The Happy Prince

The Happy Prince (2018)

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 2018-04-12
  • User Rating: 6.8/10 from 89 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 41min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Maze Pictures
  • Production Country: Italy, United Kingdom, Germany, Belgium
  • Director:
star 6.8/10
From 89 Ratings


In 1895, Oscar Wilde (1854-1900) was the most famous writer in London, and Bosie Douglas, son of the notorious Marquess of Queensberry, was his lover. Accused and convicted of gross indecency, he was imprisoned for two years and subjected to hard labor. Once free, he abandons England to live in France, where he will spend his last years, haunted by memories of the past, poverty and immense sadness.

The Happy Prince Trailer

The Happy Prince Photos

  • Rupert Everett

    as Oscar Wilde
  • Colin Firth

    as Reggie Turner
  • Emily Watson

    as Constance Wilde
  • Colin Morgan

    as Alfred 'Bosie' Douglas
  • Edwin Thomas

    as Robbie Ross
  • Franca Abategiovanni

    as Felice's Mother
  • Alister Cameron

    as Mr. Howard
  • Anna Chancellor

    as Mrs. Arbuthnott
  • Béatrice Dalle

    as Café Concert Manager
  • Tom Colley

    as Maurice Gilbert
  • Johanna Kirby

    as Nurse
  • André Penvern

    as Monsieur Dupoirier
  • Ronald Pickup

    as Judge
  • Matteo Salamone

    as Leon
  • Antonio Spagnuolo

    as Felice
  • John Standing

    as Dr. Tucker
  • Benjamin Voisin

    as Jean
  • Tom Wilkinson

    as Father Dunne
  • Julian Wadham

    as Mr. Arbuthnott
  • Caterina D'Andrea

    as Carmela
  • Manu Asencio

    as Hotel Sandwich Bellboy
  • Jean-Luc Bubert

    as Man with Tart
  • Oliver Cater

    as Cyril Holland Aged 11
  • Cyril Cordonnier

    as Café de la Paix Waiter
  • Thierry de Coster

    as Henri the Waiter
  • Eleonora Costadura

    as Felice's Wife
  • Jacky Druaux

    as Hotel Sandwich Manager
  • Laurent D'Elia

    as Rouen Station Announcer
  • Raffaele Gargiulo

    as Michela
  • Patrick Hannaway

    as Burly Man
  • Aaron Henke

    as Vyvyan Holland Aged 3
  • Hans-Jürgen Honikel

    as Surgeon
  • Jerry Joner

    as Hôtel de la Plague Manager
  • Alexis Julemont

    as Hotel Sandwich Attractive Waiter
  • Kit Loyd

    as Undergraduate #2
  • Joshua McGuire

    as Ambrose Smithers - Undergraduate #1
  • Vincenzo Messina

    as Peppino
  • Philip Noel

    as Top Hat #2
  • Teodoro Petti

    as Cimitero delle Fontanelle Guide
  • Arnaud Peiffer

    as Hotel Sandwich Bellboy
  • Lo Polidoro

    as Café Concert Singer
  • Gerard Rocher

    as Old Priest
  • Werner Rößler

    as Marquess of Queensberry
  • Malo Scheen

    as Bosie's New Boyfriend
  • Toby Sherborne

    as Prison Warden
  • Philipp Spiegel

    as Café Concert Waiter
  • Yannick Thor

    as Cyril Holland Aged 4
  • Christian Tye

    as French Poet
  • Sarah Vandenabeele

    as Rouen Station Passerby
  • Dylan Waters

    as Vyvyan Holland Aged 10
  • Sam Barrett

    as Undergraduate #3
  • Howard Perret

    as Undergraduate #4
  • Sam Perry

    as Undergraduate #5
  • Torren Simonsz

    as Undergraduate #6
Art Brian Morris Production Design
Production Celestia Fox Casting
Writing Rupert Everett Screenplay
Directing Rupert Everett Director
Production Colin Firth Executive Producer
Sound Gabriel Yared Original Music Composer
Production Zygi Kamasa Executive Producer
Production Bettina Brokemper Associate Producer
Production Robert Fox Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Maurizio Millenotti Costume Designer
Production Christine Langan Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Luigi Rocchetti Makeup Designer
Production Herbert G. Kloiber Executive Producer
Production Stephan Mallmann Associate Producer
Art Renate Schmaderer Supervising Art Director
Production Frank Evers Co-Producer
Production Markus Zimmer Executive Producer
Production Stefaan Schieder Line Producer
Production Joe Oppenheimer Executive Producer
Production Daniela Tolkien Casting
Production Jörg Schulze Producer
Editing Nicolas Gaster Editor
Production Diana Elbaum Associate Producer
Production Sébastien Delloye Producer
Production Sébastien Delloye Executive Producer
Production Carlo Degli Esposti Co-Producer
Crew Torsten Jerabek Stunt Coordinator
Production Arlette Zylberberg Associate Producer
Production Massimiliano Pacifico Casting
Camera John Conroy Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Giovanni Casalnuovo Costume Designer
Production Patrizia Massa Line Producer
Production Patrizia Massa Associate Producer
Sound Alek Goosse Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Directing Sheila McNaught Script Supervisor
Crew David Menke Additional Music
Production Michaël Bier Casting
Production Ged Doherty Executive Producer
Production Azim Bolkiah Executive Producer
Production Sascha Verhey Line Producer
Sound François Dumont Sound Editor
Costume & Make-Up Francesco Pegoretti Hair Designer
Visual Effects Fabio Traversari Special Effects Supervisor
Art Jan Rott Property Master
Visual Effects Sebastian Bulst Special Effects Supervisor
Sound Dirk Bombey Sound Mixer
Visual Effects Olivier de Laveleye Special Effects Supervisor
Production François Touwaide Associate Producer
Production Tanguy Dekeyser Associate Producer
Production David Colby Associate Producer
Production Connie Filipello Executive Producer
Sound Jeroen Truijens Sound Editor
Production Dirk Schürhoff Executive Producer
Directing Michelle McDermott Second Assistant Director
Production Adele Gallo Casting
Production Katja Kuhlmann Associate Producer
Production Andreas Zielke Executive Producer
Production Nicola Serra Co-Producer
Production Katharina Beckel Production Coordinator
Production Philipp Kreuzer Producer
Camera Rudi Kurth Key Grip
Production Nick Manzi Executive Producer
Production Thorsten Ritter Executive Producer
Production Costanza Boccardi Casting
Directing Toby Sherborne First Assistant Director
Camera Wilhelm Moser Still Photographer
Lighting Charley Cox Gaffer
Production Laetitia Bosehert Unit Manager
Crew Frederic Mastro Stunt Coordinator