Gladiator (2000)

A Hero Will Rise.

star 8.1/10
From 11,331 Ratings


In the year 180, the death of emperor Marcus Aurelius throws the Roman Empire into chaos. Maximus is one of the Roman army's most capable and trusted generals and a key advisor to the emperor. As Marcus' devious son Commodus ascends to the throne, Maximus is set to be executed. He escapes, but is captured by slave traders. Renamed Spaniard and forced to become a gladiator, Maximus must battle to the death with other men for the amusement of paying audiences.

Gladiator Trailer

Gladiator Photos

  • Russell Crowe

    as Maximus Decimus Meridius
  • Joaquin Phoenix

    as Commodus
  • Connie Nielsen

    as Lucilla
  • Oliver Reed

    as Antonius Proximo
  • Richard Harris

    as Marcus Aurelius
  • Derek Jacobi

    as Senator Gracchus:
  • Djimon Hounsou

    as Juba
  • David Schofield

    as Senator Falco
  • John Shrapnel

    as Senator Gaius
  • Tomas Arana

    as General Quintus
  • Ralf Moeller

    as Hagen
  • Tommy Flanagan

    as Cicero
  • Spencer Treat Clark

    as Lucius Verus
  • David Hemmings

    as Cassius
  • Sven-Ole Thorsen

    as Tigris of Gaul
  • Giannina Facio

    as Maximus' Wife
  • Alun Raglan

    as Praetorian Guard #1
  • Giorgio Cantarini

    as Maximus' Son
  • David Bailie

    as Engineer
  • Omid Djalili

    as Slave Trader
  • Nicholas McGaughey

    as Praetorian Officer
  • Tony Curran

    as Assassin #1
  • Mark Lewis

    as Assassin #2
  • John Quinn

    as Valerius
  • Al Hunter Ashton

    as Rome Trainer #1
  • Allan Corduner

    as Trainer 1
  • Michael Mellinger

    as Trainer 2
  • Said Amel

    as Proximo's Man
  • Adam Levy

    as Officer 1
  • Gilly Gilchrist

    as Officer 2
  • David Nicholls

    as Giant Man
  • Malcolm Ellul

    as Centurion (uncredited)
  • Ray Mangion

    as Centurion (uncredited)
  • James Fiddy

    as Roman Soldier (uncredited)
  • João Costa Menezes

    as Roman Soldier (uncredited)
  • Mike Mitchell

    as Fighter (uncredited)
  • Norman Campbell Rees

    as Sedan Chair Carrier (uncredited)
  • Steve Saunders

    as German Barbarian (uncredited)
  • Brian Smyj

    as Coliseum Gladiator (uncredited)
Sound Hans Zimmer Original Music Composer
Directing Ridley Scott Director
Production Ridley Scott Executive Producer
Writing David Franzoni Screenplay
Production David Franzoni Producer
Production Branko Lustig Producer
Production Douglas Wick Producer
Writing John Logan Screenplay
Writing William Nicholson Screenplay
Camera John Mathieson Director of Photography
Art Crispian Sallis Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Janty Yates Costume Design
Art Arthur Max Production Design
Sound Lisa Gerrard Original Music Composer
Production Louis DiGiaimo Casting
Editing Pietro Scalia Editor
Visual Effects Colin Coull Visual Effects
Production Walter F. Parkes Executive Producer
Sound Scott Martin Gershin Sound
Art Benjamín Fernández Supervising Art Director
Crew Neil Corbould Animatronic and Prosthetic Effects
Art Peter Russell Art Direction
Production Laurie MacDonald Executive Producer
Crew Lisa Dennis Post Production Supervisor
Art Keith Pain Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Paul Engelen Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Carmel Jackson Hairstylist
Art Adam O'Neill Assistant Art Director
Production Terry Needham Associate Producer
Sound Dino Dimuro Sound Effects Editor
Sound Christopher Assells Sound Effects Editor
Production Stephanie Corsalini Casting Associate
Art John King Supervising Art Director
Camera Alexander Witt Second Unit Director of Photography
Art David Allday Supervising Art Director
Art Graeme Purdy Property Master
Sound James Moriana Foley
Sound Jeffrey Wilhoit Foley
Camera Branko Knez Camera Operator
Directing Adam Somner Assistant Director
Crew Eddie Stacey Stunts
Visual Effects Nikki Penny Visual Effects Producer
Costume & Make-Up Trefor Proud Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Alex King Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Marese Langan Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Ivana Primorac Makeup Artist
Camera Klemens Becker Steadicam Operator
Costume & Make-Up Laura McIntosh Makeup Artist
Art Roger Holden Greensman
Sound Dan O'Connell Foley
Sound Jon Title Sound Effects Editor
Sound Scott Millan Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound John T. Cucci Foley
Art Philip McDonald Property Master
Crew Phil Neilson Stunt Coordinator
Editing Chisako Yokoyama First Assistant Editor
Directing Annie Penn Script Supervisor
Sound Bob Beemer Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Randy Kelley Sound Effects Editor
Camera Clive Jackson Camera Operator
Crew Simon Stanley-Clamp Compositors
Sound Lauren Stephens Dialogue Editor
Camera Peter Taylor Camera Operator
Camera Jaap Buitendijk Still Photographer
Sound Frank A. Montaño Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art José Luis del Barco Assistant Art Director
Sound Richard Dwan Jr. Foley Editor
Visual Effects Tim Burke Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Rob Harris Unit Publicist
Sound Chris Jargo Supervising ADR Editor
Sound Laura Graham ADR Editor
Sound David A. Cohen Dialogue Editor
Sound David A. Cohen ADR Editor
Production Jeremy Johns Location Manager
Visual Effects Rob Harvey Visual Effects Supervisor
Production Terry Blyther Location Manager
Costume & Make-Up Ivana Němcová Hairstylist
Crew Laurent Hugueniot CG Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Graham Johnston Hairstylist
Art Bruce Bigg Property Master
Editing Dale E. Grahn Color Timer
Costume & Make-Up Anita Burger Hairstylist
Sound Simon Coke Dialogue Editor
Costume & Make-Up Melissa Lackersteen Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Jo Allen Makeup Artist
Crew Cynthia Sadler Scenic Artist
Crew Bob Walker Scenic Artist
Crew Astrig Akseralian Animatronic and Prosthetic Effects
Crew Wesley Sewell Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects John Nelson Visual Effects Supervisor
Camera Ben Gooder Camera Operator
Camera Felix Schroer Camera Operator
Camera Agapios Louka Camera Technician
Production Mustapha Charif Casting
Production Kathleen Mackie Casting
Editing Michael Reynolds First Assistant Editor
Sound Dashiell Rae Music Editor
Crew Gerry Gore Transportation Coordinator
Production Mike Higgins Location Manager
Crew Miroslav Lhotka Stunts
Lighting Daniele Botteselle Gaffer
Crew John Evans Special Effects
Crew Robert Dawson Title Graphics
Directing Ali Cherkaoui Assistant Director
Sound Lou Kleinman Foley Editor
Sound Ken Weston Production Sound Mixer
Crew Mark Taylor Set Production Assistant