Dead Man Walking

Dead Man Walking (1995)

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 1995-12-29
  • User Rating: 7.4/10 from 633 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 2min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Havoc
  • Production Country: United States of America, United Kingdom
  • Director:
star 7.4/10
From 633 Ratings


A justice drama based on a true story about a man on death row who in his last days forms a strong relationship with a nun who teaches him forgiveness and gives him spirituality as she accompanies him to his execution.

Dead Man Walking Trailer

Dead Man Walking Photos

  • Susan Sarandon

    as Sister Helen Prejean
  • Sean Penn

    as Matthew Poncelet
  • Robert Prosky

    as Hilton Barber
  • Raymond J. Barry

    as Earl Delacroix
  • R. Lee Ermey

    as Clyde Percy
  • Celia Weston

    as Mary Beth Percy
  • Lois Smith

    as Helen's Mother
  • Scott Wilson

    as Kaplan Farlely
  • Roberta Maxwell

    as Lucille Poncelet
  • Margo Martindale

    as Sister Colleen
  • Jack Black

    as Craig Poncelet
  • Ray Aranha

    as Luis Montoya
  • Peter Sarsgaard

    as Walter Delacroix
  • Barton Heyman

    as Captain Beliveau
  • Steve Boles

    as Sgt. Neal Trapp
  • Nesbitt Blaisdell

    as Warden Hartman
  • Larry Pine

    as Guy Gilardi
  • Kevin Cooney

    as Governor Benedict
  • Clancy Brown

    as State Trooper
  • Michael Cullen

    as Carl Vitello
  • Missy Yager

    as Hope Percy
  • Jenny Krochmal

    as Emily Percy
  • Jon Abrahams

    as Sonny Poncelet
  • Arthur Bridgers

    as Troy Poncelet
  • Steve Carlisle

    as Helen's Brother
  • Eva Amurri Martino

    as 9-Year-Old Helen
  • Jack Henry Robbins

    as Opossum Kid #1
  • Dennis Neal

    as Henry
  • Molly Bryant

    as Nellie
  • Adele Robbins

    as Nurse
  • Pete Burris

    as Parent #1
  • Joan Glover

    as Parent #2
  • Lenore Banks

    as Parent #4
  • Scott Sowers

    as Guard #2
  • Cortez Nance Jr.

