The Age of Innocence

The Age of Innocence (1993)

In a world of tradition. In an age of innocence. They dared to break the rules.

  • Genre: Drama, Romance
  • Release Date: 1993-09-17
  • User Rating: 7/10 from 428 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 19min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Columbia Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 7/10
From 428 Ratings


Tale of 19th century New York high society in which a young lawyer falls in love with a woman separated from her husband, while he is engaged to the woman's cousin.

The Age of Innocence Trailer

The Age of Innocence Photos

  • Daniel Day-Lewis

    as Newland Archer
  • Michelle Pfeiffer

    as Ellen Olenska
  • Winona Ryder

    as May Welland
  • Alexis Smith

    as Louisa van der Luyden
  • Geraldine Chaplin

    as Mrs. Welland
  • Jonathan Pryce

    as Rivière
  • Linda Faye Farkas

    as Female Opera Singer
  • Michael Rees Davis

    as Male Opera Singer
  • Terry Cook

    as Male Opera Singer
  • Jon Garrison

    as Male Opera Singer
  • Richard E. Grant

    as Lawrence "Larry" Lefferts
  • Alec McCowen

    as Sillerton Jackson
  • Mary Beth Hurt

    as Regina Beaufort
  • Stuart Wilson

    as Julius Beaufort
  • Howard Erskine

    as Beaufort Guest
  • John McLoughlin

    as Party Guest
  • Christopher Nilsson

    as Party Guest
  • Miriam Margolyes

    as Mrs. Catherine Mingott
  • Siân Phillips

    as Mrs. Archer
  • Carolyn Farina

    as Janey Archer
  • Michael Gough

    as Henry van der Luyden
  • Joanne Woodward

    as Narrator (voice)
  • Robert Sean Leonard

    as Theodore "Ted" Archer
  • June Squibb

    as Mingott Maid
  • Thomas Gibson

    as Stage Actor
  • Tracey Ellis

    as Gertrude Lefferts
  • Norman Lloyd

    as Letterblair
  • Martin Scorsese

    as Photographer
Writing Martin Scorsese Screenplay
Directing Martin Scorsese Director
Costume & Make-Up Gabriella Pescucci Costume Design
Art Dante Ferretti Production Design
Editing Thelma Schoonmaker Editor
Camera Michael Ballhaus Director of Photography
Writing Jay Cocks Screenplay
Production Barbara De Fina Producer
Sound Elmer Bernstein Original Music Composer
Sound Skip Lievsay Supervising Sound Editor
Writing Edith Wharton Novel