Network (1976)

Television will never be the same

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 1976-11-01
  • User Rating: 7.9/10 from 854 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 2min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: United Artists
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 7.9/10
From 854 Ratings


When veteran anchorman Howard Beale is forced to retire his 25-year post because of his age, he announces to viewers that he will kill himself during his farewell broadcast. Network executives rethink their decision when his fanatical tirade results in a spike in ratings.

Network Trailer

Network Photos

  • Faye Dunaway

    as Diana Christensen
  • William Holden

    as Max Schumacher
  • Peter Finch

    as Howard Beale
  • Robert Duvall

    as Frank Hackett
  • Wesley Addy

    as Nelson Chaney
  • Ned Beatty

    as Arthur Jensen
  • Arthur Burghardt

    as Great Ahmed Kahn
  • Bill Burrows

    as TV Director
  • John Carpenter

    as George Bosch
  • Jordan Charney

    as Harry Hunter
  • Kathy Cronkite

    as Mary Ann Gifford
  • Ed Crowley

    as Joe Donnelly
  • Jerome Dempsey

    as Walter C. Amundsen
  • Conchata Ferrell

    as Barbara Schlesinger
  • Gene Gross

    as Milton K. Steinman
  • Stanley Grover

    as Jack Snowden
  • Cindy Grover

    as Caroline Schumacher
  • Darryl Hickman

    as Bill Herron
  • Mitchell Jason

    as Arthur Zangwill
  • Paul Jenkins

    as TV Stage Manager
  • Ken Kercheval

    as Merrill Grant
  • Kenneth Kimmins

    as Associate Producer
  • Lynn Klugman

    as TV Production Assistant
  • Carolyn Krigbaum

    as Max's Secretary
  • Zane Lasky

    as Audio Man
  • Michael Lipton

    as Tommy Pellegrino
  • Michael Lombard

    as Willie Stein
  • Pirie MacDonald

    as Herb Thackeray
  • Russ Petranto

    as TV Associate Director
  • Bernard Pollock

    as Lou
  • Roy Poole

    as Sam Haywood
  • William Prince

    as Edward George Ruddy
  • Sasha von Scherler

    as Helen Miggs
  • Lane Smith

    as Robert McDonough
  • Ted Sorel

    as Giannini
  • Beatrice Straight

    as Louise Schumacher
  • Fred Stuthman

    as Mosaic Figure
  • Cameron Thomas

    as TV Technical Director
  • Marlene Warfield

    as Laureen Hobbs
  • Lydia Wilen

    as Hunter's Secretary
  • Lee Richardson

    as Narrator (voice)
  • Lance Henriksen

    as Network Lawyer at Khan's Place (uncredited)
Editing Alan Heim Editor
Production Juliet Taylor Casting
Directing Sidney Lumet Director
Camera Owen Roizman Director of Photography
Sound Jack Fitzstephens Sound Editor
Costume & Make-Up Theoni V. Aldredge Costume Design
Production Fred C. Caruso Producer
Sound James Sabat Sound Mixer
Art Philip Rosenberg Production Design
Writing Paddy Chayefsky Screenplay
Costume & Make-Up John Alese Makeup Artist
Art Edward Stewart Set Decoration
Sound Sanford Rackow Sound Editor
Costume & Make-Up George Newman Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Marilyn Putnam Costumer
Sound Marc Laub Sound Editor
Production Howard Gottfried Producer
Sound Elliot Lawrence Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Susan Germaine Hairstylist