The Butterfly Effect

The Butterfly Effect (2004)

Such minor changes, such huge consequences.

star 7.5
From 5,009 Ratings
7.6 30 33%


A young man struggles to access sublimated childhood memories. He finds a technique that allows him to travel back into the past, to occupy his childhood body and change history. However, he soon finds that every change he makes has unexpected consequences.

The Butterfly Effect Trailer

Watch The Butterfly Effect Online

You can now watch The Butterfly Effect online on the following streaming providers in the United States.

  • The Butterfly Effect Photos

    Production Chris Bender Producer
    Camera Matthew F. Leonetti Director of Photography
    Production Heike Brandstatter Casting
    Production Coreen Mayrs Casting
    Sound John Ross Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Sound Robert Deschaine ADR Mixer
    Sound Tami Treadwell ADR Recordist
    Editing Peter Amundson Editor
    Sound Christopher Assells Sound Effects Editor
    Art Douglas Higgins Production Design
    Sound Lon Bender Sound Designer
    Sound Lon Bender Sound Supervisor
    Production Cale Boyter Executive Producer
    Writing Eric Bress Screenplay
    Directing Eric Bress Director
    Writing J. Mackye Gruber Screenplay
    Directing J. Mackye Gruber Director
    Production Ashton Kutcher Executive Producer
    Production A.J. Dix Producer
    Production J.C. Spink Producer
    Production Anthony Rhulen Producer
    Sound Michael Suby Original Music Composer
    Editing Kirk Moses Editor
    Production Toby Emmerich Executive Producer
    Costume & Make-Up Carla Hetland Costume Design
    Art Jeremy Stanbridge Art Direction
    Production Carmen Cuba Casting
    Crew James Bamford Stunt Coordinator
    Crew Corbin Fox Special Effects Coordinator
    Production Richard Brener Executive Producer
    Production Caitlin McKenna-Wilkinson ADR Voice Casting
    Art Gillian Goodman Assistant Property Master
    Camera Vance Burberry Additional Photography
    Production Jason Goldberg Executive Producer
    Crew Garette Ratliff Henson Post Production Assistant
    Production Lisa Richardson Co-Producer
    Production William Shively Executive Producer
    Costume & Make-Up Stan Edmonds Key Makeup Artist
    Camera Shane Harvey Still Photographer
    Production Brendan Ferguson Production Manager
    Production Johnny Fountain Associate Producer
    Production David Krintzman Executive Producer
    Crew Rod Patten Transportation Coordinator
    Lighting Peter G. Capadouca Gaffer
    Camera Steven A. Adelson Camera Operator
    Costume & Make-Up Susan O'Hara Costume Set Supervisor
    Art Shannon Grover Art Direction
    Art Sam Higgins Set Decoration
    Art Graham Coutts Property Master
    Art Tonya Soules Set Decoration Buyer
    Art Peter Grace Construction Coordinator
    Sound Karen Vassar Triest Sound Effects Editor
    Visual Effects Lorraine Rozon Visual Effects Producer
    Visual Effects Christopher Elke Visual Effects Producer
    Visual Effects Ralph Maiers Visual Effects Supervisor
    Visual Effects Chad Malbon Visual Effects Coordinator
    Camera Trig Singer Camera Operator
    Camera John Clothier Camera Operator
    Directing Susan Lambie Script Supervisor
    Production Sandra-Ken Freeman Extras Casting
    Art John Beatty Construction Foreman
    Costume & Make-Up Stacey Butterworth Wigmaker
    Sound Mathew Waters Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Sound Brian Richards Music Editor
    Art Andrei Andrianko Art Department Assistant
    Sound Zack Davis ADR Supervisor
    Costume & Make-Up Angelina P. Cameron Key Hair Stylist
    Crew Toby Lindala Makeup Effects
    Art Kerri Elliott Art Department Coordinator
