Darkest Hour

Darkest Hour (2017)

Never never never surrender

  • Genre: Drama, History
  • Release Date: 2017-11-22
  • User Rating: 7.3/10 from 2795 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 5min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Perfect World Pictures
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Director:
star 7.3/10
From 2,795 Ratings


A thrilling and inspiring true story begins on the eve of World War II as, within days of becoming Prime Minister of Great Britain, Winston Churchill must face one of his most turbulent and defining trials: exploring a negotiated peace treaty with Nazi Germany, or standing firm to fight for the ideals, liberty and freedom of a nation. As the unstoppable Nazi forces roll across Western Europe and the threat of invasion is imminent, and with an unprepared public, a skeptical King, and his own party plotting against him, Churchill must withstand his darkest hour, rally a nation, and attempt to change the course of world history.

Darkest Hour Trailer

Darkest Hour Photos

  • Gary Oldman

    as Winston Churchill
  • Kristin Scott Thomas

    as Clementine Churchill
  • Lily James

    as Elizabeth Layton
  • Stephen Dillane

    as Edward Wood, 3rd Viscount Halifax
  • Ronald Pickup

    as Neville Chamberlain
  • Ben Mendelsohn

    as George VI
  • Nicholas Jones

    as John Simon, 1st Viscount Simon
  • Samuel West

    as Anthony Eden
  • David Schofield

    as Clement Atlee
  • Richard Lumsden

    as Major-General Hastings Ismay
  • Malcolm Storry

    as General Sir Edmund Ironside
  • Hilton McRae

    as Arthur Greenwood
  • Benjamin Whitrow

    as Sir Samuel Hoare
  • Joe Armstrong

    as John Evans
  • Adrian Rawlins

    as Air Chief Marshal Sir Hugh Dowding
  • David Bamber

    as Vice-Admiral Bertram Ramsay
  • David Strathairn

    as Franklin D. Roosevelt (voice)
  • Jeremy Child

    as James Stanhope, 7th Earl Stanhope
  • Brian Pettifer

    as Sir Kingsley Wood
  • Michael Gould

    as Charles Vane-Tempest-Stewart, 7th Marquess of Londonderry
  • John Atterbury

    as Sir Alexander Cadogan
  • Charley Palmer Rothwell

    as Miles Aldridge
  • Hannah Steele

    as Abigail Walker
  • Philip Martin Brown

    as Sawyers
  • Nia Gwynne

    as Alice Simpson
  • Faye Marsay

    as Sybil
  • Jordan Waller

    as Randolph Churchill
  • Mary Antony

    as Mary Churchill
  • Bethany Muir

    as Sarah Churchill
  • Anna Burnett

    as Pamela Churchill
  • James Eeles

    as Maurice Baker
  • Roisin O'Neill

    as Agnes Dillon
  • Joanna Neary

    as Jerome Margaret
  • Flora Nicholson

    as Jessie Sutton
  • Richard Glover

    as Brigadier Nicholson
  • Paul Leonard

    as Admiral Dudley Pound
  • Eric MacLennan

    as Tom Leonard
  • Tom Ashley

    as Ramsay Staffer
  • Pip Torrens

    as BBC Producer
  • Bronte Carmichael

    as Young Girl on Train
  • Patsy Ferran

    as Maid
  • John Locke

    as Oliver Wilson
  • James Harkness

    as AD Nicholl (Secretary #1)
  • Joshua James

    as W D Wilkinson (Secretary #2)
Directing Joe Wright Director
Writing Anthony McCarten Screenplay
Production Tim Bevan Producer
Production James Biddle Executive Producer
Production Lisa Bruce Producer
Production Eric Fellner Producer
Production Anthony McCarten Producer
Production Douglas Urbanski Producer
Sound Dario Marianelli Music
Editing Valerio Bonelli Editor
Production Jina Jay Casting
Art Sarah Greenwood Production Design
Art Oliver Goodier Art Direction
Art Nick Gottschalk Supervising Art Director
Art Joe Howard Art Direction
Art Katie Spencer Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Jacqueline Durran Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Flora Moody Key Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Flora Moody Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Ivana Primorac Hair Designer
Costume & Make-Up Ivana Primorac Makeup Designer
Production Louis Phillips Executive In Charge Of Production
Production Jo Wallett Production Manager
Directing Dan Channing-Williams First Assistant Director
Directing Gayle Dickie Second Assistant Director
Crew Alex Abelman Carpenter
Art Marie Boon Art Department Assistant
Art James Collins Draughtsman
Art Lottie Geliot Art Department Assistant
Art Stephanie Gibbins Construction Coordinator
Art Julia Newell Construction Coordinator
Crew Josh O'Neill Carpenter
Art Roberto Oliveri Set Dresser
Art Isona Rigau Assistant Art Director
Art Matt Robinson Assistant Art Director
Art Matt Robinson Assistant Art Director
Crew Robert Sansom Carpenter
Art Dennis Wiseman Property Master
Sound John Casali Production Sound Mixer
Sound Chris Murphy Boom Operator
Costume & Make-Up Anita Burger Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Heather Manson Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Kazuhiro Tsuji Prosthetic Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Kazuhiro Tsuji Hair Designer
Costume & Make-Up Lucy Sibbick Prosthetic Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Patricia Leblanc Visual Effects Coordinator
Crew Christopher Collis Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects Warwick Hewett Visual Effects Producer
Camera Bruno Delbonnel Director of Photography
Camera Des Whelan Camera Operator
Camera Jeremy Braben Aerial Director of Photography
Camera Carlos De Carvalho Second Unit Director of Photography
Lighting Chuck Finch Gaffer
Lighting Jack Ridout Lighting Technician
Camera Jack English Still Photographer
Lighting Dave Clements Electrician
Production Jessie Frost Casting Associate
Costume & Make-Up Andrea Cripps Assistant Costume Designer
Costume & Make-Up Claire Watson Costume Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Sophie Hart-Walsh Set Costumer
Editing Jenny Jayne Cachero Digital Intermediate
Editing Charlotte Llewelyn Digital Intermediate
Editing Tommaso Gallone First Assistant Editor
Crew Jon Baker Armorer
Directing Phoebe Billington Script Supervisor
Crew Sam Dormer Armorer
Crew Ben Rothwell Armory Coordinator
Crew Faujja Singh Armorer
Crew Mike Woodley Aerial Coordinator
Sound Michael Maroussas Dialogue Editor
Sound Barnaby Smyth Foley
Sound Rob Turner Foley Editor
Sound Paul Carter Sound Designer
Sound Craig Berkey Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Paul Cotterell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Becki Ponting Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Craig Berkey Supervising Sound Editor
Costume & Make-Up David Malinowski Prosthetic Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Christine Whitney Hair Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Christine Whitney Makeup Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Bob Kretschmer Wigmaker
Costume & Make-Up Diana Choi Wigmaker
Art Tamara Catlin-Birch Art Department Coordinator
Art Tamara Catlin-Birch Set Decorating Coordinator
Art Steven Morris Assistant Property Master
Art Georgina Millett Graphic Designer
Art James Collins Set Designer
Visual Effects Alex Jadfard Digital Compositor
Visual Effects Gudjon Kristjansson Digital Compositor
Visual Effects Tracie Donais Digital Compositor
Visual Effects Kyle Greenberg Digital Compositor
Visual Effects Alexander Isaksson Matte Painter
Visual Effects Morgan Lang Matte Painter
Visual Effects Laurence Provost Matte Painter
Visual Effects Anne-Marie Ouellet Visual Effects Production Assistant