12 Years a Slave

12 Years a Slave (2013)

The extraordinary true story of Solomon Northup

  • Genre: Drama, History
  • Release Date: 2013-10-18
  • User Rating: 7.9/10 from 6748 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 14min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: New Regency Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America, United Kingdom
  • Director:
star 7.9/10
From 6,748 Ratings


In the pre-Civil War United States, Solomon Northup, a free black man from upstate New York, is abducted and sold into slavery. Facing cruelty as well as unexpected kindnesses Solomon struggles not only to stay alive, but to retain his dignity. In the twelfth year of his unforgettable odyssey, Solomon’s chance meeting with a Canadian abolitionist will forever alter his life.

12 Years a Slave Trailer

12 Years a Slave Photos

  • Chiwetel Ejiofor

    as Solomon Northup
  • Michael Fassbender

    as Edwin Epps
  • Lupita Nyong'o

    as Patsey
  • Benedict Cumberbatch

    as William Ford
  • Paul Dano

    as John Tibeats
  • Sarah Paulson

    as Mary Epps
  • Adepero Oduye

    as Eliza
  • Scoot McNairy

    as Brown
  • Paul Giamatti

    as Theophilus Freeman
  • Brad Pitt

    as Samuel Bass
  • Michael Kenneth Williams

    as Robert
  • Alfre Woodard

    as Mistress Shaw
  • Chris Chalk

    as Clemens
  • Taran Killam

    as Hamilton
  • Bill Camp

    as Radburn
  • Kelsey Scott

    as Anne Northup
  • Bryan Batt

    as Judge Turner
  • Quvenzhané Wallis

    as Margaret Northup
  • Garret Dillahunt

    as Armsby
  • Dwight Henry

    as Uncle Abram
  • Dickie Gravois

    as Overseer
  • Ashley Dyke

    as Anna
  • Cameron Zeigler

    as Alonzo Northup
  • Tony Bentley

    as Mr. Moon
  • Christopher Berry

    as Burch
  • Mister Mackey Jr.

    as Randall
  • Craig Tate

    as John
  • Storm Reid

    as Emily
  • Tom Proctor

    as Biddee
  • Marc Macaulay

    as Captain
  • Vivian Fleming-Alvarez

    as Mulatto Woman
  • Douglas M. Griffin

    as Sailor
  • John McConnell

    as Jonus Ray
  • Marcus Lyle Brown

    as Jasper
  • Richard Holden

    as Fitzgerald
  • Rob Steinberg

    as Parker
  • Anwan Glover

    as Cape
  • James C. Victor

    as Buyer
  • Liza J. Bennett

    as Mistress Ford
  • Nicole Collins

    as Rachel
  • J.D. Evermore

    as Chapin
  • Andy Dylan

    as Treach
  • Deneen Tyler

    as Phebe
  • Mustafa Harris

    as Sam
  • Gregory Bright

    as Edward
  • Austin Purnell

    as Bob
  • Thomas Francis Murphy

    as Patroller
  • Andre Shanks

    as Victim 1
  • Kelvin Harrison Jr.

