Mississippi Burning

Mississippi Burning (1988)

1964. When America was at war with itself.

  • Genre: Thriller, Crime, Drama
  • Release Date: 1988-12-08
  • User Rating: 7.6/10 from 744 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 8min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Orion Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 7.6/10
From 744 Ratings


Two FBI agents investigating the murder of civil rights workers during the 60s seek to breach the conspiracy of silence in a small Southern town where segregation divides black and white. The younger agent trained in FBI school runs up against the small town ways of his partner, a former sheriff.

Mississippi Burning Trailer

Mississippi Burning Photos

  • Gene Hackman

    as Agent Rupert Anderson
  • Willem Dafoe

    as Agent Alan Ward
  • Frances McDormand

    as Mrs. Pell
  • Brad Dourif

    as Deputy Clinton Pell
  • R. Lee Ermey

    as Mayor Tilman
  • Gailard Sartain

    as Sheriff Ray Stuckey
  • Stephen Tobolowsky

    as Clayton Townley
  • Michael Rooker

    as Frank Bailey
  • Pruitt Taylor Vince

    as Lester Cowens
  • Badja Djola

    as Agent Monk
  • Kevin Dunn

    as Agent Bird
  • Frankie Faison

    as Eulogist
  • Tom Mason

    as Judge
  • Tobin Bell

    as Agent Stokes
  • Stephen Bridgewater

    as Wesley Cooke
  • Bob Penny

    as Curtis Foy
  • Park Overall

    as Connie
  • Darius McCrary

    as Aaron Williams
  • Mark Jeffrey Miller

    as Fire Bomber
  • John P. Fertitta

    as T.V. Commentator
  • Geoffrey Nauffts

    as Goatee
  • Marc Clement

    as Floyd Swilley
  • Rick Zieff

    as Passenger
  • Dan Desmond

    as Television Commentator
  • Lou Walker

    as Vertis Williams
  • Charles Franzen

    as Interviewer & Reporter
  • Tonea Stewart

    as Mrs. Walker
  • Robert F. Colesberry

    as Cameraman
  • Frederick Zollo

    as Reporter
  • Ron De Roxtra

    as Reporter
  • Doug Jackson

    as Reporter
  • Gary Moody

    as Reporter
  • Robert Erickson

    as Reporter
  • Ed Geldart

    as Fire Bomber
  • Mert Hatfield

    as Fire Bomber
  • James Eric

    as Fire Bomber
  • Daniel Chapman

    as Agent MacMillan
  • Rick Washburn

    as Agent Brodsky
  • Robert Glaudini

    as Agent Nash
  • Ken Magee

    as Agent Reilly
  • Paul Henderson

    as Local #1 (uncredited)
  • Ralph Pruitt Vaughn

    as Peckerwood (uncredited)
  • Christopher White

    as Black Passenger
Production Juliet Taylor Casting
Production Howard Feuer Casting
Production Robert F. Colesberry Producer
Costume & Make-Up Aude Bronson-Howard Costume Design
Directing Aldric La'Auli Porter Assistant Director
Sound Trevor Jones Original Music Composer
Camera Peter Biziou Director of Photography
Art Jim Erickson Set Decoration
Editing Gerry Hambling Editor
Directing Alan Parker Director
Camera David Appleby Still Photographer
Writing Chris Gerolmo Screenplay
Art Philip Harrison Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Ellen Lutter Costume Supervisor
Art Geoffrey Kirkland Production Design
Editing Mayin Lo Assistant Editor
Production Frederick Zollo Producer
Crew Steve Kelso Stunts
Crew John Robotham Stunt Coordinator
Art John Willett Art Direction
Directing Robin Squibb Script Supervisor
Sound Pieter Hubbard Sound Editor
Crew Nicholas Paleologos Thanks
Costume & Make-Up Helen P. Butler Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up David Forrest Makeup Designer
Crew Maida N. Morgan Thanks
Crew David Linck Unit Publicist
Crew Stan Parks Special Effects Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Paul LeBlanc Hair Designer
Lighting Dennis J. Lootens Electrician
Sound Paul Hulme Sound Engineer
Production Tom Razzano Unit Production Manager
Camera Bob Leitelt Grip
Lighting Willie Mann Best Boy Electric