The Haunting

The Haunting (1999)

Some houses are born bad.

  • Genre: Horror, Thriller, Fantasy, Mystery
  • Release Date: 1999-07-23
  • User Rating: 5.3/10 from 703 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 53min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: DreamWorks Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 5.3/10
From 703 Ratings


Dr. David Marrow invites Nell Vance, and Theo and Luke Sanderson to the eerie and isolated Hill House to be subjects for a sleep disorder study. The unfortunate guests discover that Marrow is far more interested in the sinister mansion itself – and they soon see the true nature of its horror.

The Haunting Trailer

The Haunting Photos

  • Liam Neeson

    as Dr. David Marrow
  • Catherine Zeta-Jones

    as Theo
  • Owen Wilson

    as Luke Sanderson
  • Lili Taylor

    as Eleanor 'Nell' Vance
  • Bruce Dern

    as Mr. Dudley
  • Virginia Madsen

    as Jane
  • Michael Cavanaugh

    as Dr. Malcolm Keogh
  • M.C. Gainey

    as Large Man
  • Marian Seldes

    as Mrs. Dudley
  • Alix Koromzay

    as Mary Lambetta
  • Todd Field

    as Todd Hackett
  • Tom Irwin

    as Lou
  • Charles Gunning

    as Hugh Crain
  • Saul Priever

    as Ritchie
  • Hadley Eure

    as Carolyn Crain
  • Kadina de Elejalde

    as Rene Crain
  • Alessandra Benjamin

    as Psych Patient #1
  • Karen S. Gregan

    as Psych Patient #2
  • Brandon Jarrett

    as Psych Patient #3
  • Mary McNeal

    as Psych Patient #4
  • William Minkin

    as Psych Patient #5
  • Sherry Lynn

    as Child (voice)
Directing Jan de Bont Director
Writing David Self Screenplay
Writing Shirley Jackson Novel
Production Susan Arnold Producer
Production Jan de Bont Executive Producer
Production Samuel Z. Arkoff Executive Producer
Production Steven Spielberg Executive Producer
Camera Karl Walter Lindenlaub Director of Photography
Editing Michael Kahn Editor
Production Donna Roth Producer
Production Colin Wilson Producer
Sound Jerry Goldsmith Original Music Composer
Production Randi Hiller Casting
Art Eugenio Zanetti Production Design
Production Marty P. Ewing Associate Producer
Editing Michael Trent Assistant Editor
Visual Effects Phil Tippett Visual Effects Supervisor
Art Martin Laing Art Direction
Art Jonathan Lee Art Direction
Art Troy Sizemore Art Direction
Art Cindy Carr Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Ellen Mirojnick Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Danny Ned Moore Costume Design
Art Brynn McQuade Art Department Coordinator
Art Stacey S. McIntosh Construction Coordinator
Art Larry A. Cornick Leadman
Art Gloria Ciraolo Painter
Art François Audouy Production Illustrator
Art Fred Arbegast Sculptor
Art Mick Cukurs Set Designer
Art Charles 'Chuck' Lungren Standby Painter
Camera Gregory Lundsgaard Camera Operator
Camera Jamie Barber First Assistant Camera
Camera Loren Corl Grip
Camera Jeremy Braben Aerial Camera
Camera Colin Anderson Steadicam Operator
Camera Frank Masi Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Deborah Hopper Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Karyn Huston Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Judith A. Cory Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Jean Ann Black Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Ann Culotta Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Edmond Scott Ratliff Set Dressing Artist
Costume & Make-Up Justin Ditter Wigmaker
Crew Scott Lafferty Carpenter
Crew Orlando Chongo Craft Service
Crew Joy Ellison Dialect Coach
Crew Chet Badalato Driver
Crew Dennis Marchant Picture Car Coordinator
Crew Kevin Du Toit Post Production Assistant
Crew Erica Frauman Post Production Supervisor
Crew Jim Turner Production Controller
Crew Gerry Taylor Projection
Crew Alan Alvarado Propmaker
Art Brian Payne Property Master
Crew Marie Nashold Set Medic
Crew John Frazier Special Effects Coordinator
Crew Candace Brokaw Stand In
Crew Tim A. Davison Stunt Coordinator
Crew Sandy Berumen Stunts
