Freedom Writers

Freedom Writers (2007)

Their story. Their world. Their future.

  • Genre: Crime, Drama
  • Release Date: 2007-01-05
  • User Rating: 7.8/10 from 863 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 3min
  • Language: Español
  • Production Company: Double Feature Films
  • Production Country: Germany, United States of America
  • Director:
star 7.8/10
From 863 Ratings


A young teacher inspires her class of at-risk students to learn tolerance, apply themselves, and pursue education beyond high school.

Freedom Writers Trailer

Freedom Writers Photos

  • Hilary Swank

    as Erin Gruwell
  • Scott Glenn

    as Steve Gruwell
  • Imelda Staunton

    as Margaret Campbell
  • Patrick Dempsey

    as Scott Casey
  • Mario

    as Andre Bryant
  • April Lee Hernandez

    as Eva Benitez
  • Robert Wisdom

    as Dr. Carl Cohn
  • John Benjamin Hickey

    as Brian Gelford
  • Pat Carroll

    as Miep Gies
  • Hunter Parrish

    as Ben
  • Kristin Herrera

    as Gloria Munez
  • Jaclyn Ngan

    as Sindy
  • Sergio Montalvo

    as Alejandro Santiago
  • Jason Finn

    as Marcus
  • Deance Wyatt

    as Jamal Hill
  • Vanetta Smith

    as Brandy Ross
  • Gabriel Chavarria

    as Tito
  • Antonio García

    as Miguel
  • Giovonnie Samuels

    as Victoria
  • Will Morales

    as Paco
  • Armand Jones

    as Grant Rice
  • Ricardo Molina

    as Eva's Father
  • Angela Alvarado

    as Eva’s Mother
  • Liisa Cohen

    as Brandy's Mother
  • Tim Halligan

    as Principal Banning
  • Renee Firestone

    as Herself - Holocaust survivor
  • Eddie Ilam

    as Himself - Holocaust Survivor
  • Elisabeth Mann

    as Herself - Holocaust Survivor
  • Gloria Ungar

    as Herself - Holocaust Survivor
  • Dan Warner

    as Cop #1
  • Randy Hall

    as Cop #2
  • Carl Paoli

    as Cop #3
Directing Richard LaGravenese Director
Writing Richard LaGravenese Screenplay
Writing Erin Gruwell Novel
Production Danny DeVito Producer
Production Michael Shamberg Producer
Production Stacey Sher Producer
Camera Jim Denault Director of Photography
Production Margery Simkin Casting
Editing David Moritz Editor
Directing Brenda Lopez Script Supervisor
Production Hilary Swank Executive Producer
Production Tracey Durning Executive Producer
Production Nan Morales Executive Producer
Production Daniel S. Levine Executive Producer
Art Laurence Bennett Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Cindy Evans Costume Design
Sound Mark Isham Music
Sound Music
Sound Mary Ramos Music Supervisor
Production Leigh Shanta Unit Production Manager
Crew William Morts Stunt Coordinator
Production Jordana Glick-Franzheim Associate Producer
Art Peter Borck Art Direction
Art Linda Lee Sutton Set Decoration
Camera Patrick Rousseau Camera Operator
Camera Geoffrey Haley Camera Operator
Camera Geoffrey Haley Steadicam Operator
Sound David Parker Sound Mixer
Sound Don Coufal Boom Operator
Crew Thomas Mertz Special Effects Coordinator
Production Gregory Alpert Location Manager
Costume & Make-Up Mike Malone Set Dressing Artist
Costume & Make-Up Marisa Aboitiz Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Deborah Zimmerman Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Katherine Wright Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Beverly Jo Pryor Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Ronnie Spector Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Debra Denson Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Candy L. Walken Hair Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Bonnie Clevering Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Jason Green Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Yvonne Depatis-Kupka Hairstylist
Editing Luke Borghi Assistant Editor
Crew Tina Anderson Post Production Supervisor
Production Julianne Weiss Casting Associate
Art Macie Vener Assistant Art Director
Art Thomas Betts Set Designer
Art Linda Griffis Art Department Coordinator
Production Charlie Bolwell Production Coordinator
Crew Heidi Falconer Unit Publicist
Camera Jaimie Trueblood Still Photographer
Sound Per Hallberg Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Karen Baker Landers Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Scott Millan Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Michael Keller Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Christopher Assells Sound Effects Editor
Sound Dan Hegeman Sound Effects Editor
Sound Dino Dimuro Sound Effects Editor
Sound Carlton Kaller Music Editor
Sound Jason Ruder Music Editor
Visual Effects Dan Schmit Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Michael Caplan Visual Effects Producer
Sound Frederick H. Stahly Dialogue Editor
Sound Thomas O'Neil Younkman Dialogue Editor
Sound Susan Kurtz Dialogue Editor
Sound Kerry Dean Williams ADR Supervisor
Sound Paul Timothy Carden Dialogue Editor
Art J.P. Jones Property Master