The Exception

The Exception (2017)

One duty. One desire. One decision.

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 2017-06-02
  • User Rating: 6.9/10 from 248 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 47min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Egoli Tossell KLK
  • Production Country: United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Director:
star 6.9/10
From 248 Ratings


A German soldier tries to determine if the Dutch resistance has planted a spy to infiltrate the home of Kaiser Wilhelm in Holland during the onset of World War II, but falls for a young Jewish Dutch woman during his investigation.

The Exception Trailer

The Exception Photos

  • Lily James

    as Mieke de Jong
  • Jai Courtney

    as Capt Stefan Brandt
  • Eddie Marsan

    as Heinrich Himmler
  • Christopher Plummer

    as Kaiser Wilhelm II
  • Janet McTeer

    as Princess Hermine 'Hermo' Reuss of Greiz
  • Daisy Boulton

    as Secretary
  • Ben Daniels

    as Col Sigurd von Ilsemann
  • Stéphane Auberghen

    as Frau Linnenkamp
  • Aubeline Barbieux

    as Beatrix
  • Loïs van Wijk

    as Little Girl
  • Karin Leclercq

    as Widow in Hotel
  • Anton Lesser

    as General Falkenberg
  • Martin Swabey

    as Mueller
  • Martin Savage

    as Dirksen
  • Mark Dexter

    as Dietrich
  • Kurt Standaert

    as Schulz
  • Kris Cuppens

    as Pastor Hendricks
  • Frederik Lebeer

    as Signal Operative
  • Stéphanie Van Vyve

    as Hedwig Potthast
  • Lucas Tavernier

    as SS Colonel Meyer
  • Tom De Vreese

    as Wehrmacht Soldier - Brandt Unit
  • Luc Krijgsman

    as Wehrmacht Soldier - Brandt Unit
  • Verona Verbakel

    as Wehrmacht Secretary
  • Sebastiaan Ham

    as Wehrmacht Soldier - Brandt Unit
  • Sjoerd Schaap

    as Wehrmacht Soldier - Brandt Unit
  • Daan Aufenacker

    as Officer (uncredited)
  • Tom Magnus

    as Lieutenant Commander (uncredited)
  • Jan Smekens

    as SS Guard (uncredited)
Production Jens Meurer Executive Producer
Sound Ilan Eshkeri Original Music Composer
Camera Roman Osin Director of Photography
Art Hubert Pouille Production Design
Production Christopher Landry Associate Producer
Production Bill Haber Executive Producer
Production Judy Tossell Producer
Production Adrian Politowski Co-Producer
Production Lou Pitt Producer
Editing Nicolas Gaster Editor
Production James Gibb Executive Producer
Production Daniel Toland Co-Producer
Production Claudia Bluemhuber Executive Producer
Production Jona Wirbeleit Associate Producer
Art Lieven Baes Set Decoration
Production Christian Angermayer Executive Producer
Directing David Leveaux Director
Costume & Make-Up Daniela Ciancio Costume Design
Production Klemens Hallmann Executive Producer
Production Bastien Sirodot Associate Producer
Directing Els Rastelli Script Supervisor
Writing Simon Burke Screenplay
Art Ilse Willocx Set Decoration
Writing Alan Judd Novel
Production Ian Hutchinson Executive Producer
Production Phil Geier Executive Producer
Production Stéphane Lhoest Line Producer
Production Julia Horan Casting
Crew Nicolas Bassetto Post Production Supervisor
Production Nadine Borreman Unit Production Manager
Production Finnian Tweed Casting Assistant
Production Wim De Waegenaere Location Manager
Production David Ragonig Production Coordinator
Production Elizabeth Small Production Coordinator