The Commitments

The Commitments (1991)

They had nothing to lose, they risked it all.

star 7.3/10
From 260 Ratings


Jimmy Rabbitte, just a tick out of school, gets a brilliant idea: to put a soul band together in Barrytown, his slum home in north Dublin. First he needs musicians and singers: things slowly start to click when he finds three fine-voiced females virtually in his back yard, a lead singer (Deco) at a wedding, and, responding to his ad, an aging trumpet player, Joey "The Lips" Fagan.

The Commitments Trailer

The Commitments Photos

  • Robert Arkins

    as Jimmy Rabbitte
  • Michael Aherne

    as Steven Clifford
  • Angeline Ball

    as Imelda Quirke
  • Maria Doyle Kennedy

    as Natalie Murphy
  • Dave Finnegan

    as Mickah Wallace
  • Bronagh Gallagher

    as Bernie McGloughlin
  • Glen Hansard

    as Outspan Foster
  • Félim Gormley

    as Dean Fay
  • Johnny Murphy

    as Joey 'The Lips' Fagan
  • Dick Massey

    as Billy Mooney
  • Andrew Strong

    as Deco Cuffe
  • Ken McCluskey

    as Derek Scully
  • Colm Meaney

    as Jimmy Rabbitte, Sr.
  • Anne Kent

    as Mrs. Rabbitte
  • Andrea Corr

    as Sharon Rabbitte
  • Gerard Cassoni

    as Darren Rabbitte
  • Ruth Fairclough

    as Rabbitte Twin
  • Lindsay Fairclough

    as Rabbitte Twin
  • Ger Ryan

    as Pawnbroker
  • Liam Carney

    as Duffy
  • Michael O'Reilly

    as Greg
  • Mark O'Regan

    as Father Molloy
  • Phelim Drew

    as Roddy the Reporter
  • Sean Hughes

    as Dave from Eeijit Records
  • Philip Bredin

    as Ray
  • Aoife Lawless

    as Imelda's Sister
  • Lance Daly

    as Kid with Harmonica
  • Conor Malone

    as Protest Song Singer
  • Jezz Bell

    as Heavy Metal Singer
  • Colm MacConiomare

    as Fiddler
  • Emily Dawson

    as Punk Girl Singer
  • Dave Kane

    as Coconuts Trio
  • Kristel Harris

    as Coconuts Trio
  • Maria Place

    as Coconuts Trio
  • Brian MacAodha

    as Uileann Pipe Player
  • Tricia Smith

    as Les Miserables Singer
  • Canice William

    as Smiths' Song Singer
  • Patrick Foy

    as Cajun Trio
  • Jody Campbell

    as Cajun Trio
  • Allan Murray

    as Cajun Trio
  • Eanna MacLiam

    as Failed Drug Buyer
  • Philomena Kavanagh

    as Rabbittes Neighbour
  • Peter Rowen

    as Shy Skateboard Auditioner
  • Eamonn O'Conner

    as Only De Lonely Singer
  • Maura O'Malley

    as Joey's Mother
  • Blaise Smith

    as Pool Hall Manager
  • Derek Herbert

    as Duffy's Sidekick
  • Owen O'Gorman

    as Duffy's Sidekick
  • Pat Leavy

    as Unemployment Official
  • John Cronin

    as Kid with Horse
  • Rynagh O'Grady

    as Bernie's Mother
  • Sheila Flitton

    as Church Cleaner
  • Michael Bolger

    as Community Centre Kid
  • Mick Nolan

    as Imelda's Father
  • Eileen Reid

    as Imelda's Mother
  • Bob Navan

    as Regency Pub Barman
  • Derek Duggan

    as Photographer
  • Paddy O'Connor

    as Rock Salmon Man
  • Jim Corr

    as Avant-Garde-A-Clue Band
  • Larry Hogan

    as Avant-Garde-A-Clue Band
  • Bernard Keelan

    as Avant-Garde-A-Clue Band
  • Ronan Hardiman

    as Dancehall Manager
  • Mikel Murfi

    as Music Journalist
  • Josylen Lyons

    as Deco's Fan
  • Winston Dennis

    as Man in Limo
  • Alan Parker

    as Eejit Record Producer
  • Paul Bushnell

    as Avant-Garde-A-Clue Band / Eejit Engineer
  • Sharon Corr

    as Fiddle Player (uncredited)
  • Caroline Corr

    as (uncredited)
Art Brian Morris Production Design
Production Tom Rosenberg Executive Producer
Production John Hubbard Casting
Costume & Make-Up Penny Rose Costume Design
Production Ros Hubbard Casting
Editing Gerry Hambling Editor
Directing Alan Parker Director
Camera David Appleby Still Photographer
Production Marc Abraham Co-Producer
Writing Dick Clement Screenplay
Production Dick Clement Co-Producer
Art Arden Gantly Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Peter Frampton Makeup Supervisor
Writing Ian La Frenais Screenplay
Production Ian La Frenais Co-Producer
Production Armyan Bernstein Executive Producer
Camera Gale Tattersall Director of Photography
Art Mark Geraghty Art Direction
Production Lynda Myles Producer
Production David Wimbury Line Producer
Writing Roddy Doyle Screenplay
Writing Roddy Doyle Novel
Production Roger Randall-Cutler Producer
Sound Wilson Pickett Original Music Composer
Art Karen Brookes Set Decoration
Production Souter Harris Executive Producer