Enigma (2001)

Unlock the secret.

  • Genre: Mystery, Drama, Thriller, Romance, War
  • Release Date: 2001-01-22
  • User Rating: 6.5/10 from 140 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 59min
  • Language: Deutsch
  • Production Company: Senator Film
  • Production Country: Netherlands, United Kingdom, United States of America, Germany
  • Director:
star 6.5/10
From 140 Ratings


The story of the WWII project to crack the code behind the Enigma machine, used by the Germans to encrypt messages sent to their submarines.

Enigma Trailer

Enigma Photos

  • Dougray Scott

    as Tom Jericho
  • Kate Winslet

    as Hester Wallace
  • Saffron Burrows

    as Claire Romilly
  • Jeremy Northam

    as Mr. Wigram
  • Nikolaj Coster-Waldau

    as Puck
  • Tom Hollander

    as Logie
  • Donald Sumpter

    as Leveret
  • Matthew Macfadyen

    as Cave
  • Richard Leaf

    as Baxter
  • Bohdan Poraj

    as Pinker
  • Paul Rattray

    as Kingcome
  • Tom Fisher

    as Upjohn
  • Robert Pugh

    as Skynner
  • Corin Redgrave

    as Admiral Trowbridge
  • Nicholas Rowe

    as Villiers
  • Angus MacInnes

    as Commander Hammerbeck
  • Michael Troughton

    as Mr. Mermagen
  • Edward Hardwicke

    as Heaviside
  • Anne-Marie Duff

    as Kay
  • Tim Bentinck

    as U-boat Commander
  • Mary MacLeod

    as Mrs. Armstrong
  • Rosie Thomson

    as Duty Clerk
  • Richard Katz

    as De Brooke
  • Emma Davies

    as Pamela
Writing Tom Stoppard Screenplay
Production Mary Selway Casting
Production Mick Jagger Producer
Production Amanda Mackey Casting
Sound John Barry Original Music Composer
Production Cathy Sandrich Casting
Camera Seamus McGarvey Director of Photography
Editing Rick Shaine Editor
Art Eliza Solesbury Set Decoration
Sound John Hayward Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Camera Baz Irvine Additional Photography
Directing Michael Apted Director
Art John Beard Production Design
Art Rod McLean Art Direction
Art Stuart Rose Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Shirley Russell Costume Design
Production Lorne Michaels Producer
Writing Robert Harris Novel
Camera Paul Edwards Steadicam Operator
Crew Graeme Purdy Property Master
Sound Ruth Sullivan Foley
Art Suttirat Anne Larlarb Assistant Art Director
Sound Lionel Selwyn Foley
Camera Tim Wooster Camera Operator
Crew Stef Tijdink Second Unit Cinematographer
Camera Trevor Coop Additional Photography
Art Sarah Robinson Art Department Coordinator
Art Sarah Robinson Construction Coordinator
Directing Angela Wharton Script Supervisor
Sound Cliff Kohlweck Music Editor
Crew Nick Powell Stunt Coordinator
Sound Robert Ireland ADR & Dubbing
Camera Jaap Buitendijk Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Sharon O'Brien Hairstylist
Art Leo Zandvliet Assistant Art Director
Editing Nina Hartstone Dialogue Editor
Art Tim Lanning Greensman
Crew Linda Gamble Unit Publicist
Costume & Make-Up Susan Howard Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Susan Howard Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Lesa Warrener Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Lesa Warrener Hairstylist
Editing Gordon Antell First Assistant Editor
Editing Christopher Lloyd First Assistant Editor
Production David Broder Location Manager
Camera Philip Sindall Camera Operator
Camera Alan Stewart Additional Photography
Lighting Lee Walters Gaffer
Production Marion Zilversmit Casting
Costume & Make-Up Marijhe Geheniau Makeup Artist
Art Paul de Bruijn Construction Foreman
Sound Richard Welsh Dolby Consultant
Sound Nigel Mills Supervising Sound Editor
Visual Effects Iain Anderson Animation
Visual Effects Caroline Garrett Animation
Visual Effects Robin Huffer Animation
Visual Effects Antony Hunt Visual Effects Producer
Lighting Uwe Kuipers Gaffer
Editing Andrew Blustain First Assistant Editor
Editing Daryl Jordan First Assistant Editor
Directing Cathy Doubleday Script Supervisor
Production Jelani Isaacs Location Manager