The Matrix

The Matrix (1999)

Welcome to the Real World.

  • Genre: Action, Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 1999-03-30
  • User Rating: 8.1/10 from 17937 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 16min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Village Roadshow Pictures
  • Production Country: Australia, United States of America
  • Directors: , .
star 8.1
From 17,937 Ratings
8.7 73 88%


Set in the 22nd century, The Matrix tells the story of a computer hacker who joins a group of underground insurgents fighting the vast and powerful computers who now rule the earth.

The Matrix Trailer

Watch The Matrix Online

You can now watch The Matrix online on the following streaming providers in the United States.

  • The Matrix Photos

    Production Barrie M. Osborne Executive Producer
    Production Joel Silver Producer
    Production Mali Finn Casting
    Production Bruce Berman Executive Producer
    Editing Zach Staenberg Editor
    Sound Don Davis Original Music Composer
    Costume & Make-Up Michael Wilkinson Costume Assistant
    Costume & Make-Up Kym Barrett Costume Design
    Art Deborah Riley Set Designer
    Camera Bill Pope Director of Photography
    Production Erwin Stoff Executive Producer
    Production Andrew Mason Executive Producer
    Directing Lilly Wachowski Director
    Production Lilly Wachowski Executive Producer
    Writing Lilly Wachowski Writer
    Directing Lana Wachowski Director
    Production Lana Wachowski Executive Producer
    Writing Lana Wachowski Writer
    Production Shauna Wolifson Casting
    Art Owen Paterson Production Design
    Art Hugh Bateup Art Direction
    Art Michelle McGahey Art Direction
    Art Lisa Brennan Set Decoration
    Sound Dane A. Davis Sound Designer
    Sound Dane A. Davis Supervising Sound Editor
    Sound Zigmund Gron Music Editor
    Crew Glenn Boswell Stunt Coordinator
    Art Jules Cook Assistant Art Director
    Visual Effects Steve Courtley Special Effects Supervisor
    Directing James McTeigue First Assistant Director
    Sound David Grimaldi Sound Effects Editor
    Production Dan Cracchiolo Co-Producer
    Production Richard Mirisch Associate Producer
    Production Carol Hughes Unit Production Manager
    Production Carol Hughes Associate Producer
    Sound Charles W. Ritter Dialogue Editor
    Visual Effects John Gaeta Visual Effects Supervisor
    Sound Julia Evershade Sound Effects Editor
    Directing Colin Fletcher First Assistant Director
    Sound Eric Lindemann Sound Effects Editor
    Sound David E. Campbell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Sound Gregg Rudloff Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Sound John T. Reitz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Sound Susan Dudeck Dialogue Editor
    Art Jacinta Leong Set Designer
    Art Fiona Scott Assistant Art Director
    Art Sarah Light Set Designer
    Art Judith Harvey Set Designer
    Camera Jasin Boland Still Photographer
    Camera Robert Agganis Camera Operator
    Camera Robert Agganis Steadicam Operator
    Lighting Reg Garside Gaffer
    Production Fiona Searson Publicist
    Costume & Make-Up Cheryl Williams Hairstylist
    Art Tony Williams Assistant Art Director
    Crew Kate Crossley Visual Effects Editor
    Visual Effects Brian Cox Special Effects Supervisor
    Art Lon Lucini Property Master
    Directing Victoria Sullivan Script Supervisor
    Costume & Make-Up Deborah Taylor Makeup Artist
    Sound Lori L. Eschler Music Editor
    Production Peter Lawless Location Manager
    Art Tim Ferrier Set Decoration
    Camera David Williamson Camera Operator
    Costume & Make-Up Lyn Askew Costume Supervisor
    Art Trish Foreman Art Department Coordinator
    Art Godric Cole Set Designer
    Art Andrew Powell Set Designer
    Art Marta McElroy Set Decoration
    Sound David Lee Sound Recordist
    Sound Jack Friedman Boom Operator
    Sound Gerry Nucifora Boom Operator
    Crew Robina Osbourne Special Effects Coordinator
    Production Megan Worthy Production Coordinator