    as Victim 2
  • Scott M. Jefferson

    as Master Shaw
  • Isaiah Jackson

    as Zachary
  • Topsy Chapman

    as Slave Spiritual Singer 1
  • Devin Maurice Evans

    as Slave Spiritual Singer 2
  • Jay Huguley

    as Sheriff
  • Devyn A. Tyler

    as Margaret Northup (adult)
  • Willo Jean-Baptiste

    as Margaret's Husband
  • Jason Ament

    as Cooke (uncredited)
  • Jon Arthur

    as Steamboat Crew 1st Mate (uncredited)
  • Sean Paul Braud

    as Lynchman (uncredited)
  • Blake Burt

    as Upper Class Pedestrian (uncredited)
  • Carroll Burt

    as Lower Class Pedestrian (uncredited)
  • Joseph Randy Causin

    as Steamboat Crew (uncredited)
  • Edward J. Clare

    as Restaurant Patron (uncredited)
  • JJ Coker

    as Mr. Bartholomew (uncredited)
  • Haylie Creppel

    as Child in the Park (uncredited)
  • Justin Edward Davis

    as Saratoga Park Pedestrian (uncredited)
  • Emily D. Haley

    as Tea Seller (uncredited)
  • Jim Johnson

    as Lower Class Pedestrian (uncredited)
  • Mark Joyce

    as Street Merchant (uncredited)
  • John C. Klein

    as Lumber Mill Customer (uncredited)
  • Cynthia LeBlanc

    as Washington D.C. Pedestrian (uncredited)
  • Elton LeBlanc

    as Hotel Dining Patron (uncredited)
  • Gerard 'Jerry' Lewis

    as Slave Guard (uncredited)
  • Kevonte Mcdonald

    as Slave (uncredited)
  • Ritchie Montgomery

    as Roadman (uncredited)
  • Myesha-Tiara

    as Edwin Epps's Slave (uncredited)
  • Jason Owen

    as Safty (uncredited)
  • Shawn Parsons

    as Road Man (uncredited)
  • Haley Powell

    as Slave Girl (uncredited)
  • Wayne Pére

    as Winslow (uncredited)
  • Terrell Ransom Jr.

    as Slave Boy (uncredited)
  • Erin Rementer

    as Ballroom Dancer (uncredited)
  • Andre Robinson

    as Slave Boy (uncredited)
  • Corrina Roshea

    as Slave Buyer (uncredited)
  • Katherine Jeanie Russell

    as Upper Class Pedestrian (uncredited)
  • Jarett Shorts

    as Hornboy (uncredited)
  • Chaz Smith

    as Cigar Smoker (uncredited)
  • Tyler Soerries

    as Boy Playing in Park (uncredited)
  • Tre Tureaud

    as Saratoga Park Pedestrians (uncredited)
  • Justin Christopher Vaughn

    as Ezra (uncredited)
  • Bob Walker

    as Abolitionist Landowner (uncredited)
  • Caroline Grace Williamson

    as Ford Daughter (uncredited)
  • Timothy Wyant

    as Ford Lumber Buyer (uncredited)
Directing Steve McQueen Director
Writing John Ridley Screenplay
Production Dede Gardner Producer
Production Jeremy Kleiner Producer
Sound Hans Zimmer Original Music Composer
Production Brad Pitt Producer
Costume & Make-Up Patricia Norris Costume Design
Camera Sean Bobbitt Director of Photography
Writing Solomon Northup Novel
Production Anthony Katagas Producer
Production Arnon Milchan Producer
Production Bill Pohlad Producer
Production Steve McQueen Producer
Editing Joe Walker Editor
Production Francine Maisler Casting
Art Adam Stockhausen Production Design
Art David Stein Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Ma Kalaadevi Ananda Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Andree Fortier Costume Supervisor
Art Alice Baker Set Decoration
Art Carl Counts Art Department Coordinator
Crew Jude Erny Scenic Artist
Art Matthew Gatlin Set Designer
Art Carl Sprague Set Designer
Art Jim Wallis Set Designer
Crew Taylor Weeks Scenic Artist
Art Walter Schneider Set Designer
Art David Rotondo Construction Coordinator
Crew Michael S. Martin Property Master
Art Michael A. Johnson Leadman
Sound Bryan Arenas Dolby Consultant
Editing Henry Auerbach Dialogue Editor
Sound Robert Jackson Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Ryan Collins Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Ellen Heuer Foley
Sound Leslie Shatz Sound Designer
Crew David Nash Special Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Tim LeDoux Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Dottie Starling Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Lauren Ritchie Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Jason Sanford Visual Effects Producer
Crew Lex D. Geddings Stunt Coordinator
Camera Jaap Buitendijk Still Photographer
Camera François Duhamel Still Photographer
Camera Larry McConkey Steadicam Operator
Camera Andy Shuttleworth Steadicam Operator
Lighting Mike McLaughlin Gaffer
Camera Sean Bobbitt Camera Operator
Production Meagan Lewis Casting
Costume & Make-Up Dena Matranga Set Costumer
Sound Katrina Schiller Music Editor
Sound Catherine Wilson Music Editor
Crew Poland Perkins Transportation Coordinator
Directing Eva Z. Cabrera Script Supervisor
Crew Michael Buster Dialect Coach
Production M. Gerard Sellers Location Manager
Production John Ridley Executive Producer
Production Tessa Ross Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Nikki I Brown Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Yolanda Mercadel Hairstylist
Production Alissa M. Kantrow Production Supervisor
Crew Eric Bergman Post Production Supervisor
Directing Doug Torres Assistant Director
Crew Steven Ritzi Stunt Coordinator
Crew Monica Rene'e Anderson Stand In
Crew Spooky Stevens Unit Publicist
Editing Dave Pultz Color Timer
Lighting Chris Flowers Electrician
Lighting Bob Bates Gaffer
Visual Effects Elbert Irving IV Visual Effects Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Adruitha Lee Hair Department Head
Sound Robert Jackson Boom Operator