Rebecca (1940)

The shadow of this woman darkened their love.

star 7.9/10
From 844 Ratings


Story of a young woman who marries a fascinating widower only to find out that she must live in the shadow of his former wife, Rebecca, who died mysteriously several years earlier. The young wife must come to grips with the terrible secret of her handsome, cold husband, Max De Winter. She must also deal with the jealous, obsessed Mrs. Danvers, the housekeeper, who will not accept her as the mistress of the house.

Rebecca Trailer

Rebecca Photos

  • Laurence Olivier

    as 'Maxim' de Winter
  • Joan Fontaine

    as Mrs. de Winter (2nd)
  • George Sanders

    as Jack Favell
  • Judith Anderson

    as Mrs. Danvers
  • Nigel Bruce

    as Major Giles Lacy
  • Reginald Denny

    as Frank Crawley
  • C. Aubrey Smith

    as Colonel Julyan
  • Gladys Cooper

    as Beatrice Lacy
  • Florence Bates

    as Edythe Van Hopper
  • Melville Cooper

    as Coroner
  • Leo G. Carroll

    as Dr. Baker
  • Leonard Carey

    as Ben
  • Lumsden Hare

    as Tabbs
  • Edward Fielding

    as Frith
  • Philip Winter

    as Robert
  • Forrester Harvey

    as Chalcroft
  • Billy Bevan

    as Policeman (uncredited)
  • Gino Corrado

    as Manager of Princesse Hotel (uncredited)
  • Egon Brecher

    as Hotel Desk Clerk (uncredited)
  • Alfred Hitchcock

    as Man Outside Phone Booth (uncredited)
  • Leyland Hodgson

    as Mullen (uncredited)
  • Alphonse Martell

    as Hotel Headwaiter (uncredited)
  • William H. O'Brien

    as Hotel Waiter (uncredited)
  • Ronald R. Rondell

    as Hotel Dining Room Guest (uncredited)
  • Phyllis Woodward

    as Little Girl (uncredited)
Camera Irving Rosenberg Camera Operator
Directing Alfred Hitchcock Director
Writing Daphne du Maurier Novel
Writing Philip MacDonald Adaptation
Production David O. Selznick Producer
Sound Franz Waxman Original Music Composer
Sound Franz Waxman Orchestrator
Editing W. Donn Hayes Editor
Camera George Barnes Director of Photography
Crew Jack Cosgrove Special Effects
Art Lyle R. Wheeler Art Direction
Sound Arthur Johns Sound Designer
Sound Jack Noyes Sound Designer
Writing Robert E. Sherwood Screenplay
Art Joseph B. Platt Interior Designer
Sound Leonid Raab Orchestrator
Sound Hugo Friedhofer Orchestrator
Crew Lloyd Knechtel Second Unit Cinematographer
Crew Archie Stout Second Unit Cinematographer
Camera Vincent J. Farrar Camera Operator
Camera Arthur E. Arling Camera Operator
Sound Hans Sommer Music
Writing Joan Harrison Screenplay
Directing Eric Stacey Assistant Director
Sound Louis Forbes Music
Crew D. Ross Lederman Second Unit
Crew Ellis W. Carter Second Unit Cinematographer
Editing Hal C. Kern Supervising Film Editor
Crew Russell Birdwell Unit Publicist
Writing Michael Hogan Adaptation
Sound Joseph Nussbaum Music
Sound Robert Russell Bennett Music
Costume & Make-Up Eugene Joseff Costume Design
Directing Edmond F. Bernoudy Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Monte Westmore Makeup Artist
Sound Paul Marquardt Orchestrator
Crew Adele Cannon Script
Visual Effects Albert Simpson Matte Painter