The Gods Must Be Crazy

The Gods Must Be Crazy (1980)

The critics are raving... the natives are restless... and the laughter is non-stop!

  • Genre: Action, Comedy
  • Release Date: 1980-09-10
  • User Rating: 7.2/10 from 471 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 49min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: CAT Films
  • Production Country: South Africa, Botswana
  • Director:
star 7.2/10
From 471 Ratings


Misery is brought to a small group of Sho in the Kalahari desert in the form of a cola bottle. In his quest to throw the evil object over the edge of the earth, Xixo encounters Western "civilization," a haphazard doctor and a tyranical despot.

The Gods Must Be Crazy Trailer

The Gods Must Be Crazy Photos

  • N-Xau

    as Xixo
  • Michael Thys

    as Mpudi
  • Marius Weyers

    as Andrew Steyn
  • Sandra Prinsloo

    as Kate Thompson
  • Louw Verwey

    as Sam Boga
  • Nic De Jager

    as Jack Hind
  • Fanyana H. Sidumo

    as Card 1
  • Joe Seakatsie

    as Card 2
  • Brian O'Shaughnessy

    as Mr. Thompson
  • Ken Gampu

    as President
  • Paddy O'Byrne

    as Narrator
Directing Jamie Uys Director
Sound John Boshoff Original Music Composer
Writing Jamie Uys Screenplay
Production Jamie Uys Producer
Camera Buster Reynolds Director of Photography
Production Boet Troskie Executive Producer
Editing Jamie Uys Editor
Art Caroline Burls Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Mij Reynolds Costume Design
Camera Robert Lewis Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Gail Grobbelaar Costume Design
Directing Di Yates Script Supervisor
Directing Caroline Burls Script Supervisor
Sound Roelf Van Jaarsveld Sound Editor
Crew Paul Ballinger Special Effects
Costume & Make-Up William Bell Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Olga Lombard Makeup Artist