The Invisible Woman

The Invisible Woman (2013)

His greatest story was the one he could never tell.

  • Genre: Drama, History, Romance
  • Release Date: 2013-12-25
  • User Rating: 6/10 from 128 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 51min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Taeoo Entertainment
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Director:
star 6/10
From 128 Ratings


In 1857, at the height of his fame and fortune, novelist and social critic Charles Dickens meets and falls in love with teenage stage actress Nelly Ternan. As she becomes the focus of his heart and mind, as well as his muse, painful secrecy is the price both must pay.

The Invisible Woman Trailer

The Invisible Woman Photos

  • Ralph Fiennes

    as Charles Dickens
  • Felicity Jones

    as Nelly Ternan
  • Joanna Scanlan

    as Catherine Dickens
  • Kristin Scott Thomas

    as Catherine Ternan
  • Tom Hollander

    as Wilkie Collins
  • Michelle Fairley

    as Caroline Graves
  • John Kavanagh

    as Reverend Benham
  • Amanda Hale

    as Fanny Ternan
  • Perdita Weeks

    as Maria Ternan
  • Tom Burke

    as George Wharton
  • Richard McCabe

    as Mark Lemon
  • David Collings

    as Governor
  • James Michael Rankin

    as Evening Man
  • Charlotte Hope

    as Prostitute
  • Michael Marcus

    as Charley Dickens
  • Laurence Spellman

    as Porter
  • Jonathan Harden

    as Mr. Arnott
  • Christos Lawton

    as Mr. Evans
  • Claire Daly

    as Mrs. Lambourne
  • Mark Dexter

    as Mr. Augustus Egg
  • Gwendolen Chatfield

    as Marney Dickens
Art Maria Djurkovic Production Design
Directing Ralph Fiennes Director
Camera David Appleby Still Photographer
Sound Peter Burgis Foley
Costume & Make-Up Michael O'Connor Costume Design
Production Leo Davis Casting
Sound Ilan Eshkeri Music
Production Christian Baute Producer
Art Nick Dent Supervising Art Director
Production Gabrielle Tana Producer
Production Carolyn Marks Blackwood Producer
Editing Nicolas Gaster Editor
Writing Abi Morgan Writer
Production Stewart Mackinnon Producer
Camera Rob Hardy Director of Photography
Art Sarah Stuart Art Direction
Art Tatiana MacDonald Set Decoration
Art Peter Hooper Greensman
Writing Claire Tomalin Novel
Art Nicky Ackland-Snow Construction Coordinator
Crew Peter Hallam Property Master
Art Jon Marson Greensman
Sound Matthew Collinge Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Paul Cotterell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Barnaby Smyth Foley
Sound Kate Morath Boom Operator
Visual Effects Paul Norris Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Shanaullah Umerji Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Meg Guidon Visual Effects Producer
Costume & Make-Up Georgina Gunner Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Wyn Vaughan-Humphreys Set Costumer
Crew David Rosenbaum Transportation Captain
Production Stefano Ferrari Executive Producer