Spotlight (2015)

Break the story. Break the silence.

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller, History
  • Release Date: 2015-11-06
  • User Rating: 7.8/10 from 5141 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 9min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: Canada, United States of America
  • Director:
star 7.8/10
From 5,141 Ratings


In 2001, editor Marty Baron of The Boston Globe assigns a team of journalists to investigate allegations against John Geoghan, an unfrocked priest accused of molesting more than 80 boys. Led by editor Walter "Robby" Robinson, reporters Michael Rezendes, Matt Carroll and Sacha Pfeiffer interview victims and try to unseal sensitive documents. The reporters make it their mission to provide proof of a cover-up of sexual abuse within the Roman Catholic Church.

Spotlight Trailer

Spotlight Photos

  • Mark Ruffalo

    as Michael Rezendes
  • Michael Keaton

    as Walter "Robby" Robinson
  • Rachel McAdams

    as Sacha Pfeiffer
  • Liev Schreiber

    as Marty Baron
  • John Slattery

    as Ben Bradlee Jr.
  • Stanley Tucci

    as Mitchell Garabedian
  • Brian d'Arcy James

    as Matt Carroll
  • Gene Amoroso

    as Steve Kurkjian
  • Billy Crudup

    as Eric Macleish
  • Maureen Keiller

    as Eileen McNamara
  • Paul Guilfoyle

    as Peter Conley
  • Len Cariou

    as Cardinal Law
  • Neal Huff

    as Phil Saviano
  • Michael Cyril Creighton

    as Joe Crowley
  • Laurie Heineman

    as Judge Sweeney
  • Tim Progosh

    as Principal Bill Kemeza
  • Elena Wohl

    as Barbara
  • Doug Murray

    as Peter Canellos
  • Sharon McFarlane

    as Helen Donovan
  • Jamey Sheridan

    as Jim Sullivan
  • Robert B. Kennedy

    as Court Clerk Mark
  • Duane Murray

    as Hansi Kalkofen
  • Brian Chamberlain

    as Paul Burke
  • Michael Countryman

    as Richard Gilman
  • Tim Whalen

    as Young Cop
  • Brad Borbridge

    as Sports Editor
  • Don Allison

    as Bishop
  • Patty Ross

    as Linda
  • Paloma Nuñez

    as Garabedian's Receptionist
  • Robert Clarke

    as Judge Volterra
  • Gary Galone

    as Jack Dunn
  • David Fraser

    as Jon Albano
  • Paulette Sinclair

    as Receptionist at Judge's Chambers
  • Elena Juatco

    as Guest List Woman
  • Nancy Villone

    as Maryetta Dussourd
  • Wendy Merry

    as Female Editor
  • Siobhan Murphy

    as Intern
  • Eileen Padua

    as Sacha's Grandmother
  • Darrin Baker

    as Middle Age Priest at St. Peter's
  • Joe Stapleton

    as Older Cop
  • Jimmy LeBlanc

    as Patrick McSorley
  • Neion George

    as Waiter at Gala
  • Laurie Murdoch

    as Wilson Rogers
  • Zarrin Darnell-Martin

    as Intern Wanda
  • Krista Morin

    as Young Reporter
  • Paula Barrett

    as Jim's Wife
  • Mairtin O'Carrigan

    as Stewart
  • Rob de Leeuw

    as Herald Reporter Quimby
  • Nancy E. Carroll

    as Jane Paquin
  • Anthony Paolucci

    as Kevin
  • Michele Proude

    as Lisa Tuite
  • Richard O'Rourke

    as Ronald Paquin
  • Dennis Lynch

    as Clerk O'Brian
  • Stefanie Drummond

    as Sheila
  • Mark McGrinder

    as Weeping Man
  • Richard Fitzpatrick

    as Rectory Priest
  • Tom Driscoll

    as Disgruntled Man
  • Jeffrey Samai

    as Library Security
  • Moira Driscoll

    as Woman Interviewee
  • Forrest Weber

    as Angry Man
  • Doreen Spencer

    as Older Southie Woman
  • Janet Pinnick

    as Receptionist
  • Shannon McDonough

    as Receptionist
  • Shannon Ruth

    as Girl at Garabedian's
  • Daniel Ruth

    as Boy at Garabedian's
  • Jennifer Ruth

    as Mother at Garabedian's
  • Timothy Mooney

    as Bad Priest
  • Bruce-Robert Serafin

    as Boston Globe Security Guard
  • Donna Sue Jahier

    as Angry Man's Sister
  • Edward Brickley

    as Red Sox Announcer
  • Brett Cramp

    as Middle Aged Man
  • Richard Jenkins

    as Richard Sipe (voice) (uncredited)
  • John Franchi

    as Pedestrian (uncredited)
  • Martin Roach

    as Cop in Coffee Shop
Costume & Make-Up Robyn Rosenberg Costume Supervisor
Directing Tom McCarthy Director
Writing Tom McCarthy Writer
