Purge Trailer

The Purge Photos

  • Ethan Hawke

    as James Sandin
  • Lena Headey

    as Mary Sandin
  • Max Burkholder

    as Charlie Sandin
  • Adelaide Kane

    as Zoey Sandin
  • Edwin Hodge

    as Bloody Stranger
  • Rhys Wakefield

    as Polite Leader
  • Tony Oller

    as Henry
  • Arija Bareikis

    as Mrs. Grace Ferrin
  • Tom Yi

    as Mr. Cali
  • Chris Mulkey

    as Mr. Halverson
  • Tisha French

    as Mrs. Halverson
  • Dana Bunch

    as Mr. Ferrin
  • Peter Gvozdas

    as Dr. Peter Buynak
  • John Weselcouch

    as Freak Interrupting
  • Alicia Vela-Bailey

    as Female Freak
  • David Basila

    as George (uncredited)
  • Boima Blake

    as Freak #1 (uncredited)
  • Nathan Clarkson

    as Freak (uncredited)
  • Mickey Facchinello

    as Brunette Female Freak (uncredited)
  • Jesse Jacobs

    as Freak #2 (uncredited)
  • Aaron Kuban

    as Freak (uncredited)
  • Chester Lockhart

    as Freak (uncredited)
  • Tyler Osterkamp

    as Freak (uncredited)
  • Cindy Robinson

    as Purge Screen Announcer (uncredited)
  • Karen Strassman

    as Newscaster (uncredited)
  • Rj Wolfe

    as Freak (uncredited)
Production Michael Bay Producer
Editing Jim May Additional Editor
Sound Edward Tise Sound Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Nacoma Whobrey Key Makeup Artist
Directing James DeMonaco Director
Writing James DeMonaco Writer
Production Andrew Form Producer
Production Bradley Fuller Producer
Crew Marty Taylor Compositor
Production Lisa Fields Casting
Sound Jordan Wilby Sound Effects Editor
Production Jason Blum Producer
Production John Barba Casting Associate
Sound Paul J. Diller Sound Effects Editor
Camera Matt Kennedy Still Photographer
Art Nicolas Plotquin Art Direction
Editing Peter Gvozdas Editor
Production Sebastien Lemercier Producer
Sound Nathan Whitehead Original Music Composer
Camera Jacques Jouffret Director of Photography
Art Melanie Jones Production Design
Art Augy Plotquin Construction Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Elizabeth Rabe Assistant Hairstylist
Art Aaron Becker Main Title Designer
Art Scott MacDonald Leadman
Directing Babette Stith Script Supervisor
Sound Kevin O’Connell Sound Supervisor
Lighting Anthony Anderson Gaffer
Sound Erin Oakley Dialogue Editor
Sound Anna Behlmer Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Lisa Norcia Costume Design
Sound Jason Krane Dialogue Editor
Sound Craig Mann Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Editing Devin Sterling Digital Intermediate
Editing Mike Chiado Digital Intermediate
Sound Kelly Cabral Sound Supervisor
Sound Steve Schatz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Editing Kamila Baghernejad Digital Intermediate Producer
Crew Mark Gullesserian Special Effects Coordinator
Editing Tommy Aagaard First Assistant Editor
Crew Tommy Aagaard Visual Effects Editor
Editing Lorena Talpan First Assistant Editor
Visual Effects Sean Andrew Faden Visual Effects Supervisor
Camera Daniel C. McFadden Still Photographer
Art Karuna Karmarkar Set Decoration
Editing Debra L. Tennant First Assistant Editor
Costume & Make-Up David Larson Hair Department Head
Sound Robert Batha Foley Editor
Art Joel Tabbush Art Department Coordinator
Production Annie Brandt Art Department Production Assistant
Crew Lawrence Decker Special Effects Coordinator
Crew Doug Passarelli Pyrotechnician
Sound Steven Morrow Production Sound Mixer
Art Zak Faust Art Department Coordinator
Art Robert 'Cass' McEntee Construction Coordinator
Lighting Paul Postal Chief Lighting Technician
Crew Micah Roehr Special Effects Technician
Costume & Make-Up Steve Costanza Makeup Department Head
Camera Kenneth H. Wiatrak Camera Operator
Editing Siggy Ferstl Digital Intermediate Colorist
Camera Sean Ricigliano Epk Camera Operator
Production Rich King Extras Casting
Camera Kyle Behling Camera Production Assistant
Sound Alex Soto Sound Effects Editor
Editing John Tripp Color Assistant
Editing Giovanni DiGiorgio Color Assistant
Production Jeremy Lambert Extras Casting Assistant
Sound Brian Armstrong Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Brian Armstrong Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects P. Whitney Gearin Visual Effects Producer
Camera Darryl St. Juste Grip
Art McJoel Hamilton Property Master
Camera Louis Normandin Second Unit Director of Photography
Production David Lordan Art Department Production Assistant
Visual Effects Lauren Gauthier Visual Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Chelsea Kammeyer Visual Effects Coordinator
Art Hillel Chaim Smith Property Master
Lighting Eric Sandlin Best Boy Electrician
Crew Jordan C. Kadovitz Video Assist Operator
Production Rhannon Dodge Art Department Production Assistant
Production Jeramey Rund Art Department Production Assistant
Art Kirk Graves Assistant Property Master
Art Patrick Rourk Assistant Property Master
Art Gary Jones Construction Foreman
Crew William Parker Propmaker
Crew Mark Rielly Propmaker
Art Tim Dodge Set Dresser
Art Kay Quitan Set Dresser
Art Hector Hernandez Set Painter
Art Mark Kalainoff Set Painter
Lighting David Carreira Best Boy Electrician
Camera Patrick Gomez Best Boy Grip
Camera Frank Orozco Best Boy Grip
Lighting John Van Valkenburgh Chief Lighting Technician
Camera Jeremy Paul Cannon Digital Imaging Technician
Lighting David Gottlieb Electrician
Lighting Yuji Nakaza Electrician
Lighting Ryan White Electrician
Camera Aaron J. Galang Grip
Camera Terrell Hasker Grip
Camera Joe Keawe III Grip
Camera Bobby Thomas Key Grip
Camera William Hall Key Grip
Production Shannon Collis Casting Associate
Costume & Make-Up John Thong Hoang Nguyen Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Regalia Thomas Costumer
Visual Effects Anastasia Von Rahl Visual Effects Coordinator
Editing Shane Harris Colorist