Krzysztof Kieślowski

Krzysztof Kieślowski

  • Birthday: 1941-06-27
  • Deathday: 1996-03-13
  • Place of birth: Warsaw, Mazowieckie, Poland.
  • Also know as: 克日什托夫·基耶斯洛夫斯基


Krzysztof Kieślowski was an influential Polish art-house film director and screenwriter known internationally for The Decalogue (1989), The Double Life of Véronique (1991), and The Three Colors Trilogy (1993–1994). Kieślowski received numerous awards during his career, including the Cannes Film Festival Jury Prize (1988), FIPRESCI Prize (1988, 1991), and Prize of the Ecumenical Jury (1991); the Venice Film Festival FIPRESCI Prize (1989), Golden Lion (1993), and OCIC Award (1993); and the Berlin International Film Festival Silver Bear (1994). In 1995 he received Academy Award nominations for Best Director and Best Writing. In 2002 Kieślowski was listed at number two on the British Film Institute's Sight & Sound Top Ten Directors list of modern times. Krzysztof Kieślowski died on 13 March 1996, He was 54.