The Cannonball Run

The Cannonball Run (1981)

You'll root for them all...but you'll never guess who wins.

  • Genre: Action, Comedy
  • Release Date: 1981-06-19
  • User Rating: 6.13/10 from 492 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 35min
  • Language: 日本語
  • Production Company: 20th Century Fox
  • Production Country: United States of America, Hong Kong
  • Director:
star 6.13
From 492 Ratings
6.2 28 29%


A cross-country road race is based on an actual event, the Cannonball Baker Sea to Shining Sea Memorial Trophy Dash, organized by Brock Yates to protest the 55 mph speed limit then in effect in the U.S. The Cannonball was named for Erwin G. "Cannonball" Baker, who in the roaring 20's rode his motorcycle across the country. Many of the characters are based on ruses developed by real Cannonball racers over the several years that the event was run.

The Cannonball Run Trailer

Watch The Cannonball Run Online

No streaming options found.

Follow us on Facebook to see when The Cannonball Run becomes available for online streaming.

The Cannonball Run Photos

Production Albert S. Ruddy Producer
Sound Jack Solomon Sound
Sound Gordon Davidson Sound Effects Editor
Sound David M. Horton Sound Effects Editor
Camera Michael C. Butler Director of Photography
Editing Steve Mirkovich Assistant Editor
Editing Donn Cambern Editor
Costume & Make-Up Edwin Butterworth Makeup Artist
Crew Bobby Bass Stunt Coordinator
Editing William D. Gordean Editor
Production Raymond Chow Man-Wai Executive Producer
Directing Hal Needham Director
Writing Brock Yates Screenplay
Production André E. Morgan Production Supervisor
Sound Snuff Garrett Music Supervisor
Production David Hamburger Unit Production Manager
Production David Hamburger Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Norman Salling Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Tom Ellingwood Makeup Artist
Directing Bill Coker First Assistant Director
Sound Al Capps Original Music Composer
Crew Cliff Wenger Special Effects
Sound Milton C. Burrow Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Rick Kline Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Donald O. Mitchell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Jim Henrikson Music Editor
Camera Dick Colean Camera Operator
Directing Hope Williams Script Supervisor
Sound Neil Burrow Sound Effects Editor
Sound Robert A. Reich Sound Effects Editor
Crew Stanley Brossette Unit Publicist
Art Carol Wenger Art Direction
Art Rochelle Moser Set Decoration
Art Jerry Graham Property Master
Lighting Bud Schindler Gaffer
Crew Art Sarno Unit Publicist
Sound Scott Burrow Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Jim Yant Sound Effects Editor
Sound Bill Nicholson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Editing William J. Meshover Assistant Editor
Crew Howard A. Small Transportation Coordinator
Production Maureen Osborne-Beall Production Coordinator
Art Gary F. Kieldrup Assistant Property Master
Directing Frank Bueno Second Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Gabriel Borgo Hairstylist
Editing Janice Parker Assistant Editor
Crew Mike Doyle Transportation Captain
Sound Glen Lambert Boom Operator
Camera Richard R. Robinson Still Photographer
Art Gregg Bond Special Props