Crew Steve Ginsberg Systems Administrators & Support
Crew Gary Shephard Transportation Coordinator
Production Marty P. Ewing Unit Production Manager
Crew Amanda Brand Unit Publicist
Crew Mark Suveg Video Assist Operator
Crew John Bartle Visual Effects Editor
Directing Jana Spotts Assistant Director
Editing Jonathan Null Dialogue Editor
Editing Brian Dettor Editorial Production Assistant
Editing Richard Byard First Assistant Editor
Lighting James Barrett Electrician
Lighting Stewart Hadley Gaffer
Lighting Steven Strong Lighting Technician
Lighting Brian Lukas Rigging Gaffer
Lighting Jeff Brinker Rigging Grip
Production Peter M. Tobyansen Location Manager
Production Elena Holden Tuens Production Accountant
Production Marilyn Clarke Production Coordinator
Production Roger Rohrbach Production Manager
Sound Larry Singer ADR & Dubbing
Sound Harrison D. Marsh Boom Operator
Sound Michael Axinn Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Darrell Hall Music Editor
Sound Alexander Courage Orchestrator
Sound Gary Rydstrom Sound Designer
Sound Teresa Eckton Sound Effects Editor
Sound Frank E. Eulner Supervising Sound Editor
Visual Effects Wes Burian 3D Artist
Visual Effects Blair Clark Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Alan Boucek Digital Compositors
Visual Effects David Rosenthal I/O Supervisor
Visual Effects Martin Gutteridge Special Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Alexandra Altrocchi Visual Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Roni McKinley Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Scott Farrar Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Shannon Mills Sound Design Assistant
Crew Paula Lucchesi Visual Effects Art Director
Visual Effects Randy Link Animation
Sound David John Production Sound Mixer
Editing David Orr Color Timer
Art Tomas Voth Supervising Art Director
Crew Gary Ferraro Chef
Editing Donald Dowd Editorial Services
Sound Juan Peralta Sound Mix Technician
Costume & Make-Up Lynda Foote Key Costumer
Directing Kate Hazell Second Second Assistant Director
Directing Steven Spielberg Second Unit Director
Art Michael Hansen Assistant Property Master
Art Cristiano Donzelli Conceptual Illustrator
Art Robert Allen Construction Buyer
Art Karin L. McGaughey Property Buyer
Art Dean Lakoff Swing
Sound Denise Whiting ADR Editor
Sound Robert Deschaine ADR Mixer
Sound Tami Treadwell ADR Recordist
Sound Dennie Thorpe Foley Artist
Sound Tony Eckert Foley Mixer
Sound Frank 'Pepe' Merel Foley Recordist
Sound Sandina Bailo-Lape Foley Supervisor
Crew Taylor Ball Special Effects Assistant
Crew Jem Lovett Special Effects Technician
Crew Jimmy N. Roberts Stunt Double
Camera Keith Ogier Additional Second Assistant Camera
Camera Renzo Spirit Buffalo Assistant Camera
Camera Dana Baker Best Boy Grip
Camera Heather Green Camera Loader
Camera Andreas Crawford Dolly Grip
Camera Paul DeMarte Second Assistant Camera
Production Mickie McGowan ADR Voice Casting
Production Tanaz Akhlaghi Casting Assistant
Editing Bryan H. Carroll Assistant Editor
Editing Gary Burritt Negative Cutter
Production Sven E. Fahlgren Post Production Coordinator
Sound Jerry Goldsmith Conductor
Sound Nick Vidar Music Programmer
Sound Kenneth Hall Supervising Music Editor
Production Patricio M. Farrell Art Department Production Assistant
Production Charlie Araki Assistant Accountant
Lighting Dan Riffel Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Production Danielle Fox Assistant Production Coordinator
Visual Effects Brennan Doyle Compositing Supervisor
Production Douglas Epps Head of Research
Crew Lauren Raquel Pusich Intern
Lighting Matt Floyd Key Rigging Grip
Production Ben Smith Key Set Production Assistant
Production Daniel Myers Boone Payroll Accountant
Production Kirk Jung Production Assistant
Production Steven R. Molen Production Executive
Production Danika Kohler Doman Production Secretary
Production Alessandra Taddei Researcher
Visual Effects Dan Feinstein Rotoscoping Artist
Art Robert Consing Storyboard Artist