The Last Samurai

The Last Samurai (2003)

In the face of an enemy, in the heart of one man, lies the soul of a warrior.

star 7.5
From 6,294 Ratings
7.8 55 66%


Nathan Algren is an American hired to instruct the Japanese army in the ways of modern warfare, which finds him learning to respect the samurai and the honorable principles that rule them. Pressed to destroy the samurai's way of life in the name of modernization and open trade, Algren decides to become an ultimate warrior himself and to fight for their right to exist.

The Last Samurai Trailer

Watch The Last Samurai Online

You can now watch The Last Samurai online on the following streaming providers in the United States.

  • The Last Samurai Photos

    Sound Hans Zimmer Original Music Composer
    Production Tom Cruise Producer
    Production Victoria Thomas Casting
    Writing John Logan Screenplay
    Writing John Logan Story
    Costume & Make-Up Ngila Dickson Costume Design
    Camera John Toll Director of Photography
    Editing Steven Rosenblum Editor
    Production Charles Mulvehill Executive Producer
    Production Charles Mulvehill Unit Production Manager
    Art Lilly Kilvert Production Design
    Art Gretchen Rau Set Decoration
    Production Michael Doven Associate Producer
    Art Jess Gonchor Art Direction
    Sound Bob Beher Foley Editor
    Writing Edward Zwick Screenplay
    Directing Edward Zwick Director
    Production Edward Zwick Producer
    Writing Marshall Herskovitz Screenplay
    Production Marshall Herskovitz Producer
    Production Paula Wagner Producer
    Production Scott Kroopf Producer
    Production Tom Engelman Producer
    Editing Victor Du Bois Editor
    Production Ted Field Executive Producer
    Production Richard Solomon Executive Producer
    Production Vincent Ward Executive Producer
    Sound Anna MacKenzie ADR Editor
    Sound Dino Dimuro Sound Editor
    Sound Paul Flinchbaugh Assistant Sound Editor
    Sound Robert Deschaine ADR Mixer
    Art Kim Sinclair Art Direction
    Art Christopher Burian-Mohr Supervising Art Director
    Sound Christopher Assells Sound Editor
    Sound Mark P. Stoeckinger Supervising Sound Editor
    Visual Effects William Mesa Visual Effects Supervisor
    Visual Effects Romulo Adriano Jr. Visual Effects Coordinator
    Sound Charleen Richards ADR Mixer
    Crew Melissa R. Stubbs Stunt Coordinator
    Sound Caitlin McKenna ADR Editor
    Sound Marc Streitenfeld Music Editor
    Art Kathy Lucas Assistant Set Decoration
    Art Patrick Cassidy Leadman
    Production Kevin De La Noy Unit Production Manager
    Art Neil Kirkland Construction Coordinator
    Crew Gunner Ashford Armorer
    Visual Effects Jeffrey White Visual Effects Producer
    Sound Nerses Gezalyan Foley Mixer
    Sound James Moriana Foley Artist
    Sound Jeffrey Wilhoit Foley Artist
    Sound Don Coufal Boom Operator
    Costume & Make-Up Kenny Myers Key Makeup Artist
    Costume & Make-Up Terry Baliel Key Hair Stylist
    Sound Michael Kamper Sound Designer
    Art Philip Thomas Set Designer
    Sound Ben Wilkins Sound Editor
    Crew Graham Larson Post Production Supervisor
    Production Graham Larson Associate Producer
    Production Yōko Narahashi Associate Producer
    Production Mitchell E. Dauterive Production Supervisor
    Sound John Roesch Foley Artist
    Production Anne Bruning Production Supervisor
    Costume & Make-Up Lois Burwell Makeup Designer
    Costume & Make-Up Bob Buck Costume Coordinator
    Visual Effects Paul J. Lombardi Special Effects Supervisor
    Sound Alan Rankin Sound Editor
    Sound Andy Nelson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Sound Jon Title Sound Designer
    Directing Jayne-Ann Tenggren Script Supervisor
    Visual Effects Tim Crosbie VFX Supervisor
