The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

The eye of the enemy is moving.

star 8.4/10
From 14,919 Ratings


Aragorn is revealed as the heir to the ancient kings as he, Gandalf and the other members of the broken fellowship struggle to save Gondor from Sauron's forces. Meanwhile, Frodo and Sam take the ring closer to the heart of Mordor, the dark lord's realm.

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King Trailer

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King Photos

  • Elijah Wood

    as Frodo Baggins
  • Ian McKellen

    as Gandalf the White
  • Viggo Mortensen

    as Aragorn
  • Sean Astin

    as Samwise "Sam" Gamgee
  • Liv Tyler

    as Arwen Evenstar
  • Orlando Bloom

    as Legolas
  • John Rhys-Davies

    as Gimli / Treebeard (voice)
  • Dominic Monaghan

    as Meriadoc "Merry" Brandybuck
  • Billy Boyd

    as Peregrin "Pippin" Took
  • Andy Serkis

    as Gollum
  • Cate Blanchett

    as Galadriel
  • Hugo Weaving

    as Elrond
  • Ian Holm

    as Bilbo Baggins
  • Bernard Hill

    as Théoden
  • Karl Urban

    as Éomer
  • Miranda Otto

    as Éowyn
  • David Wenham

    as Faramir
  • Sean Bean

    as Boromir
  • John Noble

    as Denethor
  • Marton Csokas

    as Celeborn
  • Paul Norell

    as King of the Dead
  • Thomas Robins

    as Déagol
  • Sarah McLeod

    as Rosie Cotton
  • Alistair Browning

    as Damrod
  • Ian Hughes

    as Irolas
  • John Bach

    as Madril
  • Bruce Hopkins

    as Gamling
  • Harry Sinclair

    as Isildur
  • Alan Howard

    as The Ring (voice) / Sauron (voice)
  • Sala Baker

    as Murgash / Sauron
  • Lawrence Makoare

    as Gothmog / Witch-king of Angmar
  • Stephen Ure

    as Gorbag
  • Joel Tobeck

    as Guritz
  • Peter Tait

    as Shagrat / Corsair of Umbar
  • Noel Appleby

    as Everard Proudfoot
  • Ali Astin

    as Elanor Gamgee
  • Maisy McLeod-Riera

    as Frodo Gamgee
  • Sadwyn Brophy

    as Eldarion
  • Bret McKenzie

    as Figwit
  • Bruce Phillips

    as Grimbold
  • Shane Rangi

    as Mûmakil Mahûd
  • Todd Rippon

    as Harad Leader
  • Richard Edge

    as Gondorian Soldier
  • David Aston

    as Gondorian Soldier
  • Jason Fitch

    as Uruk
  • Robert Pollock

    as Orc
  • Ross Duncan

    as Orc
  • Pete Smith

    as Orc
  • Jed Brophy

    as Orc
  • Lee Hartley

    as Orc
  • Billy Jackson

    as Child
  • Katie Jackson

    as Child
  • Christopher Lee

    as Saruman (extended edition)
  • Brad Dourif

    as Gríma Wormtongue (extended edition)
  • Bruce Spence

    as Mouth of Sauron (extended edition)
  • Phil Grieve

    as Orc Commander (extended edition)
  • Craig Parker

    as Gothmog (voice) / Guritz (voice) (uncredited)
  • Emma Deakin

    as Diamond Took (uncredited)
  • Royd Tolkien

    as Golasgil (uncredited)
  • Michael Elsworth

    as Círdan (uncredited)
  • Sam Kelly

    as Silindë (uncredited)
  • Gino Acevedo

    as Corsair of Umbar (uncredited)
  • Andrew Lesnie

    as Corsair of Umbar (uncredited)
  • Richard Taylor

    as Corsair of Umbar (uncredited)
  • Rick Porras

    as Corsair of Umbar / Beacon Guard (uncredited)
  • Christian Rivers

    as Corsair of Umbar / Beacon Guard (uncredited)
  • Peter Jackson

    as Corsair Bosun (uncredited)
  • Michael Semanick

    as Drinking Rohan Soldier (uncredited)
  • Howard Shore

    as Drinking Rohan Soldier (uncredited)
  • Clint Elvy

    as Haradrim Warrior (uncredited)
  • Jane Abbott

    as Coronation Elf (uncredited)
  • Jarl Benzon

    as Coronation Elf (uncredited)
  • Sandro Kopp

    as Coronation Elf (uncredited)
  • Jørn Benzon

    as Rivendell Elf (uncredited)
  • Henry Mortensen

    as Pelennor Orc (uncredited)
  • Zo Hartley

    as Orc Helper (uncredited)
  • Joseph Mika-Hunt

    as Orc (uncredited)
  • Aidan Bell

    as Orc (uncredited)
  • Luke Burnyeat

    as Orc (uncredited)
Production Barrie M. Osborne Producer
Sound Howard Shore Original Music Composer
Sound Christopher Boyes Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Writing Peter Jackson Screenplay
Directing Peter Jackson Director
Production Peter Jackson Producer
Production Bob Weinstein Executive Producer
