The Empire Strikes Back

The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

The Adventure Continues...

star 8.4/10
From 11,552 Ratings


The epic saga continues as Luke Skywalker, in hopes of defeating the evil Galactic Empire, learns the ways of the Jedi from aging master Yoda. But Darth Vader is more determined than ever to capture Luke. Meanwhile, rebel leader Princess Leia, cocky Han Solo, Chewbacca, and droids C-3PO and R2-D2 are thrown into various stages of capture, betrayal and despair.

The Empire Strikes Back Trailer

The Empire Strikes Back Photos

  • Mark Hamill

    as Luke Skywalker
  • Harrison Ford

    as Han Solo
  • Carrie Fisher

    as Princess Leia
  • Billy Dee Williams

    as Lando Calrissian
  • Anthony Daniels

    as C-3PO
  • David Prowse

    as Darth Vader
  • James Earl Jones

    as Darth Vader (voice)
  • Peter Mayhew

    as Chewbacca
  • Kenny Baker

    as R2-D2
  • Frank Oz

    as Yoda (Voice)
  • Alec Guinness

    as Obi-Wan Kenobi
  • Jeremy Bulloch

    as Boba Fett
  • Jason Wingreen

    as Boba Fett (voice - uncredited)
  • John Hollis

    as Lando's Aide
  • Jack Purvis

    as Chief Ugnaught
  • Des Webb

    as Snow Creature
  • Kathryn Mullen

    as Performing Assistant for Yoda
  • Marjorie Eaton

    as Emperor (uncredited)
  • Clive Revill

    as Emperor (voice)
  • Kenneth Colley

    as Admiral Piett
  • Julian Glover

    as General Veers
  • Michael Sheard

    as Admiral Ozzel
  • Michael Culver

    as Captain Needa
  • John Dicks

    as Captain Lennox
  • Milton Johns

    as Bewil
  • Mark Jones

    as Commander Nemet
  • Oliver Maguire

    as Cabbel
  • Robin Scobey

    as Lieutenant Venka
  • Bruce Boa

    as General Carlist Rieekan
  • Christopher Malcolm

    as Zev Senesca
  • Denis Lawson

    as Wedge Antilles
  • Richard Oldfield

    as Derek "Hobbie" Klivian
  • John Morton

    as Dak Ralter
  • Ian Liston

    as Wes Janson
  • John Ratzenberger

    as Major Derlin
  • Jack McKenzie

    as Cal Alder
  • Jerry Harte

    as Rebel Force Head Controller
  • Norman Chancer

    as Tamizander Rey
  • Norwich Duff

    as Jeroen Webb
  • Ray Hassett

    as Tigran Jamiro
  • Brigitte Kahn

    as Toryn Farr
  • Burnell Tucker

    as Wyron Serper
  • Wendy Froud

  • Bob Anderson

    as Imperial Officer (uncredited)
  • Lightning Bear

    as Stormtrooper (uncredited)
  • Richard Bonehill

    as Stormtrooper / Snowtrooper / Rebel Soldier / ... (uncredited)
  • John Cannon

    as Holographic Imperial Officer (uncredited)
  • Mark Capri

    as Officer M'kae (Captain Needa's Communications Officer) (uncredited)
  • Martin Dew

    as Cloud City Guard (uncredited)
  • Peter Diamond

    as Snowtrooper Gunner (uncredited)
  • Stuart Fell

    as Snowtrooper (uncredited)
  • Doug Robinson

    as Snowtrooper (uncredited)
  • Tony Smart

    as Snowtrooper (uncredited)
  • Alan Harris

    as Bossk / Bespin Security Guard (uncredited)
  • Tiffany L. Kurtz

    as Extra (uncredited)
  • Mac McDonald

    as Rebel Pilot (uncredited)
  • Ralph McQuarrie

    as General McQuarrie (uncredited)
  • Ralph Morse

    as Stormtrooper / Imperial Comms Officer / Rebel Soldier (uncredited)
  • Terry Richards