    Camera David James Still Photographer
    Sound Victor Ray Ennis First Assistant Sound Editor
    Visual Effects George Macri Visual Effects Producer
    Visual Effects Ray McIntyre Jr. Visual Effects Supervisor
    Camera Peter McCaffrey Steadicam Operator
    Camera Peter McCaffrey "B" Camera Operator
    Art Peter C. Clarke Assistant Property Master
    Sound Alyson Dee Moore Foley Artist
    Sound Michelle Pazer ADR Editor
    Sound Anna Behlmer Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Costume & Make-Up Tina Harrelson Makeup Artist
    Camera Calum McFarlane "D" Camera Operator
    Camera Darrin Keough "C" Camera Operator
    Sound Frank Smathers Foley Editor
    Sound Greg Steele ADR Mixer
    Sound Laura Harris Atkinson Dialogue Editor
    Sound Kerry Dean Williams Supervising ADR Editor
    Visual Effects Thomas Boland Visual Effects Producer
    Crew Neil Greenberg Visual Effects Editor
    Art Elizabeth Flaherty Assistant Art Director
    Art David Gulick Property Master
    Sound Bruce Tanis Sound Editor
    Editing Cynthia E. Thornton Associate Editor
    Production Charles Harrington Location Manager
    Sound David A. Cohen Dialogue Editor
    Camera Mike Thomas "A" Camera Operator
    Costume & Make-Up Terry Jarvis Wigmaker
    Production Lil Heyman Production Coordinator
    Costume & Make-Up Richard Snell Makeup Artist
    Costume & Make-Up Janice Alexander Hair Department Head
    Art Sam Storey Set Designer
    Costume & Make-Up Carol Pershing Hairstylist
    Art Cedar Valentine Art Department Coordinator
    Costume & Make-Up Kimberley Spiteri Hairstylist
    Costume & Make-Up Colleen LaBaff Hairstylist
    Crew Dan Romero Transportation Coordinator
    Art Michael Smale Set Designer
    Sound Mary Jo Lang Foley Mixer
    Crew Michael Sean Ryan Transportation Captain
    Sound Kelly Oxford ADR Editor
    Sound Jeff Wexler Production Sound Mixer
    Camera Tommy Klines First Assistant "B" Camera
    Directing Allen Kupetsky Second Assistant Director
    Costume & Make-Up Kendall Errair Costumer
    Sound Michael Miller ADR Mixer
    Costume & Make-Up Karen Asano-Myers Hairstylist
    Directing Nilo Otero First Assistant Director
    Editing Jenny Hicks Assistant Editor
    Camera Richard Lacy First Assistant "D" Camera
    Camera David Nichols Key Grip
    Sound Alan Meyerson Scoring Mixer
    Art Christopher Glass Storyboard Artist
    Lighting Gary Hill Rigging Gaffer
    Costume & Make-Up Conor O'Sullivan Prosthetic Supervisor
    Production Jill Soper Assistant Production Coordinator
    Sound Craig S. Jaeger Foley Supervisor
    Editing Mo Henry Negative Cutter
    Art Parker Swanson Assistant Property Master
    Crew Vic Cuccia Transportation Captain
    Production Ken Ryan Production Accountant
    Lighting Mick Morris Gaffer
    Crew Tad Griffith Stunts
    Crew Michael Taylor Video Assist Operator
    Lighting Iain Mathieson Best Boy Electric
    Editing Pablo Prietto Assistant Editor
    Camera Jay Munro Best Boy Grip
    Camera Brett McDowell Dolly Grip
    Production Kyoko Kageyama Production Supervisor
    Editing Penny Lee Hallin Assistant Editor
    Art Lori A. Lopes Set Decoration
    Costume & Make-Up Greg Nelson Makeup Artist
    Camera John Bonnin Libra Head Technician
    Camera Jeff Pelton Second Assistant "A" Camera
    Crew Nick Powell Stunt Coordinator
    Camera Chris Toll First Assistant "A" Camera
    Costume & Make-Up Maggie Elliott Makeup Artist
    Crew Nobuyuki Obikane Stunts
    Crew Hiroki Takano Stunts
    Camera Brett Matthews First Assistant "C" Camera
    Production Mayda Renizzi-Holt Assistant Accountant
    Lighting Paul Reddin Rigging Grip
    Art J.C. Brown Graphic Designer
    Camera Louise Williams Second Assistant "B" Camera