8MM (1999)

You can't prepare for where the truth will take you

  • Genre: Thriller, Crime, Mystery
  • Release Date: 1999-02-26
  • User Rating: 6.3/10 from 1056 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 3min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Global Entertainment Productions GmbH & Company Medien KG
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director:
star 6.3/10
From 1,056 Ratings


A small, seemingly innocuous plastic reel of film leads surveillance specialist Tom Welles down an increasingly dark and frightening path. With the help of the streetwise Max, he relentlessly follows a bizarre trail of evidence to determine the fate of a complete stranger. As his work turns into obsession, he drifts farther and farther away from his wife, family and simple life as a small-town PI.

8MM Trailer

8MM Photos

  • Nicolas Cage

    as Tom Welles
  • Joaquin Phoenix

    as Max California
  • James Gandolfini

    as Eddie Poole
  • Catherine Keener

    as Amy Welles
  • Anthony Heald

    as Daniel Longdale
  • Peter Stormare

    as Dino Velvet
  • Chris Bauer

    as George Higgins
  • Norman Reedus

    as Warren Anderson
  • Amy Morton

    as Janet Mathews
  • Jenny Powell

    as Mary Ann Mathews
  • Claudia Aros

    as Miami Girlfriend
  • Mario Ernesto Sánchez

    as Taxi Driver
  • Suzy Nakamura

    as Computer Wizard
  • William Lawrence Mack

    as Larry
  • Myra Carter

    as Mrs. Christian
  • Torsten Voges

    as Stick
Production Mali Finn Casting
Camera Robert Elswit Director of Photography
Sound Mychael Danna Original Music Composer
Directing Joel Schumacher Director
Production Joel Schumacher Producer
Editing Mark Stevens Editor
Production Jeff Levine Co-Producer
Writing Andrew Kevin Walker Screenplay
Art Gary Wissner Production Design
Production Maureen Whalen Casting Assistant
Production Joseph M. Caracciolo Executive Producer
Production Joseph M. Caracciolo Unit Production Manager
Crew Younes Megri Additional Music
Production Gavin Polone Producer
Costume & Make-Up Mona May Costume Design
Production Judy Hofflund Producer
Art Gershon Ginsburg Art Direction
Sound Mildred Iatrou Dialogue Editor
Sound Nicholas Dodd Orchestrator
Sound Nicholas Dodd Conductor
Art Jason Weil Assistant Art Director
Art Gary Fettis Set Decoration
Art Ron Petagna Construction Coordinator
Crew Bill Anagnos Stunts
Crew Eddie Yansick Stunt Coordinator
Sound Nerses Gezalyan Foley Mixer
Sound Gary A. Hecker Foley Artist
Lighting James Plannette Gaffer
Costume & Make-Up Linda Grimes Makeup Artist
Lighting Glen Davis Best Boy Electric
Crew John Orlebeck Transportation Coordinator
Art Jakub Durkoth Swing
Sound Anthony Milch Sound Editor
Production Michael J. Burmeister Location Manager
Art Colin De Rouin Set Designer
Crew Tanner Gill Stunt Double
Costume & Make-Up Kevin Ritter Set Costumer
Sound Marvin E. Lewis Boom Operator
Art Thomas Saccio Property Master
Camera Rick Raphael Steadicam Operator
Lighting Russell Engels Chief Lighting Technician
Production Bill Marinella Extras Casting
Costume & Make-Up Alan Martin Key Set Costumer
Production Michael Singer Publicist
Sound Becky Sullivan Supervising ADR Editor
Art Philip Canfield Leadman
Sound Thomas Milano Music Editor
Sound John Leveque Supervising Sound Editor
Art Mychael Bates Set Dresser
Sound Kim Maitland Sound Recordist
Lighting Donald Dowd Lighting Technician
Editing Scott Janush Assistant Editor
Directing Eli Richbourg Second Unit Director
Costume & Make-Up Marcia Patten Wardrobe Supervisor
Crew Walter Zieska Propmaker
Production Daniel R. Chavez Executive In Charge Of Post Production
Crew Joseph P. Mercurio Special Effects Assistant
Production David J. Grant Production Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Joseph Coscia Hairstylist
Lighting R. Michael De Chellis Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Directing Mads Hansen Script Coordinator
Sound Willie D. Burton Sound
Crew Marco Kyris Stand In
Sound Tom Nelson Sound Mixer
Production Terrence Harris Casting Associate
Sound Cherie Tamai Assistant Sound Editor
Camera Angelo Di Giacomo First Assistant Camera
Sound Joe Divitale Sound Effects Editor
Visual Effects David Peterson Special Effects Supervisor
Sound Carl D. Ware Sound Engineer
Camera Greg Faysash Second Assistant Camera
Directing Alan Edmisten First Assistant Director
Production Amy Eldridge First Assistant Accountant
Crew Al Griswold Special Effects Coordinator
Lighting James Barrett Electrician
Production Susan Dukow Production Coordinator
Editing Gloria Kaiser Color Timer
Editing Mo Henry Negative Cutter
Costume & Make-Up Felipe Sanchez Costume Illustrator
Crew Gina August Driver
Production Elizabeth Tompkins Production Accountant
Camera Earl Perque Best Boy Grip
Art Sarah Bullion Art Department Assistant
Production Lisa Davidson Assistant Production Coordinator
Camera Ben Beaird Key Grip
Art Tambre Hemstreet Art Department Coordinator
Camera Nick Beaird Grip
Camera Michael Ginsburg Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Ira M. Hammons-Glass Costume Supervisor
Crew Nancy Mott Craft Service
Production Michael Boonstra Production Office Coordinator
Crew David Severin Transportation Co-Captain
Lighting Billy Craft Lighting Technician
Lighting Rick A. Benedetto Rigging Gaffer
Lighting Brad Heiner Rigging Grip
Sound Mohamed Nesrate Music Consultant
Camera Gary A. Beaird Dolly Grip
Production Andrew George Fink Production Assistant
Production Alex Kivlen Assistant Location Manager
Art Martin Charles Graphic Designer
Production Edward Poveda Payroll Accountant
Sound Phillip Fuller Sound Mix Technician
Art Vincent Guarriello Key Construction Grip
Art Christopher Carlson Assistant Decorator
Directing Lisa J. Bloch Second Second Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Georgia Fletcher Costumer
Directing David Hallinan Second Assistant Director
Art Kevin Long Assistant Property Master
Art Mike Montgomery Construction Grip
Camera Debbie Arrowood Assistant Camera
Production Gene Patterson Location Assistant
Production Rebecca White Accountant
Production Lucy Herrera Assistant Accountant
Production Tony Romain Production Secretary