The Frighteners

The Frighteners (1996)

No Rest for the Wicked.

  • Genre: Horror, Comedy
  • Release Date: 1996-07-18
  • User Rating: 6.8/10 from 711 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 50min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: WingNut Films
  • Production Country: New Zealand, United States of America
  • Director:
star 6.8/10
From 711 Ratings


Once an architect, Frank Bannister now passes himself off as an exorcist of evil spirits. To bolster his facade, he claims his "special" gift is the result of a car accident that killed his wife. But what he does not count on is more people dying in the small town where he lives. As he tries to piece together the supernatural mystery of these killings, he falls in love with the wife of one of the victims and deals with a crazy FBI agent.

The Frighteners Trailer

The Frighteners Photos

  • Michael J. Fox

    as Frank Bannister
  • Jeffrey Combs

    as Milton Dammers
  • Jake Busey

    as Johnny Charles Bartlett
  • Chi McBride

    as Cyrus
  • Trini Alvarado

    as Dr. Lucy Lynskey
  • Peter Dobson

    as Ray Lynskey
  • John Astin

    as The Judge
  • Jim Fyfe

    as Stuart
  • Troy Evans

    as Sheriff Walt Perry
  • Julianna McCarthy

    as Old Lady Bradley
  • R. Lee Ermey

    as Sgt. Hiles
  • Elizabeth Hawthorne

    as Magda Rees-Jones
  • Melanie Lynskey

    as Deputy
  • Stuart Devenie

    as Museum Curator
  • Leslie Wing

    as Mrs. Waterhouse
  • Dee Wallace

    as Patricia Ann Bradley
  • Michael Robinson

    as Deputy
Directing Peter Jackson Director
Writing Peter Jackson Screenplay
Writing Fran Walsh Screenplay
Sound Danny Elfman Original Music Composer
Camera John Blick Director of Photography
Camera Alun Bollinger Director of Photography
Editing Jamie Selkirk Editor
Production Peter Jackson Producer
Production Jamie Selkirk Producer
Production Victoria Burrows Casting
Production Vivienne Kaplan Casting
Art Grant Major Production Design
Art Dan Hennah Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Barbara Darragh Costume Design
Art Chris Hennah Art Department Coordinator
Crew Matt Aitken CG Supervisor
Crew John Sheils CG Supervisor
Crew Steve Ingram Special Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Matt Holmes Visual Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Wes Takahashi Visual Effects Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Jane Holland Assistant Costume Designer
Sound Ellen Segal Music Editor
Sound Steve Bartek Orchestrator
Directing Merrin Ruck Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Jane O'Kane Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Gail Wilson Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Marjory Hamlin Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Bron Roylance Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Cheryl Newton Wigmaker
Production Liz Mullane Casting Associate
Camera Pierre Vinet Still Photographer