Camera Masanobu Takayanagi Director of Photography
Writing Josh Singer Writer
Editing Tom McArdle Editor
Sound Howard Shore Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Wendy Chuck Costume Design
Art Stephen H. Carter Production Design
Production Jeff Skoll Executive Producer
Production Jonathan King Executive Producer
Production Pierre Omidyar Executive Producer
Production Michael Bederman Executive Producer
Production Bard Dorros Executive Producer
Production Josh Singer Executive Producer
Production Tom Ortenberg Executive Producer
Production Peter Lawson Executive Producer
Production Xavier Marchand Executive Producer
Production Michael Sugar Producer
Production Steve Golin Producer
Production Nicole Rocklin Producer
Production Blye Pagon Faust Producer
Production Kate Churchill Co-Producer
Production Youtchi von Lintel Co-Producer
Production David Mizner Associate Producer
Production Kerry Barden Casting
Production John Buchan Casting
Production Jason Knight Casting
Production Paul Schnee Casting
Production Matt Bouldry Casting Associate
Production Joey Montenarello Casting Associate
Production Adam Richards Casting Associate
Production Maura Smith Casting Associate
Costume & Make-Up Renee Fontana Assistant Costume Designer
Costume & Make-Up Kathleen Meade Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Virginia Johnson Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Taryn Walsh Set Costumer
Directing Dug Rotstein Script Supervisor
Directing Jenna Dayton Script Supervisor
Camera Henry Tirl Camera Operator
Camera Greg Wimer First Assistant Camera
Camera Patrick Stepien First Assistant Camera
Camera Joseph Micomonaco First Assistant Camera
Camera Gilles Corbeil Steadicam Operator
Camera Kerry Hayes Still Photographer
Camera Seacia Pavao Still Photographer
Lighting Morris Flam Gaffer
Lighting Tom Starnes Gaffer
Lighting Jason Dodds Rigging Gaffer
Lighting James R. Mitchell Rigging Gaffer
Lighting Daryl Richardson Rigging Grip
Crew Ahmed Shehata CG Supervisor
Crew Brandon Terry Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects Kayla Cabral Visual Effects Coordinator
Crew Mike Barber Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects Neishaw Ali Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Christa Tazzeo Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Colin Davies Visual Effects Supervisor
Sound Chad Birmingham Music Editor
Sound Jennifer Dunnington Music Editor
Sound Mary Ramos Music Supervisor
Sound Marko A. Costanzo Foley
Sound Frank Kern Foley
Sound Paul Hsu Sound Designer
Art Dusty Reeves Art Department Coordinator
Art Michaela Cheyne Art Direction
Art Vanessa Knoll Set Decoration
Art Shane Vieau Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Karola Dirnberger Hair Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Kelly Shanks Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Cathy Shibley Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Brenda McNally Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Jordan Samuel Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Niki Pleau Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Patricia Keighran Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Mario Cacioppo Makeup Artist
Editing Philippe Majdalani Digital Intermediate
Directing Walter Gasparovic First Assistant Director
Art William Cheng Set Designer
Art Christopher Geggie Property Master
Art John MacNeil Set Designer
Art Karl Denniston Brown Set Dresser
Art Nathan Alexander Kirk Set Dresser
Art Don McQueen Set Dresser
Art Jeff Poulis Set Dresser
Art Toni Wong Set Dresser
Sound Heather Gross Sound Effects Editor
Sound Marissa Littlefield ADR Editor
Visual Effects Mike Duffy Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Edward Hanrahan Visual Effects Coordinator
Crew Bobby Beckles Stunt Coordinator
Crew Jeffrey Lee Gibson Stunt Coordinator
Crew Branko Racki Stunt Coordinator
Production Elspeth Cassar Production Coordinator
Crew Stephen Gabis Dialect Coach
Crew Jessica Drake Dialect Coach
Editing Andrew Pang First Assistant Editor
Sound Branka Mrkic Dialogue Editor