Sweet Country

Sweet Country (2018)

Justice itself is put on trial

  • Genre: Drama, History, Western
  • Release Date: 2018-01-25
  • User Rating: 6.5/10 from 136 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 53min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Bunya Productions
  • Production Country: Australia
  • Director:
star 6.5
From 136 Ratings
6.9 88 96%


It’s 1929 on the vast, desert-like, Eastern Arrernte Nation lands that are now known as the Central Australian outback. Sam Kelly, a middle-aged Aboriginal man, works the land of a kind preacher, Fred Smith. After an ill-tempered bully arrives in town and Kelly kills him in self-defence, he and his wife go on the run as a posse gathers to hunt him down.

Sweet Country Trailer

Watch Sweet Country Online

You can now watch Sweet Country online on the following streaming providers in the United States.

  • Sweet Country Photos

    Sound Michael Yezerski Original Music Composer
    Sound Adrian Medhurst Foley Artist
    Sound Phil Heywood Sound Re-Recording Mixer
    Editing Nick Meyers Editor
    Art Theo Benton Art Direction
    Production Anousha Zarkesh Casting
    Directing Warwick Thornton Director
    Camera Warwick Thornton Director of Photography
    Art Tony Cronin Production Design
    Sound Chris Goodes ADR Recordist
    Camera Daniel Foeldes First Assistant "B" Camera
    Production David Jowsey Producer
    Writing David Tranter Writer
    Costume & Make-Up Heather Wallace Costume Design
    Production Greer Simpkin Producer
    Art Jennifer Drake Set Decoration
    Costume & Make-Up Olivia Iacobelli Costume Supervisor
    Crew John Haratzis Scenic Artist
    Crew Reg Roordink Stunt Coordinator
    Camera Michael Fairbairn Second Assistant Camera
    Crew Ningali Lawford Dialogue Coach
    Costume & Make-Up Beverley Freeman Makeup & Hair
    Crew Rachel Higgins Post Production Supervisor
    Camera Dylan River Second Unit Director of Photography
    Directing Dylan River Second Unit Director
    Writing Steven McGregor Writer
    Crew Scott Warwick Armorer
    Editing Trish Cahill Colorist
    Sound Thom Kellar Supervising Sound Editor
    Sound James Andrews ADR & Dubbing
    Production Fiona Lanyon Line Producer
    Costume & Make-Up Jen Rossiter Hair Designer
    Costume & Make-Up Jen Rossiter Makeup Designer
    Crew John Sanderson Special Effects Coordinator
    Camera Drew English First Assistant "B" Camera
    Sound Lachlan Harris Sound Designer
    Sound Will Sheridan Boom Operator
    Camera Martin Fargher Key Grip
    Sound Mick Boraso Sound Effects Editor
    Sound Sam Gain-Emery Supervising Sound Editor
    Editing Annie Zhang Assistant Editor
    Production Jesse Goninon Location Manager
    Production Elspeth Baird Production Accountant
    Directing Shannon Crotty Second Assistant Director
    Sound Evan McHugh ADR Recordist
    Directing Tom Read First Assistant Director
    Production Tanith Glynn-Maloney Extras Casting
    Costume & Make-Up Rebecca Buratto Assistant Makeup Artist
    Production Emma Marshall Production Coordinator
    Art Matt Landreth Construction Manager
    Production Kim Bostock Unit Manager
    Directing James Dubay Third Assistant Director
    Sound Taras Spahic Assistant Sound Editor
    Camera Warwick Baker Still Photographer
    Camera Michael Corridore Still Photographer
    Camera Matt Coulam Best Boy Grip
    Camera Tamara Dean Still Photographer
    Lighting Max Gersbach Electrician
    Camera Jules Wurm First Assistant "A" Camera
    Editing Miska Mandic First Assistant Editor
    Writing Stephen Cleary Script Editor
    Crew Kara MacLean Unit Publicist
    Crew Kevin McLean Unit Publicist