Emperor (2012)

After the war was won, the battle for peace began.

  • Genre: Drama, History, War
  • Release Date: 2012-09-14
  • User Rating: 6.1/10 from 155 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 45min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Fellers Film
  • Production Country: Japan, United States of America
  • Director:
star 6.1/10
From 155 Ratings


As the Japanese surrender at the end of WWII, Gen. Fellers is tasked with deciding if Emperor Hirohito will be hanged as a war criminal. Influencing his ruling is his quest to find Aya, an exchange student he met years earlier in the U.S.

Emperor Trailer

Emperor Photos

  • Matthew Fox

    as General Bonner Fellers
  • Tommy Lee Jones

    as General Douglas MacArthur
  • Eriko Hatsune

    as Aya Shimada
  • Masayoshi Haneda

    as Takahashi
  • Kaori Momoi

    as Mitsuko Kajima
  • Toshiyuki Nishida

    as General Kajima
  • Colin Moy

    as General Richter
  • Masatō Ibu

    as Koichi Kido
  • Isao Natsuyagi

    as Teizaburo Sekiya
  • Takatarô Kataoka

    as Emperor Hirohito
  • Nic Sampson

    as Lt. Red
  • William Wallace

    as CIC Commander
  • Aaron Jackson

    as Lt Col. Rogers
Art Grant Major Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Ngila Dickson Costume Design
Production Jane Jenkins Casting
Camera Stuart Dryburgh Director of Photography
Production Gary Foster Producer
Directing Peter Webber Director
Sound Alex Heffes Original Music Composer
Writing David Klass Screenplay
Lighting John Enright Rigging Gaffer
Lighting Sean O'Neill Gaffer
Production Russ Krasnoff Producer
Art Jill Cormack Art Direction
Crew Troy Hannett Scenic Artist
Crew Wade Hannett Scenic Artist
Crew Allan Poppleton Stunt Coordinator
Camera Ulric Raymond Camera Operator
Costume & Make-Up Jenny Rushton Costume Supervisor
Writing Vera Blasi Screenplay
Production Yōko Narahashi Producer
Production Yōko Narahashi Casting
Production Eugene Nomura Producer
Sound Tim Prebble Sound Designer
Costume & Make-Up Nicky Barron Set Costumer
Sound Lora Hirschberg Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound John Simpson Foley
Sound Matthew Lambourn Sound Effects Editor
Art Nick Connor Set Designer
Crew Matt Cornelius Property Master
Camera Kirsty Griffin Still Photographer
Visual Effects Ineke Majoor Visual Effects Producer
Production Tina Cleary Casting
Sound Gilbert Lake Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Nigel Scott Music Editor
Directing Kristin Witcombe Script Supervisor
Art Daniel Birt Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Hayley Atherton Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Claire Rutledge Hairstylist
Production Simon Ambridge Production Manager
Art Sam Storey Assistant Art Director
Art Todd Smythe Construction Coordinator
Art Helen Strevens Set Designer
Crew Toby Lloyd Sound Recordist
Crew Jim Petrak Sound Recordist
Crew Nicolas Williams Sound Recordist
Visual Effects Paul Glubb Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Julian Dimsey Visual Effects Supervisor
Editing Peter Skarratt First Assistant Editor
Crew Linda Musson Transportation Coordinator
Crew Alyx Duncan Choreographer
Crew Diana Goulding Unit Publicist
Production Mike Holloway Location Manager
Visual Effects Shane Hall Animation