The Paper Chase

The Paper Chase (1973)

You may be looking at a future President, Supreme Court Justice, Secretary of State or a dropout.

  • Genre: Comedy, Drama, Romance
  • Release Date: 1973-10-16
  • User Rating: 6.9/10 from 45 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 53min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Thompson-Paul Productions
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 6.9/10
From 45 Ratings


A first-year law student struggles with balancing his coursework and his relationship with the daughter of a stern professor.

The Paper Chase Trailer

The Paper Chase Photos

  • Timothy Bottoms

    as James T. Hart
  • Lindsay Wagner

    as Susan Fields
  • John Houseman

    as Charles W. Kingsfield Jr.
  • Graham Beckel

    as Franklin Ford III
  • James Naughton

    as Kevin Brooks
  • Edward Herrmann

    as Thomas Craig Anderson
  • Craig Richard Nelson

    as Willis Bell
  • Robert Lydiard

    as O'Connor
  • Lenny Baker

    as William Moss
  • David Clennon

    as Toombs
  • Regina Baff

    as Asheley Brooks
  • Irma Hurley

    as Mrs. Weasal
  • Bill Moher

    as Philip Fields
  • Blair Brown

    as Miss Farranti
  • Richard Whelan

    as Pruit
  • Alan Kwinter

    as Sanders
  • Nicholas Olah

    as Knight
  • David B. Johns

    as Fisher
  • Tony Silverthorne

    as Hotel Manager
  • John Bethune

    as Hotel Clerk
  • Jan Campbell

    as 1st Hotel Maid
  • Dora Dainton

    as 2nd Hotel Maid
Sound John Williams Original Music Composer
Camera Gordon Willis Director of Photography
Production Marion Dougherty Casting
Art George Jenkins Production Design
Camera Reginald H. Morris Camera Operator
Sound Larry Jost Sound Mixer
Writing James Bridges Screenplay
Directing James Bridges Director
Editing Walter Thompson Editor
Directing Christopher Seitz Assistant Director
Directing Michael Preece Script Supervisor
Production Robert C. Thompson Producer
Production Rodrick Paul Producer
Art Gerry Holmes Set Decoration
Writing John Jay Osborn Jr. Novel
Crew John Jay Osborn Jr. Technical Advisor
Sound Donald O. Mitchell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Hendrik Wynands Construction Coordinator
Production Philip L. Parslow Unit Production Manager
Production Philip L. Parslow Associate Producer
Directing Tony Lucibello Second Assistant Director
Art Ray Mercer Jr. Property Master