The Thing

The Thing (1982)

Man is The Warmest Place to Hide.

star 8
From 5,384 Ratings
8.2 57 83%


Members of an American scientific research outpost in Antarctica find themselves battling a parasitic alien organism capable of perfectly imitating its victims. They soon discover that this task will be harder than they thought, as they don't know which members of the team have already been assimilated and their paranoia threatens to tear them apart.

The Thing Trailer

Watch The Thing Online

You can now watch The Thing online on the following streaming providers in the United States.

  • The Thing Photos

    Production Larry J. Franco Associate Producer
    Directing Larry J. Franco First Assistant Director
    Art John M. Dwyer Set Decoration
    Camera Dean Cundey Director of Photography
    Sound Ennio Morricone Original Music Composer
    Editing Todd C. Ramsay Editor
    Art John J. Lloyd Production Design
    Crew Roy Arbogast Special Effects
    Sound Colin C. Mouat Supervising Sound Editor
    Directing John Carpenter Director
    Sound John Carpenter Original Music Composer
    Production David Foster Producer
    Art Graeme Murray Set Decoration
    Costume & Make-Up Ken Chase Makeup Artist
    Crew Ken Diaz Makeup Effects
    Production Robert Latham Brown Production Manager
    Crew Dick Warlock Stunt Coordinator
    Writing Bill Lancaster Screenplay
    Production Stuart Cohen Co-Producer
    Production Wilbur Stark Executive Producer
    Production Anita Dann Casting
    Art Henry Larrecq Art Direction
    Sound Alan Howarth Original Music Composer
    Production Lawrence Turman Producer
    Crew Denver Mattson Stunts
    Camera David Geddes Second Assistant Camera
    Directing Jeffrey Chernov Second Assistant Director
    Costume & Make-Up Trish Keating Costume Supervisor
    Camera Raymond Stella Camera Operator
    Production Fitch Cady Unit Production Manager
    Crew Rob Bottin Makeup Effects
    Costume & Make-Up Rob Bottin Makeup Effects Designer
    Camera Clyde E. Bryan First Assistant Camera
    Crew Eric Mansker Stunts
    Crew Larry Holt Stunts
    Crew Melvin Jones Stunts
    Sound Steve Maslow Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Crew Rock A. Walker Stunts
    Crew Ken Strain Stunts
    Crew Ken Strain Pilot
    Crew Jerry Wills Stunts
    Sound John K. Adams Foley Supervisor
    Camera Dave Gordon Dolly Grip
    Sound Warren Hamilton Jr. Sound Effects Editor
    Camera Cyrus Block Camera Operator
    Camera Dillard Brinson Key Grip
    Visual Effects Albert Whitlock Visual Effects
    Costume & Make-Up Ronald I. Caplan Costume Supervisor
    Costume & Make-Up Gilbert Loe Costume Supervisor
    Sound Cliff Kohlweck Music Editor
    Art John Zemansky Property Master
    Art Barton M. Susman Leadman
    Sound David Lewis Yewdall Supervising Sound Editor
    Lighting Thomas Marshall Gaffer
    Lighting Charles E. Nippell Best Boy Electric
    Directing Candy Artmont Script Supervisor
    Directing Christine Wilson Script Supervisor
    Camera Chris Helcermanas-Benge Still Photographer
    Lighting Len Wolfe Best Boy Electric
    Crew John K. Stirber Special Effects Assistant
    Art Mentor Huebner Production Illustrator
    Lighting David R. Anderson Gaffer
    Writing John W. Campbell Jr. Story
    Crew Kent Hays Stunts
    Lighting Mark Walthour Gaffer
    Camera Kris Krosskove Dolly Grip
    Crew Anthony Cecere Stunts
    Costume & Make-Up Phyllis Newman Makeup Artist
    Directing Michael Steele Second Assistant Director
    Crew Lee Routly Special Effects
    Crew Nate Irwin Pilot
    Crew Lawrence Perry Pilot
    Camera Ronald Woodward Key Grip
    Camera James L. Hurford Best Boy Grip
    Art Gary Meyer Production Illustrator
    Crew George Lawson Driver
    Crew Hans Metz Special Effects Assistant
    Crew Bob Cornell Transportation Captain
    Crew Dan Anglin Transportation Captain
    Art Richard A. Gonzales Swing
    Crew Clint Rowe Stunts
    Camera Steve Tate Second Assistant Camera
    Sound Kendrick P. Sweet Sound Editor
    Sound Ernesto Mas Assistant Sound Editor
    Art Joseph R. Savko Swing
    Art Milton Wilson Swing
    Camera Ray Kinzer Grip
    Art Michael R. Gannon Assistant Property Master
    Crew Rocky Corsini Craft Service
    Art James Callan Painter
    Art Michael Ploog Production Illustrator
    Production Ron MacInnes Production Assistant
    Production Debbie Collier Production Secretary
    Crew Yervant Babasin Craft Service
    Production Karen Kalton Production Secretary
    Crew Robin Mounsey Technical Advisor
    Camera Paul R. Prince First Assistant Camera
    Camera Douglas Pruss Second Assistant Camera
    Crew Michael A. Clifford Special Effects
    Crew Alois Stranan Transportation Captain
    Crew Spencer Hyde Craft Service
    Crew Barrett J. Reid Generator Operator
    Visual Effects Henry Schoessler Visual Effects