The Cotton Club

The Cotton Club (1984)

It was the jazz age. It was an era of elegance and violence. The action was gambling. The stakes were life and death.

star 6.7/10
From 173 Ratings


The story of the people that frequented Harlem's famous nightclubs, 'The Cotton Club', and those that ran it.

The Cotton Club Trailer

The Cotton Club Photos

  • Richard Gere

    as Dixie Dwyer
  • Gregory Hines

    as Sandman Williams
  • Diane Lane

    as Vera Cicero
  • Lonette McKee

    as Lila Rose Oliver
  • Bob Hoskins

    as Owney Madden
  • James Remar

    as Dutch Schulz
  • Nicolas Cage

    as Vincent Dwyer
  • Allen Garfield

    as Abbadabba Berman
  • Fred Gwynne

    as Frenchy Demange
  • Gwen Verdon

    as Tish Dwyer
  • Lisa Jane Persky

    as Frances Flegenheimer
  • Maurice Hines

    as Clay Williams
  • Julian Beck

    as Sol Weinstein
  • Novella Nelson

    as Madame St. Clair
  • Laurence Fishburne

    as Bumpy Rhodes
  • John P. Ryan

    as Joe Flynn
  • Tom Waits

    as Irving Stark
  • Ron Karabatsos

    as Mike Best
  • Glenn Withrow

    as Ed Popke
  • Jennifer Grey

    as Patsy Dwyer
  • Wynonna Smith

    as Winnie Williams
  • Thelma Carpenter

    as Norma Williams
  • Charles 'Honi' Coles

    as Suger Coates
  • Larry Marshall

    as Cab Calloway
  • Joe Dallesandro

    as Charles 'Lucky' Luciano
  • Diane Venora

    as Gloria Swanson
  • Tucker Smallwood

    as Kid Griffin
  • Giancarlo Esposito

    as Bumpy Hood
  • Marc Coppola

    as Ted Husing
  • Robert Earl Jones

    as Stage Door Joe
  • Sofia Coppola

    as Child in Street
  • Tracey Ross

    as Dancer
  • Mario Van Peebles

    as Dancer
  • Ed O'Ross

    as Monk
  • Frederick Downs Jr.

    as Sullen Man
  • Woody Strode

    as Holmes
  • Bill Graham

    as J.W.
  • Dayton Allen

    as Solly
  • Kim Chan

    as Ling
  • Ed Rowan

    as Messiah
  • Leonard Termo

    as Danny
  • Brian Tarantina

  • Bruce MacVittie

  • James Russo

  • Giancarlo Esposito

  • Rony Clanton

    as Caspar Holstein
  • Damien Leake

    as Bub Jewett
  • Bill Cobbs

    as Big Joe Ison
  • Joe Lynn

    as Marcial Flores
  • Oscar Barnes

    as Spanish Henry
  • Ed Zang

    as Hotel Clerk
  • Sandra Beall

    as Myrtle Fay
  • Zane Mark

    as Duke Ellington
  • Paul Herman

  • Randle Mell

  • Gregory Rozakis

    as Charlie Chaplin
  • Vincent Jerman-Jerosa

    as James Cagney
  • Rosalind Harris

  • Jackée Harry

  • Sonya Hensley

  • Valarie Pettiford

  • Kimberly Dorsey

  • Anton Evangelista

  • Nicholas J. Giangiulio

  • Suzanne Kaaren

  • Robin Karfo

  • Mark Margolis

  • Naylon Mitchell

  • Ray Negron

  • Kirk Taylor

  • Rick Washburn

Writing Francis Ford Coppola Screenplay
Directing Francis Ford Coppola Director
Writing Francis Ford Coppola Story
Sound John Barry Original Music Composer
Editing Barry Malkin Editor
Writing Mario Puzo Story
Sound Nathan Boxer Boom Operator
Art David Chapman Art Direction
Art Leslie Bloom Set Decoration
Art Richard Sylbert Production Design
Camera Stephen Goldblatt Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Milena Canonero Costume Design
Production Gretchen Rennell Casting
Production Robert Evans Producer
Art Gregory Bolton Art Direction
Art George Gaines Set Decoration
Editing Robert Q. Lovett Editor
Writing William Kennedy Screenplay
Writing William Kennedy Story
Writing Jim Haskins Writer
Production Lois Planco Casting
Sound Norman Hollyn Music Editor
Crew Victor Magnotta Stunt Coordinator
Crew Kerry Orent Post Production Supervisor
Camera Michael Stone Camera Operator
Directing Louis D'Esposito Second Assistant Director
Camera Donald Sweeney Second Unit Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Craig Lyman Key Makeup Artist
Production David Golden Unit Production Manager
Directing Henry J. Bronchtein Second Assistant Director
Directing Robert V. Girolami First Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Lyndell Quiyou Key Hair Stylist
Camera David Wagreich First Assistant Camera
Directing Lynn Lewis Lovett Continuity
Production Christopher Cronyn Unit Production Manager
Camera Adger W. Cowans Still Photographer
Sound Jack C. Jacobsen Sound Mixer
Art Jimmy Raitt Property Master
Crew Edward Swanson Carpenter
Production Margaret B. Hunnewell Unit Production Manager