Production Harvey Weinstein Executive Producer
Production Mark Ordesky Executive Producer
Production Michael Lynne Executive Producer
Writing J.R.R. Tolkien Novel
Writing Fran Walsh Screenplay
Production Fran Walsh Producer
Writing Philippa Boyens Screenplay
Camera Andrew Lesnie Director of Photography
Art Grant Major Production Design
Art Joe Bleakley Art Direction
Art Rob Outterside Art Direction
Art Mark Robins Art Direction
Art Alan Lee Set Decoration
Art Alan Lee Conceptual Design
Art John Howe Conceptual Design
Costume & Make-Up Ngila Dickson Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Richard Taylor Costume Design
Production Victoria Burrows Casting
Production John Hubbard Casting
Production Liz Mullane Casting
Crew Sala Baker Stunts
Art Dan Hennah Set Decoration
Art Dan Hennah Supervising Art Director
Editing Jamie Selkirk Editor
Sound Brent Burge Sound Effects Editor
Sound David Farmer Sound Designer
Production Robert Shaye Executive Producer
Art Jules Cook Assistant Art Director
Costume & Make-Up Jeremy Woodhead Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Rick Findlater Makeup Artist
Production Ann Robinson Casting
Costume & Make-Up Margaret Aston Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Noreen Wilkie Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Janine Schneider Makeup Artist
Sound Beau Borders Sound Effects Editor
Crew Paul Lasaine Visual Effects Art Director
Production Amy Hubbard Casting
Visual Effects Steve Dubin Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Charlie McClellan Visual Effects Producer
Sound Lora Hirschberg Additional Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Ivana Primorac Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Dean Lyon Visual Effects Supervisor
Sound Addison Teague Sound Effects Editor
Sound Ethan van der Ryn Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Michael Semanick Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects James Whitlam Visual Effects Producer
Sound Tim Nielsen Sound Effects Editor
Visual Effects Alex Funke Visual Effects Director
Visual Effects Guy Williams 3D Supervisor
Sound Mike Hopkins Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Dave Whitehead Sound Effects Editor
Sound Michael Hedges Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects Joe Letteri Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Christian Rivers Visual Effects Designer
Sound Hayden Collow Sound Effects Editor
Sound Gary Summers Additional Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects Jim Rygiel Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Sean Button Stunts
Visual Effects Eileen Moran Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Randall William Cook Animation Director
Costume & Make-Up Nancy Hennah Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Catherine Maguire Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Angela Mooar Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Gail Wilson Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Davina Lamont Makeup Artist
Visual Effects John P. Nugent Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Dean Wright Visual Effects Producer
Costume & Make-Up Peter King Makeup & Hair
Sound Craig Tomlinson Sound Effects Editor
Art Jacqui Allen Assistant Art Director
Crew Jeremy Bennett Visual Effects Art Director
Sound Hammond Peek Production Sound Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Vivienne MacGillicuddy Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Chetan Deshmukh Visual Effects Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Kerryn Flewell-Smith Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Steve Hopgood Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Emma Moncrieff Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Allie Rutherford Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Lenore Stewart Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Tera Treanor Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Laurelle Ziento Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Robyn Isaacs Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Graham Binding Animation
Visual Effects Bryan Ku 3D Director