Notes on Blindness

Notes on Blindness (2016)

  • Genre: Documentary, Drama
  • Release Date: 2016-07-01
  • User Rating: 7.3/10 from 36 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 30min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Archer's Mark
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Directors: , .
star 7.3/10
From 36 Ratings


After losing sight in 1983, John Hull began keeping an audio diary, a unique testimony of loss, rebirth and renewal, excavating the interior world of blindness. Following on from the Emmy Award-winning short film of the same name, Notes on Blindness is an ambitious and groundbreaking work, both affecting and innovative.

Notes on Blindness Trailer

Notes on Blindness Photos

  • John M. Hull

    as Himself (voice)
  • Marilyn Hull

    as Herself (voice)
  • Daniel Renton Skinner

    as John Hull
  • Simone Kirby

    as Marilyn Hull
  • Eileen Davies

    as Madge Hull
  • David Hobbs

    as Jack Hull
  • Victoria Wicks

    as Librarian
  • Jamie Bradley

    as Faith Healer
  • Imogen Hull

    as Herself (voice)
  • Thomas Hull

    as Himself (voice)
  • Lizzie Hull

    as Herself (voice)
  • Gaby Hull

    as Herself (voice)
  • Josh Hull

    as Himself (voice)
  • Johnny Robson

    as Doctor
  • Drew Prentice-Main

    as Newborn
  • Miranda Beinart-Smith

    as Imogen
  • Susan Tordoff

    as Social Worker
  • Sidney Nicholas Warbrick

    as Thomas
  • Amelda Brown

    as Liz
  • Stanley Pemberton-Warbrick

    as Thomas
  • Lorelei Winterfrost

    as Young Imogen
  • Tim Gebbels

    as Minister
  • Mahalia Martin-Jones

    as Lizzie
  • Dick Middleton

    as Bursar
  • Rafe Beckley

    as John Hull Double
  • Alex Safta

    as John Hull Double
Production Lizzie Francke Executive Producer
Production Richard Holmes Executive Producer
Production Alex Usborne Producer
Production Nick Fraser Executive Producer
Sound Per Boström Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Production Helen Pritchard Location Manager
Production Dan Cogan Executive Producer
Production Amy Hubbard Casting
Sound Ulf Olausson Foley
Sound David Silverin Foley
Sound Christer Melén Sound Effects Editor
Crew Geralyn White Dreyfous Thanks
Production Jenny Raskin Co-Executive Producer
Production Mike Brett Producer
Production Steve Jamison Producer
Sound Jonny Pilcher Other
Production Kate Townsend Executive Producer
Sound Joakim Sundström Supervising Sound Editor
Crew Martine Saada Commissioning Editor
Crew Rafe Beckley Thanks
Crew Celia Henebury Thanks
Crew Marilyn Hull Thanks
Directing Pete Middleton Director
Production Pete Middleton Producer
Writing Pete Middleton Writer
Directing James Spinney Director
Production James Spinney Producer
Writing James Spinney Writer
Production Jo-Jo Ellison Producer
Crew Gerry Floyd Cinematography
Camera James Blann Additional Photography
Art Damien Creagh Production Design
Sound James Ewers Music
Visual Effects Måns Björklund Visual Effects Producer
Crew Nick Rideout Special Effects
Art Jessica Danielle Smith Art Direction
Crew Alan Senior Special Effects
Crew John Rafique Special Effects
Camera James Rhodes Second Unit Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Sophie Brown Assistant Costume Designer
Sound Adem Ilhan Other
Crew Chris Reynolds Special Effects
Crew John M. Hull Thanks
Sound Noah Wood Music
Editing Julian Quantrill Editor
Sound Sarah Bridge Music Supervisor
Production David Coujard Co-Producer
Production Arnaud Colinart Co-Producer
Crew Mark Edwards Commissioning Editor
Directing Tom Lancaster First Assistant Director
Directing Pascha Hanaway Second Assistant Director
Production Florence Izen-Taylor Casting Assistant
Directing Matt Houghton Other
Camera Mark Gee Other
Camera Emin Atilgan Other
Camera Andrew Bainbridge Steadicam Operator
Camera Yiannis Manolopoulos Steadicam Operator
Camera Emilio Schlappi Steadicam Operator
Camera Will Hanke Additional Photography
Crew Dušan Petković Post-Production Manager
Camera Diana Nechilciuc Other
Camera Craig Ferrreira Other
Camera Monika Radwańska Other
Camera Chris Heasman Other
Costume & Make-Up Lisa Mustafa Hair Designer
Costume & Make-Up Lisa Mustafa Makeup Designer
Art Elena Riccabona Set Decoration
Art Amaya Valentina Gonzalez Perez Other
Art Samantha Dabrowska Other
Art Niamh Farrelly Other
Costume & Make-Up Julia Drummond-Haig Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Saffron Cook Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Lorna Gillieron Other
Costume & Make-Up Rebecca Silveira Wigmaker
Lighting Salvador Gomez-Lopez Gaffer
Lighting Nick Leishman Best Boy Electrician
Lighting Richard Potter Electrician
Lighting Charlie Jenkins Electrician
Lighting Damien Ansell Electrician
Lighting Alex Gibbon Electrician
Lighting Charlie Lodge Other
Crew Ben Dawson Additional Music
Crew Leah Kardos Additional Music
Crew Mike murray Additional Music
Directing Zoe McCarthy Third Assistant Director
Directing Sheena Patel Third Assistant Director
Lighting Kevin Daly Rigging Supervisor
Writing Ivana MacKinnon Script Editor
Crew Oliver Neck Additional Dialogue
Production Lizzie March Other
Production Ben Ahmed Location Manager
Production Naomi Ashcroft Location Manager
Art Yasuyuki Otsuki Title Designer
Directing Guy Murray-Brown Other
Directing Dan Baker Other
Crew Will Burgass Other
Crew Amy Pemberton-Warbrick Other
Crew Patten Smith Other
Crew Sarah Beinart Other
Crew Sage Hood Other
Crew Kevin Bricknall Other
Crew Frank Hayes Other
Crew Andy Powell Other
Crew Richard Watt Other
Visual Effects Manuela Cripps Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Bobo Skipper VFX Supervisor
Visual Effects Juri Bryan VFX Artist
Visual Effects Andrej Blom 3D Artist
Crew David Wahlberg Compositors
Crew Abigail Scollay Compositors
Art Vic Parker Other
Crew James Willis Special Effects
Crew Ryan Long Special Effects
Crew Louise Fryer Other
Crew Pablo Romero-Fresco Other
Crew Jim Bowes Other
Sound Lowman Pauling Songs
Sound Ralph Bass Songs
Sound Nicholas Chalmers Other
Crew Jo Clark Thanks
Crew Jude Collins Thanks
Crew Lizzie Webster Thanks
Crew Luca Brett Thanks
Crew Olivia Thornton Thanks
Crew Tiffany Willis Thanks