Permanent Record

Permanent Record (1988)

High school. Senior year. His suicide shattered their world. Their courage drove them to pick up the pieces.

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 1988-04-22
  • User Rating: 6.4/10 from 26 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 32min
  • Language: English
  • Director:
star 6.4/10
From 26 Ratings


David Sinclair seems to have everything going for him: he's smart, musically talented, and very successful. To top off his senior year in high school, his band is trying to get a recording session. Therefore, David's suicide leaves everyone, especially his best friend and band-mate, Chris, with a lot of questions.

Permanent Record Trailer

Permanent Record Photos

  • Keanu Reeves

    as Chris Townsend
  • Pamela Gidley

    as Kim
  • Alan Boyce

    as David Sinclair
  • Michael Elgart

    as Jake
  • Jennifer Rubin

    as Lauren
  • Michelle Meyrink

    as M.G.
  • Phil Diskin

    as Security Guard
  • Lou Reed

    as Himself
  • Garrett Lambert

    as Producer
  • Richard Bradford

    as Leo Verdell
  • Carolyn Tomei

    as Chemistry Teacher
  • Ron Eckert

    as Sailors Audition
  • Robert Hooven

    as Sailors Audition
  • Nick Kosovich

    as Sailors Audition
  • Sean Patrick McNerney

    as Sailors Audition
Production Amanda Mackey Casting
Production Marty Hornstein Executive Producer
Sound Richard Portman Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Camera Frederick Elmes Director of Photography
Sound Dane A. Davis Supervising Sound Editor
Costume & Make-Up Tracy Tynan Costume Design
Art Michel Levesque Production Design
Production Frank Mancuso Jr. Producer
Sound Joe Strummer Original Music Composer
Sound Gary Wright Dialogue Editor
Crew Rick Avery Stunts
Sound Joan Rowe Foley
Sound Randy Vandegrift Sound Editor
Sound Brydon Baker III Boom Operator
Crew Mark Edwards Stunts
Sound Mary Andrews ADR & Dubbing
Writing Larry Ketron Writer
Directing Marisa Silver Director
Art Steve Karatzas Art Direction
Art Woody Crocker Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Michelle Bühler Makeup Artist
Production Eric Heffron Production Manager
Crew Dean W. Miller Special Effects
Crew Martin Louis Stunts
Crew Diane Peterson Stunts
Crew Don Pike Stunt Coordinator
Crew Gary Pike Stunts
Art Rick Welden Construction Coordinator
Crew Robert J. Visciglia Sr. Property Master
Art Michael Sarley Production Illustrator
Art Lachlin Loud Set Designer
Sound Kimberly Harris Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Robert Gravenor Sound mixer
Sound Julia Evershade Sound Editor
Sound Julia Evershade Sound Effects Editor
Sound John Dunn Sound Effects Editor
Crew Randall Crocker Cableman
Sound Gary Gegan ADR & Dubbing
Sound Gary Gegan Foley
Sound Jeffrey Perkins Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Jerry Trent Foley
Sound Butch Turner Boom Operator
Sound Paul M. Wagner Sound Editor
Sound Paul Wells Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Jeff Rosen Dialogue Editor
Writing Alice Liddle Writer
Writing Jarre Fees Writer