    Crew Dena Skalin Scenic Artist
    Art Garth Elliott Greensman
    Sound Geoffrey G. Rubay Sound Designer
    Sound Geoffrey G. Rubay Sound Supervisor
    Sound Peter Zinda Sound Designer
    Sound Trevor Ward Dolby Consultant
    Visual Effects Sherri Potter Visual Effects Producer
    Camera Glenn Parker Still Photographer
    Editing Amy Tompkins Digital Intermediate Editor
    Directing Betty Bennett Script Supervisor
    Production Louisa Gradnitzer Location Manager
    Crew Gloria Davies Unit Publicist
    Costume & Make-Up Cali Newcomen Costumer
    Costume & Make-Up Tess Brummitt Truck Costumer
    Sound Kevin J. Edelman Music Supervisor
    Sound John Bires Sound Engineer
    Camera Taylor Matheson First Assistant Camera
    Crew Lee Tucker Technical Supervisor
    Sound Carey Milbradt Foley Mixer
    Sound Michael Farrow Scoring Mixer
    Sound Andrew Gowan Music Coordinator
    Production Eva Morgan Production Coordinator
    Editing Steven J. Scott Digital Color Timer
    Crew Laura Lee Connery Stunts
    Art Alan Bartolic Location Scout
    Art Dan Petrescu Painter
    Camera Michael McLellan Key Grip
    Costume & Make-Up Rena Campbell Assistant Costume Designer
    Costume & Make-Up Jeannie Chow Hairstylist
    Art Barry W. Brolly Set Dresser
    Crew Nils Blomberg Carpenter
    Crew Erik Lydestad Chef
    Crew Dave Ash Driver
    Crew Claire O'Brien Post Production Supervisor
    Crew Carl Gruell Production Office Assistant
    Crew Tracey Motherwell Security
    Crew Tammy Baer Stand In
    Crew Jill Allanson Telecine Colorist
    Crew Steve Ellis Transportation Captain
    Production J. Daniel Dusek Unit Production Manager
    Lighting Paul Bougie Best Boy Electric
    Lighting Murray Chysyk Electrician
    Lighting Tim Vedan Rigging Gaffer
    Lighting Jim Barber Key Rigging Grip
    Production Doreen Ferreira Casting Associate
    Production Richard Stirling Executive In Charge Of Production
    Production Beverly Wiens Production Accountant
    Sound Robert Hanchar Boom Operator
    Sound Daryl Powell Sound Mixer
    Visual Effects Kathryn Bolt Digital Compositors
    Visual Effects Tom Bristow I/O Supervisor
    Crew Christopher Edwards Manager of Operations
    Crew Nick Allen Stunt Double
    Editing Joseph Carson Assistant Editor
    Directing Peter D. Marshall First Assistant Director
    Sound John Cannon Assistant Sound Editor
    Camera John L. Brown Dolly Grip
    Camera Dean Reca Grip
    Crew Amanda Moses In Memory Of
    Directing Cindy Smith Second Assistant Director
    Directing Lori K. Peterson Third Assistant Director
    Production Yale Kussin Assistant Production Coordinator
    Sound Daniel Brown Musician
    Crew Murray Campbell Special Effects Best Boy
    Production Ken Brooker Assistant Location Manager
    Sound Daryl Lathrop ADR Recordist
    Sound Claudia Carle ADR Recordist
    Sound Weldon Brown ADR Mixer
    Production Mike Doiron Production Assistant
    Crew Darren Robertson Playback Coordinator
    Editing Terra Bliss Digital Intermediate Producer
    Costume & Make-Up Tone Rorvik Assistant Makeup Artist
    Art Dean Rossmo Construction Buyer
    Art Robert Pratt Storyboard Artist
    Sound Jannene Elam Sound Assistant
    Camera Diane Broussalian Additional Second Assistant Camera
    Camera Stanka Banasova Camera Trainee
    Camera Paul Brebner Second Assistant Camera
    Editing Adrian Colbert Digital Colorist
    Production Leon Thomas Braun Location Production Assistant
    Sound Charles Fernandez Conductor
    Production Carol Urquhart Assistant Accountant
    Crew Cathryn Eilertson Assistant Chef
    Crew Kelly Alfaro Catering
    Crew Rod Feldmeier Generator Operator
    Lighting Wilf Guttmann Rigging Grip