Cape Fear

Cape Fear (1991)

There is nothing in the dark that isn't there in the light. Except fear.

star 7.2/10
From 1,499 Ratings


Sam Bowden is a small-town corporate attorney. Max Cady is a tattooed, cigar-smoking, bible-quoting, psychotic rapist. What do they have in common? Fourteen years ago, Sam was a public defender assigned to Max Cady's rape trial, and he made a serious error: he hid a document from his illiterate client that could have gotten him acquitted. Now, the cagey, bibliophile Cady has been released, and he intends to teach Sam Bowden and his family a thing or two about loss.

Cape Fear Trailer

Cape Fear Photos

  • Robert De Niro

    as Max Cady
  • Nick Nolte

    as Sam Bowden
  • Jessica Lange

    as Leigh Bowden
  • Juliette Lewis

    as Danielle Bowden
  • Joe Don Baker

    as Claude Kersek
  • Robert Mitchum

    as Lieutenant Elgart
  • Gregory Peck

    as Lee Heller
  • Illeana Douglas

    as Lori Davis
  • Fred Dalton Thompson

    as Tom Broadbent
  • Zully Montero

    as Graciella
  • Martin Balsam

    as Judge
  • Craig Henne

    as Prisoner
  • Edgar Allan Poe IV

    as Prisoner
  • Antoni Corone

    as Corrections Officer
  • Roger Pretto

    as Racquetball Colleague
  • Parris Buckner

    as Racquetball Colleague
  • Will Knickerbocker

    as Detective
  • C.C. Costigan

    as Waitress
  • Domenica Cameron-Scorsese

    as Danny's Girlfriend
  • Billy D. Lucas

    as Big man
  • Ken Collins

    as Big Man #3
  • Linda Perri

    as Ticket agent
  • Catherine Scorsese

    as Fruitstand Customer
  • Charles Scorsese

    as Fruitstand Customer
  • Ken Waters

    as Bar Patron (uncredited)
  • Esther Rolle

    as Woman Watching Cady Get Out from Under the Car (uncredited)
  • Tamara Jones

    as Ice Cream Cashier
Camera Freddie Francis Director of Photography
Editing Thelma Schoonmaker Editor
Production Ellen Lewis Casting
Art Alan Hicks Set Decoration
Directing Martin Scorsese Director
Writing John D. MacDonald Novel
Writing Wesley Strick Screenplay
Art Jack G. Taylor Jr. Art Direction
Writing John D. MacDonald Screenplay
Production Barbara De Fina Producer
Production Robert De Niro Producer
Production Kathleen Kennedy Executive Producer
Production Frank Marshall Executive Producer
Production Steven Spielberg Executive Producer
Sound Bernard Herrmann Music
Costume & Make-Up Rita Ryack Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Lyndell Quiyou Hairstylist
Sound Kathy Durning Music Editor
Art Henry Bumstead Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Donna Battersby Greene Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Dorothy J. Pearl Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Edouard F. Henriques Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Edouard F. Henriques Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Elizabeth Lambert Makeup Artist
Camera Phillip V. Caruso Still Photographer
Lighting Gene Engels Gaffer
Lighting William Hines Rigging Gaffer
Directing Corey B. Yugler Script Supervisor
Crew Leon Delaney Stunt Coordinator
Crew J.B. Jones Special Effects Coordinator
Sound Skip Lievsay Supervising Sound Editor
Camera Gordon Hayman Camera Operator
Production Ellen Jacoby Casting
Costume & Make-Up Kathleen Gerlach Assistant Costume Designer
Crew Neal Martz Makeup Effects
Crew Don Pulford Stunts
Production Dianne E. Collins Publicist
Sound Philip Stockton Supervising Dialogue Editor
Sound Marissa Littlefield Dialogue Editor
Directing Joseph P. Reidy First Assistant Director
Art Richard Adee Property Master
Art Wally Adee Assistant Property Master
Sound T.J. O'Mara Boom Operator
Sound Tom Fleischman Sound Re-Recording Mixer