    as Guard #3
  • Adam Nelson

    as Guard #4
  • Jeremy Knaster

    as Guard #7
  • Marcus Lyle Brown

    as Parole Board Member (uncredited)
  • Anthony Michael Frederick

    as Trustee (uncredited)
  • Thomas McGowan

    as ER Doctor (uncredited)
  • Codie Scott

    as Cop (uncredited)
  • Helen Prejean

    as Woman at Vigil (uncredited)
  • Miles Robbins

    as Boy in Church
Directing Tim Robbins Director
Production Tim Robbins Producer
Writing Helen Prejean Screenplay
Production Jon Kilik Producer
Production Rudd Simmons Producer
Writing Tim Robbins Screenplay
Camera Roger Deakins Director of Photography
Sound David Robbins Original Music Composer
Art Richard Hoover Production Design
Production Eric Fellner Executive Producer
Production Tim Bevan Executive Producer
Sound Patrick Mullins Music Editor
Production Allan F. Nicholls Associate Producer
Production Mark Seldis Associate Producer
Production R.A. White Associate Producer
Editing Lisa Zeno Churgin Editor
Editing Ray Hubley Editor
Production Douglas Aibel Casting
Costume & Make-Up Renee Ehrlich Kalfus Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Aaron F. Quarles Key Hair Stylist
Art Tom Warren Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Michal Bigger Makeup Artist
Crew Graham Stumpf Post Production Supervisor
Directing Allan F. Nicholls Assistant Director
Crew Clancy Brown Thanks
Crew Peter Gabriel Thanks
Crew Barry Levine Thanks
Crew Malcolm Ritchie Thanks
Crew Julia Roberts Thanks
Crew Bruce Springsteen Thanks
Crew Eddie Vedder Thanks
Crew Suzanne Weinert Thanks
Crew Jack Snyder Thanks
Crew Simon Abkarian Thanks
Crew Sharon Boyle Thanks
Camera Tony Arnaud Grip
Lighting Greg Addison Electrician
Lighting Richie Ford Rigging Gaffer
Lighting Lance Shepherd Electrician
Camera Andy Harris First Assistant Camera
Art Christie Alexander Art Department Coordinator
Art David Stein Assistant Art Director
Art Martin Bernstein Construction Coordinator
Art Michael Curry Sr. Construction Foreman
Art Patrick McGuire Leadman
Art Patrick K. Coppinger Painter
Camera Robin Brown Camera Operator
Camera Mitchell Andrew Lillian Key Grip
Camera Demmie Todd Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Kim Marie Druce Assistant Costume Designer
Costume & Make-Up Michael Kriston Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Ma Kalaadevi Ananda Makeup Designer
Costume & Make-Up Lawrence Amanuel Set Dressing Artist
Crew David Spinozza Additional Music
Crew Chuck Stringer Carpenter
Crew Brad 'Mo' Gremillion Chef
Crew Kayla Chaillot Craft Service
Crew Tim Monich Dialect Coach
Crew Pete Aquino Driver
Crew Gary Chester Mixing Engineer
Crew Allison R. Hebble Post Production Assistant
Crew Barry Gastelu Production Intern
Art Thomas Wright Property Master
Crew Lucian Baran Scenic Artist
Crew Greg Cattano Security
Crew Susie Blanchard Set Medic
Crew Scott August Set Production Assistant
Sound Scott Dior Sound Recordist
Crew John Dowdell Telecine Colorist
Crew Jerry Everett Transportation Coordinator
Production Rudd Simmons Unit Production Manager
Directing Eva Z. Cabrera Script Supervisor
Editing Tom Salvatore Color Timer
Editing Anthony J. Ciccolini III Dialogue Editor
Editing Clare Larson First Assistant Editor
Lighting William Moore Best Boy Electric
Lighting Bill O'Leary Gaffer
Lighting Jonathan Graham Rigging Grip
Production Barbara Heller Location Manager
Production Mindy Sheldon Production Accountant
Production Michele Giordano Production Coordinator
Production Nancy Kriegel Production Supervisor
Sound T.J. O'Mara Boom Operator
Sound Yvette Nabel Assistant Sound Editor
Sound David Robbins Music Supervisor
Sound David Campbell Orchestrator
Sound Lynn Sable Sound Editor
Sound Tod A. Maitland Sound Mixer
Sound Dan Sable Supervising Sound Editor
Writing Brick Mason Storyboard
Costume & Make-Up Morgan Miller Set Dressing Production Assistant
Production Rashid Chinchanwala Finance
Sound Bradford L. Hohle Dolby Consultant
Costume & Make-Up Bonney Langfitt Additional Wardrobe Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Allison Gordin Assistant Makeup Artist
Directing Sam Hoffman Second Assistant Director
Directing Ann C. Salzer Second Second Assistant Director
Art Travis Wright Assistant Property Master
Art Glen Engels Construction Grip
Art Arne Olsen Key Construction Grip
Art Gerry Hawkins Title Designer
Sound Hal Levinsohn ADR Editor
Sound Charleen Richards ADR Mixer
Sound Daniel Pagan Apprentice Sound Editor
Sound George A. Lara Foley Mixer
Sound James Murray Second Assistant Sound
Camera Charlie Marroquin Best Boy Grip
Camera Kris Enos Camera Trainee
Camera Bruce Hamme Dolly Grip
Camera Sal Camacho Second Assistant Camera
Production David H. Kramer ADR Voice Casting
Production Jordan Beswick Casting Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Hartsell Taylor Wardrobe Supervisor
Editing Kristen M. Johnson Assistant Editor
Production Dana A. Hanby Assistant Location Manager
Production Lys Hopper Location Coordinator
Production Cynthia Carriere Location Production Assistant
Sound Alison Miner Music Consultant
Sound Ry Cooder Music Producer
Production Shawna Starkman Art Department Production Assistant
Crew Marcus Barben Assistant Chef
Production Sallie Jones Arata Assistant Production Coordinator
Production Jane Frazer Head of Production
Production Chris Gilmer Key Set Production Assistant
Production Bonnie Friedman Production Secretary