Moonrise Kingdom

Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

A tormenting and surprising story of children and adults during the stormy days of the summer of 1965.

  • Genre: Comedy, Drama, Romance
  • Release Date: 2012-05-24
  • User Rating: 7.7/10 from 3440 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 34min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Focus Features
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 7.7/10
From 3,440 Ratings


Set on an island off the coast of New England in the summer of 1965, Moonrise Kingdom tells the story of two twelve-year-olds who fall in love, make a secret pact, and run away together into the wilderness. As various authorities try to hunt them down, a violent storm is brewing off-shore – and the peaceful island community is turned upside down in more ways than anyone can handle.

Moonrise Kingdom Trailer

Moonrise Kingdom Photos

  • Jared Gilman

    as Sam Shakusky
  • Kara Hayward

    as Suzy Bishop
  • Edward Norton

    as Scout Master Ward
  • Bruce Willis

    as Captain Sharp
  • Bill Murray

    as Mr. Bishop
  • Frances McDormand

    as Mrs. Bishop
  • Tilda Swinton

    as Social Services
  • Jason Schwartzman

    as Cousin Ben
  • Bob Balaban

    as Narrator
  • Harvey Keitel

    as Commander Pierce
  • Lucas Hedges

    as Redford
  • Charlie Kilgore

    as Lazy Eye
  • Chandler Frantz

    as Gadge
  • Gabriel Rush

    as Skotak
  • Seamus Davey-Fitzpatrick

    as Roosevelt
  • John Franchi

    as Play Attendee
  • Andreas Sheikh

    as Panagle
  • Rob H. Campbell

    as Deluca
  • L.J. Foley

    as Izod
  • Tommy Nelson

    as Nickleby
  • Larry Pine

    as Mr. Billingsley
  • Marianna Bassham

    as Becky
  • Neal Huff

    as Jed
  • Eric Chase Anderson

    as Secretary McIntire
  • Jake Ryan

    as Lionel
  • Tanner Flood

    as Murray
  • Wyatt Ralff

    as Rudy
  • Max Derderian

    as Chef
  • Hugo DeAscentis

    as Edgar
  • Liz Callahan

    as Mrs. Billingsley
  • James Demler

    as Noah
  • Christine Noel

    as Noah's Wife
  • Jean-Michael Pion

    as Ham
  • John Peet

    as Junior Khaki Scout Master
  • Carolyn Pickman

    as Mrs. Lynn
  • Ada-Nicole Sanger

    as Sparrow
  • Isabella Guinness

    as Owl
  • Violet Guinness

    as Bittern
  • Caris Yeoman

    as Curlew
  • Lily Tiger McEnerney

    as Dove
  • Kevin DeCoste

    as Morse Code Khaki Scout
  • Tyler Metivier

    as Bugle Boy Scout
  • Cooper Murray

    as Indian Chief Khaki Scout
  • Coledyn Garrow

    as Trampoline Khaki Scout
  • Ben Haffner

    as Archery Khaki Scout
  • Michael Malvesti

    as B-B-Q Khaki Scout
  • Richie Conant

    as Fort Lebanon Khaki Scout
  • Johnathon Deneault

    as Fort Lebanon Khaki Scout
  • Jack Lescoulie

    as Fort Lebanon Khaki Scout
  • Preston Hatch

    as Fort Lebanon Khaki Scout
  • Alex Milne

    as Fort Lebanon Khaki Scout
  • Jordan Puzzo

    as Fort Lebanon Khaki Scout
  • Steve Smith

    as Weather Man (voice)
  • Dakota Pimentel

    as Acolyte
  • Roman Keitel

    as Acolyte's Assistant
  • Derek Sardella

    as Pigeon Scout
Sound Alexandre Desplat Original Music Composer
Production Scott Rudin Producer
Directing Wes Anderson Director
Production Wes Anderson Producer
Writing Wes Anderson Writer
Camera Robert D. Yeoman Director of Photography
Production Douglas Aibel Casting
Writing Roman Coppola Writer
Editing Andrew Weisblum Editor
Production Sam Hoffman Executive Producer
Crew Michael Chabon Thanks
Production Jeremy Dawson Producer
Production Steven M. Rales Producer
Art Adam Stockhausen Production Design
Art Kris Moran Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Kasia Walicka-Maimone Costume Design
Editing Barbara Jean Kearney Digital Intermediate
Sound Craig Henighan Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Christopher Scarabosio Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Mark Edward Wright Visual Effects Editor
Sound Pawel Wdowczak Sound Mixer