    as Wampa (uncredited)
  • Michael Santiago

    as (voice, uncredited)
  • Treat Williams

    as Echo Base Trooper (uncredited)
  • Shaun Curry

    as Hoth Rebel Commander (uncredited)
  • Alan Austen

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Jim Dowdall

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Ian Durrant

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Tom Egeland

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Alan Flyng

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Chris Parsons

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Trevor Butterfield

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Christopher Bunn

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Quentin Pierre

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Keith Swaden

    as Stormtrooper/Snowtrooper
  • Howie Weed

    as Wampa
  • Morris Bush

    as Dengar
  • Ian McDiarmid

    as The Emperor
  • Stephen Buchanan

    as Holographic Officer (uncredited)
  • Mercedes Burleigh

    as Female Hoth Control Room Tech (uncredited)
  • Jane Busby

    as Ugnaught (uncredited)
  • Maurice Bush

    as Dengar (uncredited)
  • Tony Clarkin

    as Storm Trooper (uncredited)
  • Mike Edmonds

    as Ugnaught (uncredited)
  • Stephanie English

    as Hoth Rebel Technician (uncredited)
  • Tom Flood

    as Imperial Officer (uncredited)
  • Walter Henry

    as Rebel Technician on Hoth (uncredited)
  • Paul Jerricho

    as AT-AT Driver (uncredited)
  • Joe Johnston

    as Captain Shawn Valdez - Hoth Rebel (uncredited)
  • Paul Klein

    as IG-88 (Bounty Hunter Droid) (uncredited)
  • Steven Meek

    as Stormtrooper / Chewbacca / Treva Horme / Solomahal (uncredited)
  • Cathy Munroe

    as Zuckuss / Wiokettle (uncredited)
  • Peter Roy

    as Snowtrooper (uncredited)
  • David Stone

    as X-Wing Pilot (uncredited)
Editing George Lucas Editor
Production George Lucas Executive Producer
Writing George Lucas Story
Production Gary Kurtz Producer
Directing Gary Kurtz Assistant Director
Production Rick McCallum Producer
Sound John Williams Original Music Composer
Production Terry Liebling Casting
Camera Peter Suschitzky Director of Photography
Production Irene Lamb Casting
Production Howard G. Kazanjian Producer
Art Norman Reynolds Production Design
Sound Ben Burtt Sound Designer
Production Robert Watts Associate Producer
Editing Marcia Lucas Editor
Directing John Barry Second Unit Director
Writing Leigh Brackett Screenplay
Art Leslie Dilley Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up John Mollo Costume Design
Writing Lawrence Kasdan Screenplay
Visual Effects Phil Tippett Animation
Crew Phil Tippett Makeup Effects
Production Patricia Carr Production Manager
Art Michael Ford Set Decoration
Production Philip Kohler Location Manager
Crew Brian Johnson Special Effects
Costume & Make-Up Stuart Freeborn Makeup Artist
Art Alan Tomkins Art Direction
Editing Paul Hirsch Editor
Directing Peter MacDonald Second Unit Director
Directing Irvin Kershner Director
Visual Effects Richard Edlund Visual Effects
Directing Harley Cokeliss Second Unit Director
Costume & Make-Up Tiny Nicholls Costume Supervisor
Crew Peter Diamond Stunt Coordinator
Production Bruce Sharman Production Supervisor
Sound Bonnie Koehler Sound Editor
Crew Tony Smart Stunts
Directing Roy Button Second Assistant Director
Production Svend Johansen Production Manager
Directing Ola Solum Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Nick Maley Makeup Artist
Crew Bob Anderson Stunts
Directing John Barry Second Unit Director
Production Jim Bloom Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Barbara Ritchie Hairdresser
Directing Pamela Mann Continuity
Art Harry Lange Art Direction
Crew Stuart Fell Stunts
Directing David Tomblin First Assistant Director
Crew Terry Richards Stunts
Crew Lightning Bear Stunts
Directing Paul Tivers Third Assistant Director
Sound Herbert W. Spencer Orchestrator
Sound Gregg Landaker Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Camera Paul Huston Camera Operator
Camera George Whitear Still Photographer
Production Bob Edmiston Casting
Crew Doug Robinson Stunts
Visual Effects Ralph McQuarrie Visual Effects
Crew Terry Pritchard Driver
Directing Steve Lanning Second Assistant Director
Lighting Laurie Shane Gaffer
Crew David H. Watkins Special Effects
Directing Kay Rawlings Continuity
Costume & Make-Up Eileen Sullivan Wardrobe Supervisor
Directing Andrew Montgomery Second Assistant Director
Directing Dominic Fulford Assistant Director
Directing Bill Westley Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Graham Freeborn Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Kay Freeborn Makeup Artist
Sound Richard Burrow Sound Editor
Art Frank Bruton Property Master
Directing John Scarlett-Davies Third Assistant Director
Directing Derek Harrington Third Assistant Director
Art Reg Bream Draughtsman
Directing Gary White First Assistant Director