Gandhi (1982)

His triumph changed the world forever.

  • Genre: Drama, History
  • Release Date: 1982-11-30
  • User Rating: 7.5/10 from 1405 ratings
  • Runtime: 3h 11min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Goldcrest
  • Production Country: India, United Kingdom
  • Director:
star 7.5/10
From 1,405 Ratings


In the early years of the 20th century, Mohandas K. Gandhi, a British-trained lawyer, forsakes all worldly possessions to take up the cause of Indian independence. Faced with armed resistance from the British government, Gandhi adopts a policy of 'passive resistance', endeavouring to win freedom for his people without resorting to bloodshed.

Gandhi Trailer

Gandhi Photos

  • Ben Kingsley

    as Mahatma Gandhi
  • Candice Bergen

    as Margaret Bourke-White
  • Edward Fox

    as General Dyer
  • John Gielgud

    as Lord Irwin
  • Trevor Howard

    as Judge Broomfield
  • Rohini Hattangadi

    as Kasturba Gandhi
  • John Mills

    as Lord Chelmsford
  • Martin Sheen

    as Vince Walker
  • Ian Charleson

    as Reverend Charlie Andrews
  • Roshan Seth

    as Pandit Nehru
  • Om Puri

    as Nahari
  • Saeed Jaffrey

    as Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
  • Alyque Padamsee

    as Mohammad Ali Jinnah
  • Amrish Puri

    as Khan
  • Geraldine James

    as Mirabehn
  • Daniel Day-Lewis

    as Colin
  • Athol Fugard

    as General Jan Christiaan Smuts
  • Dalip Tahil

    as Zia
  • Günther Maria Halmer

    as Dr. Herman Kallenbach
  • Shreeram Lagoo

    as Gopal Krishna Gokhale
  • Terrence Hardiman

    as Ramsay MacDonald
  • Ian Bannen

    as Senior Police Officer
  • Michael Bryant

    as Principal Secretary
  • John Clements

    as Advocate General
  • Richard Griffiths

    as Collins
  • Nigel Hawthorne

    as Kinnoch
  • Bernard Hepton

    as G.O.C.
  • Michael Hordern

    as Sir George Hodge
  • Richard Vernon

    as Sir Edward Gait
  • Harsh Nayyar

    as Nathuran Godse
  • Vijay Kashyap

    as Apte
  • Supriya Pathak

    as Manu
  • Neena Gupta

    as Abha
  • Shane Rimmer

    as Commentator
  • Peter Harlowe

    as Lord Mountbatten
  • Anang Desai

    as J.B. Kripalani
  • Winston Ntshona

    as Porter
  • Peter Cartwright

    as European Passenger
  • Marius Weyers

    as Conductor
  • Richard Mayes

    as Baker
  • Alok Nath

    as Tyeb Mohammed
  • Ken Hutchison

    as Police Sergeant
  • Norman Chancer

    as Reporter
  • Charu Bala Chokshi

    as Ayah
  • Ray Burdis

    as Youth
  • Daniel Peacock

    as Youth
  • Avis Bunnage

    as Colin's Mother
  • Mohan Agashe

    as Tyeb Mohammed's Friend
  • John Savident

    as Manager of the Mine
  • Michael Godley

    as Clergyman
  • Christopher Good

    as Young Englishman
  • David Markham

    as Older Englishman
  • Moti Makan

    as Traveller on Train Roof
  • Jalal Agha

    as Traveller on Train Roof
  • Rupert Frazer

    as Cavalry Troop Leader
  • K.K. Raina

    as Nehru's Friend
  • Dominic Guard

    as Subaltern
  • Bernard Hill

    as Sergeant Putnam
  • Nana Palsikar

    as Villager
  • Graham Seed

    as Wicket-Keeper
  • Gerald Sim

    as Magistrate
  • Colin Farrell

    as Clerk
  • Sanjeev Puri

    as Young Man
  • James Cossins

    as Brigadier
  • Habib Tanvir

    as Indian Barrister
  • Barry John

    as Police Superintendant
  • Brian Oulton

    as Clerk of Court
  • James Snell

    as Court Reporter
  • John Boxer

    as Court Reporter
  • Bernard Horsfall

    as General Edgar
  • Richard Leech

    as Brigadier
  • Pankaj Kapur

    as Pyarelal
  • David Sibley

    as Subaltern
  • Stanley Lebor

    as Police Officer
  • Jon Croft

    as Colonel
  • William Hoyland

    as Adjutant
  • John Ratzenberger

    as American Lieutenant
  • Jack McKenzie

    as Major at Aga Khan Palace
  • Vinay Apte

    as Hindu Youth in Calcutta Street
  • Suhas Palshikar

    as Hindu Youth in Calcutta Street
  • Shekhar Chatterjee

    as Suhrawardy
  • Amarjeet

    as Goonda
  • Sunil Shende

    as Goonda
  • Derek Lyons

    as Radio Reporter at Funeral (uncredited)
  • Sudhir Dalvi

    as Police Commissioner
  • David Gant

    as Daniels
  • Tom Alter

    as Doctor at Aga Khan Palace
  • Ernest Clark

    as Lord Hunter
  • Fred Wood

    as Man in the Crowd (uncredited)
  • John Quentin

    as Batsman
  • Geoffrey Chater

    as Government Advocate
  • Keith Drinkel

    as Major
Production Susie Figgis Casting
Crew George Fenton Additional Music
Art Robert W. Laing Production Design
Art Robert W. Laing Supervising Art Director
Directing Richard Attenborough Director
Production Richard Attenborough Producer
Costume & Make-Up John Mollo Costume Design
Art Stuart Craig Production Design
Editing John Bloom Editor
Art Michael Seirton Set Decoration
Writing John Briley Screenplay
Camera Ronnie Taylor Director of Photography
Camera Billy Williams Director of Photography
Production Michael Stanley-Evans Executive Producer
Art Norman Dorme Art Direction
Sound Ravi Shankar Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Vera Mitchell Hairstylist
Sound Gerry Humphreys ADR & Dubbing
Sound Simon Kaye Sound Recordist
Production Terence A. Clegg Producer
Visual Effects Gary Shaw Visual Effects
Costume & Make-Up Bhanu Athaiya Costume Design
Production Suresh Jindal Associate Producer
Art Ram Yedekar Art Direction
Editing Chris Ridsdale Assistant Editor
Directing Steve Lanning Assistant Director
Crew Brian Hathaway Transportation Captain
Crew Gerry Crampton Stunt Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Connie Reeve Makeup Artist
Visual Effects David H. Watkins Special Effects Supervisor