Goldstone (2016)

  • Genre: Crime, Thriller, Western
  • Release Date: 2016-07-07
  • User Rating: 6/10 from 49 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 49min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Dark Matter Productions
  • Production Country: Australia
  • Director:
star 6/10
From 49 Ratings


GOLDSTONE, the award-winning new feature from Australian auteur Ivan Sen (Mystery Road), is a complex and stylish crime thriller that explores themes of racism, human trafficking, police corruption, corporate malfeasance, and the trampling of indigenous people’s rights. On the trail of a missing person, troubled indigenous detective Jay Swan (Aaron Pedersen, Mystery Road) finds himself in the small mining town of Goldstone, where he is arrested for drunk driving by local cop Josh (Alex Russell, CBS’s “S.W.A.T.”). When Jay’s motel room is blasted with gun fire, it becomes clear that something larger is at play. While struggling to overcome their mutual distrust, Jay and Josh uncover a web of crime and corruption, which leads directly to the town’s cold-blooded Mayor (two-time Oscar nominee Jacki Weaver, Silver Linings Playbook) and its smarmy gold mine director (David Wenham, Lord of the Rings).

Goldstone Trailer

Goldstone Photos

  • Aaron Pedersen

    as Jay Swan
  • Alex Russell

    as Josh
  • Jacki Weaver

    as Maureen
  • Cheng Pei-Pei

    as Mrs. Lao
  • David Wenham

    as Johnny
  • David Gulpilil

    as Jimmy
  • Michelle Lim Davidson

    as May
  • Tom E. Lewis

    as Tommy
  • Steve Rodgers

    as Mick
  • Max Cullen

    as Old Timer
  • Ursula Yovich

    as Maria
  • Michael Dorman

    as Patch
  • Kate Beahan

    as Pinky
  • Aaron Fa'aoso

    as Bear
  • Gillian Jones

    as Sally
  • Peter Smith

    as Preacher
Directing Ivan Sen Director
Writing Ivan Sen Writer
Camera Ivan Sen Director of Photography
Editing Ivan Sen Editor
Art Matthew Putland Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Vanessa Loh Costume Design
Sound Thom Kellar Sound Designer
Production Aaron Pedersen Associate Producer
Production Craig Deeker Executive Producer
Production Oliver Lawrance Executive Producer
Production Trevor Kennedy Executive Producer
Production Gary Hamilton Executive Producer
Production David Jowsey Producer
Production Greer Simpkin Producer
Production Scott Otto Anderson Executive Producer
Sound Ivan Sen Original Music Composer